We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elk Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Elk Mountain Hotel
102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
“Wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel, meals, staff are the best.
Susan is a joy to visit with and a superb chef.
Rooms are comfortable, well appointed, and QUIET!
The dining room is stunning when entered, the parlor is comfortabe and "homey" with background music and many photos of the "Old Days".
Can't say enough about this place for a relaxing, pleasant get away.
John & Marie----Cheyenne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
94
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had the place mostly to ourselves, so lots of privacy, although our suite with it's own deck would have felt very private anyway. The inn is decorated with lots of old fashioned western things - a bit on the dark side but with a very authentic vibe. The owner there is thoughtful and accommodating. The town has a sweet stream/river running through it and a little church that looks like it came off a train set. The inn is located within 45-60 minutes of lots to do and good restaurants. The food in the inn's restaurant is good. Based on the inn's website we had higher expectations, but enjoyed the meals we did have there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hidden just off I-80 in Elk Mountain, Wyoming is a true gem. Originally built in 1905 you could almost expect something to go wrong, but everything was perfect. Check-in begins at 4 p.m. MST so we took our time arriving by taking the drive North out of Laramie to Rock River, Medicine Bow and Hannah. At Hannah we took the short cut-across to Elk Mountain, completely avoiding the hustle and bustle of I-80. When we arrived we were personally greeted by the owner Susan Prescott-Havers. She gave us a quick tour of the facilities and showed us to our room. (You get to choose your room when you make your reservations.)
Our room was well decorated in period furniture and the temperature was perfect from the 7400' mountain air. You can definitely relax and unwind at the Elk Mountain Hotel; you don't need to stay in your room, there are two porches and a wonderful parlor where you can read, listen to satellite radio or if you really need to watch TV there is satellite TV and a library of DVD's.
In the room was a sound therapy unit that gave you the option of 10 different soothing sounds if you needed "the noise" to sleep. You can tell that every touch is well thought out to make your stay extremely comfortable, so much so that it seemed at times we were at a relative's home.
You MUST partake of dinner in the restaurant, Susan is a Cordon Bleu chef. Be sure to make reservations when you reserve your room, you don't want to miss out on this dining experience. My wife enjoyed the Salmon Pillow Case while I had the best Sauteed Duck Breast in Cherry Espresso Sauce you could ever imagine. The dessert was heavenly; a White Chocolate Bread Pudding. The experience is what you would expect from any fine restaurant in a major city, not in a little cowtown in Wyoming. The prices are very fair for such great food too!
When you hear that a continental breakfast is available in the morning, you usually think of some juice, coffee, store cereal and, if you're lucky, donuts/pastries from a bakery. Be sure to get to the restaurant in the a.m. because you'll be seated and served by Susan. Her Continental breakfast is a true petit dejeuner; fresh brewed high quality coffee, juices, and wonderful scones and cinnamon rolls ( she's an excellent pastry chef).
If you would like you could order a hot breakfast as well.
We have stayed at more expensive resorts and "fancier" hotels but have never enjoyed such a wonderful stay as the one we had at the Elk Mountain Hotel....we're wishing we had stayed multiple nights now.
Our only dislike, if you want to call it that, was that the mattress in our room was a little soft for our liking; otherwise we have nothing bad to say about our stay. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Be sure to take your time on the hotel's website and select the room you believe would suit your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Elk Mountain Hotel is a wonderful hotel. Remodeled perfectly. Susan and Arthur are exceptional hosts. Susan is a Paris trained chef and consistently produces the best meals you can imagine. We've been staying there for several years now and are returning this fall. It is the perfect retreat from busy Summit County.

Room Tip: Talk to Susan or Arthur. They will guide you to a room you'll like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I were so spoiled at this wonderful gem of a place where you see more antelopes than people and the unspoiled landscape is filled with wildflowers and snowcapped mountains in the distance. I can't imagine finding a gourmet restaurant and hotel in such a place like this. Susan and Arthur were the perfect hosts. Susan is a wonderful cook who made the most fabulous dinners and breakfasts. A huge continental breakfast consisting of a basket of homemade French pastries, yogurt, cereal or granola, fresh juice and coffee. Once we went hiking and Susan packed us a lunch to go that was wonderful. Arthur kept us laughing with his sense of humor. Collin and Brenda who waited on us were very professional and fun to be with. I enjoyed our 3 days in room # 12. It was a great base to explore this beautiful state. Thanks Joan & Rich

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very nice, clean rooms, good beds. Good food in Restaurant. Lovely porches and gazebos
but owner's rules prevent eating or drinking anything there that is NOT purchased from the
Inn. This place is VERY remote... nothing withiin 40 minutes drive and then not much.
The mountains and landscape are gorgeous and it was great to see so much unspoiled land but it would have been convenient if they allowed one to have some wine or food on the
balcony, porches or gazebo. No bar available except inside the restaurant when dining.
Very "fussy" rule book w/ pages of rules... very off putting.
For the price of the room, a little more relaxed attitude about a drink or snack on the property would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms by the front of the house/balcony are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briggsdale, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were in need of rest and recuperation, but were unexpectantly pleased with the quality of this facililty, the extent of the service provided, the delectable meals, and the tranquility and peace here! We very quickly decided that this would become an annual event for us!

Room Tip: We recommend you make reservations personally with Susan or Arthur by telephone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Hotel

Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.