We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to relax, very best food, very very best hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elk Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Elk Mountain Hotel
102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
“Best place to relax, very best food, very very best hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food is truly 5 star, hospitality is like staying with family, and the surroundings are so very lovely and have such wonderful historical value. Then there is Elk Mountain and the fresh air!
Every time I stay there, couples are coming from all parts of the USA and truly finding a gem. This trip, the couple was from Orlando and said it was the only place they actually booked in their vacation to Wyoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, each has its own story from history
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
94
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an historic hotel - little has changed since 1910, except the music - which stopped in the 1940's. The rooms are quite small and dark, in ours (Jim Bridger) pictures of semi-clad Victorian ladies lead to the en suite to one side, staid pictures of flowers on the opposite wall. A fan cooled the air quietly and effectively. Sat on a rocking chair on the upstairs porch, the mountain (access restricted I believe) is mainly obscured by trees, but ahead a curious industrial vista of a caravan and pick up and sheds. The restaurant (a must as there is no other for miles) has a large menu - the food is executed in classic cordon bleu style, and served in more relaxed fashion. It is atmospheric and perhaps intense, across a short bridge to the one store village (population 191). An intriguing stop over near the Interstate, if you stay longer plan your days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found the hotel on the internet and we were very surprised when we arrived. Everything was perfect! We stayed in room12, the suite, very comfortable and quiet. Drinks on the porch in the late afternoon-sun, a delicious diner and breakfast. We sure will be back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed or eaten at the Elk Mountain Hotel several times over the years and last Sunday I arranged my wife's 50th to be held at the hotel. It could not have gone any better. I really wish there were more hotels like this in the USA, but this one is a real gem. The rooms are quaint in a good way, and the bed we had (room 11) was really comfortable. Susan Havers is a really excellent chef and she came up with a stellar menu including samosas, lamb, salmon and a wonderful carrot cake with mango sorbet. With the parlor for pre- and post-dinner drinks and, some more drinks after that, this really is a wonderful venue. Most the guests stayed over and it is just great to not worry about driving or time of night - and we were all the merrier for it. Thank you Susan!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 with the jacuzzi tub because of the King Bed. But all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Exceptional property and even more exceptional management! What a great surprise it was to find a world class restaurant in Elk Mountain at the Hotel. The only negative was that it was a little too warm in our room. Not sure if this was a rare seasonal aberration or if the Hotel need to look into installing a central air system. There is a company in St. Louis (Dawson Dodd Heating & Cooling) which invented a high velocity system with flexible duct work for older structures which we installed in our 110 year old three story home. It works like a charm. Just a suggestion to make the Hotel totally first class.

Room Tip: Take any room available or follow management's recommendation. They all have distinctive charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent last Friday night at the Elk Mt. Hotel and were very pleased with our experience. The entire property is well kept, the rooms very clean and quiet, and the setting was peaceful. We ate a very pleasant dinner in the hotel's dining room which is also beautifully decorated.

Room Tip: We chose room 2 which is next to the second level balcony. We used the wicker rocking chairs on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Quiet and unique place to stay. Innkeepers are so hospitable and gracious. Rooms soooooooooo clean and comfortable. Enjoyed sitting out on the porch late at night with the scents and sounds of rural wyoming. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Hotel

Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.