We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Harrison Drive, Evanston, WY 82930   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not as great as advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked a pet friendly non smoking room and the minute we opened the door we smelled smoke and a terrible air freshner. Luckily the window did open so we could get some fresh air. Their web site says the hotel has a lot of nice landscaped walking areas. Besides having a water fall in the front, I didn't see anything landscaped that great. As far as walking through the grounds you have to walk through their parking areas with your dog. The grass area outside our room was off limits to dogs so we had to walk to the end of the building to let our dog on the grass. We didn't have breakfast there because they didn't have much to offer and you had to chose between coffee or orange juice you couldn't have both. The beds were comfy as advertised and we did love the fact you could drive right up and park next to your room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmarInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. As you mentioned, all of our Hotel rooms are "drive right up to your door" access. A lot of our customers enjoy this feature. The building you stayed in was our pet section, and has 11 rooms so is just a short walk down the sidewalk to the lawn area that is pet friendly. Many Hotels no longer allow pets, but we know how important they are to our travelers, so we still have a "pet friendly" area. In addition to the grassy area, we also provide a "pet station" where bags are provided for pet waste.

In our "pet section", we also have non-smoking rooms available. I am sorry if there was a confusion about the room that you requested. As for our breakfast, we are a Full Service property with a Restaurant that offers a complete breakfast menu that you can purchase anything you like. However, we still offer some Free items to our guests..................every morning in our Lobby, we have FREE assorted granola bars, and fresh fruit to pick from. In addition to this, we make every Hotel guest, FREE "cooked to order" Pancakes in our Restaurant which also comes with coffee, hot tea and apple or orange juice.

Our propery is well landscaped. We have over 200 trees on our grounds, as well as a variety of shrubs, flowers, grass and a beautiful 3-sided waterfall. Our outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by tall bushes and trees as well. And all of this is accompanied by landscape lighting throughout our 10 acres. A lot of our customers refer to our property as an "Oasis in the West"..................something we are very proud of.

We hope you will visit us again. Your business is very important to us.

Sincerely,

Management at the Best Western Dunmar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    81
    28
    15
    8
See reviews for
65
69
24
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed going and returning from vacation. The first stay was very good. When we entered the room we immediately noticed the air freshener in our non-smoking, pet-friendly room - yuk, it is sickening. However, we were able to air out the room and everything was good. The room was very clean, the bed was super comfortable and everything was in good working order. The room was near a grassy area for the dog which was really convenient.

On our return stay we also had a non-smoking, pet-friendly room that had this same sickening aroma as we entered. We opened the window and the door to air it out and thought it was better. We left for dinner and when we returned it was slightly better but still pretty bad. So, we just opened the window while we watched TV and then went to bed. We always travel with some of our own pillows and as we were packing up we discovered what they are trying to hide with the room freshener - cigarette smoke! The pillows were disgusting so we put them in a garbage bag and in the back of the truck. When we returned home everything we had taken into the room had to be washed before we could use them again.

If a room is designated as non-smoking the hotel has the responsibility to do more that just try to cover up the order - they need to completely strip all the beds in the room (including any beds/pillows not used) and wash, clean, and/or sanitize them. ALL unused towels need to be removed and washed as well. (NOTE: we did the "smell" test on their pillows and towels and they were simply laced with cigarette smoke). Then they need to call in a professional service and have the drapes and carpet cleaned. I am sure the hotel chain can figure out a method to recoup this cost from any offending customer, just as other chains have done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of my favorite places to break up the long drive from kearney, nebraska to portland, oregon (a trip I make repeatedly to visit parents & then get home again), is in evanston wyoming. It is on the western end of wyoming making a good half way point between kearney & portland. The Best Western is my favorite place to stay in town, easy on/off access to Interstate 80, but no highway noise. The rooms are so comfortable & quiet, I always feel relaxed there. It is nicely landscaped so the large motel feels small & has a nice restaurant. The sheets are soft, the bathwater is hot & the tv channels offer plenty of choice & good reception. The internet access was a little slow but maybe that was the location of my room toward the back of the property. I like the comfortable chairs for sitting options to the large firm bed in my room & enjoyed strolling the residential streets nearby.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, i've stayed in several.... except if it's a blizzard, in which case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmarInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Connie,

Thank you for the wonderful review. The time you spent to share your comments about our Hotel is greatly appreciated. It is well known that travelers are now depending on these reviews when they are making their vacation and business reservations, so your review is very important to us. We hope you will continue to use our Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms were nice, clean, and you could park right outside your door. There is a restaurant and lounge as part of the hotel and the food was pretty good. The Dunmar Inn was close to the freeway but far enough away not to hear any of the noise. My only complaint was the internet was slow for a business traveler, it would probably work fine if you were just doing email and surfing the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here to wait out a snowstorm on our way to Las Vegas, and we were very happy. We always seek out Best Westerns when travelling across the country, because we have rarely been disappointed with them. We were surprised at how large our room ended up being. It was quiet and very clean. The best part was the amount of bathroom space available, and our only gripe was that the divider separating the bathroom from the bedroom was broken, which limited our privacy. The room itself was so huge that there was actually a curtain that closed to make the room into a separate bedroom/living room. If there was anything at all to do in Evanston, I would not have minded if the storm had forced us to stay here another night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaysville, UT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms here a really really nice, clean, comfortable. There is a restaurant and lounge right next door; part of the Dunmar (The Legal Tender). Awesome food, fine dining atmosphere. I highly recommend the Dumar is you want to stay in Evanston; close to all the community shopping and activities. Plenty of parking. Quiet area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay on our trip to the Midwest. Small town hospitality with modern amenities, drive right up to your room was a plus. Excellent value!
Breakfast was definitely kid friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn

Address: 1601 Harrison Drive, Evanston, WY 82930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunmar Hotel Evanston
Best Western Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dunmar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.