We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triangle C Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Triangle C Dude Ranch
Save
You added Triangle C Dude Ranch to your Saves list
3737 U.S. Highway 26, Dubois, WY 82513   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dubois
Florida Panhandle, Florida
1 review
“Best Vacation Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

It is hard to explain the awesomeness of our vacation. The experience exceeded all our expectations. From the moment we arrived at the ranch until we drove out on Saturday we were totally entertained.

We went in the middle of June and had two days of snow, so be prepared if you go early in the season. We all said we would go back the same time though because it was so beautiful in the mountains and riding horseback in the snow.

If you have a child or grandchild that loves horses please take them on this trip! Beginners, experienced and advanced riders are all matched with the perfect horse. The wranglers, young and energetic, are full of fun and so helpful.

The food is excellent and believe me you are never hungry.

The cabins are very comfortable and near the beautiful Wind River.

Activities, education, wildlife-it is all there! Do yourself a favor and book a trip. You will never regret it.

Room Tip: There are upstairs rooms, so if you are older ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This vacation went way beyond our highest expectations. Though our ages ranged from 7 to 70 years old and our physical abilities and energy were just as varied, the Triangle C Ranch and staff provided an abundance of comfort, thoughtful care, activities, entertainment, education and downtime to meet each of our unique individual needs throughout our stay. The staff was warm, welcoming and genuine from the time we arrived through to our departure a week later. The cooks accommodated our quirky dietary demands. The horse wranglers were masterfully skillful in shepherding even the most timid of us into the saddles and onto the trails for some of the most majestic views of the North American continent we've ever seen. We had no idea that the spirit of the cowboy culture would become a part of our lives. We've taken home more than just a treasure chest full of good memories from our 2014 family reunion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just had a wonderful stay at the Triangle C ranch for a week. We highly recommend the ranch, and will be back! The staff is very welcoming, the ranch is beautiful, the facilities are very nice, and the food is hearty and good--just what you need after a day riding or running around the ranch. They have a great pastry chef--lovely desserts! The management and staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. We took our 8 year old daughter and she was immediately at home, and running around outside like she had always been there! This is saying a lot because we live in Los Angeles, where we have to watch our kids pretty closely. Also we loved that there is no TV or wifi connection (except at the main lodge)--a true break from work. The children's "wranglers" were fun and energetic, and took great care of our daughter during group activities, including an overnight in a teepee. There is a nice mix of activities available, but there is no pressure to do any of it if you don't want to. The riding and horses were fantastic. They accommodate all levels of riding ability and interest. If you want adventure, you will get it. If you want an easy and mellow ride, well you can get that too, but you won't be bored. Even the mellow rides included river crossings on horseback, which are very exciting. The ranch is close to a little town called Dubois, and we enjoyed several outings there, including square dancing, a rodeo, the 4th of July parade, and a great thrift shop. You also get to see (or visit) the lovely Grand Tetons on the way in and out. This was a 5 star trip!
The Lima Family,
Los Angeles California

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We are from the east coast so coming to visit the west and experiencing all of God's amazing creation..... from snow cap mountains, to the rushing rivers, lakes, waterfalls, wildlife (yes we saw grizzly bears) my whole family said it was beyond whatever we could of imagined!
Triangle C is a wonderful to experience of western hospitality with all the outdoor activities to go along with it. The food was really good! And we were less then hour to the south entrance of Yellowstone, we took a day trip that was truly one of greatest family days of our lives.
Jackson Hole is close by too, the town of Dubois has a great restaurant called the cowboy cafe we ate there twice and the food was very good! I highly recommend this place for families or singles.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family cabin closes to the wind river the cabin decor with very nice, the beds we v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The first hour I was there, it already felt like home and that I've been there for weeks. The location is in the middle of nowhere and there is no phone service, but they have free wifi at the lodge. They were so welcoming! The staff was so nice and enjoyable. The food was amazing! The kids cabin (im 13) was actually really fun... there was always something to look forward to, especially working on our journals to win the awards. The horse fits you perfectly, so well that my scared mom said she wasn't nervous on horses anymore. I've got to say my horse was my favorite part of my trip. I would say the horses name, but u would all request him. You've got to like horses or it won't be as fun. There were moths in our cabin and no TV, but we have such busy days you won't be needing a TV. We were supposed to leave Friday, but we extended our stay another day since it was soooo fun! When we left the ranch I cried buckets and refused to look at anyone knowing I'll cry gallons. My brother (10) teared up and my mom almost too! This was probably my favorite vacation and I plan to come back. FYI I've never wrote a review until this vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

It all started when we first scheduled our tour. 8 weeks until we wanted to go and they were telling me that we would have to choose a different date than requested because no others had booked yet, this should have been my first RED FLAG. After agreeing to this date change, our CC was charged twice within 3 days. It took 4 weeks, several phone calls and six emails to get the second charged removed from our CC; this should have been the second RED FLAG. We finally make it to the day before the tour and do not know where to meet or if they will pick us up, (no pick up or meeting place was confirmed until 9 hours before time to leave) this should have been the 3rd RED FLAG.
We are picked up and proceed to eat breakfast and pick out what we would like to have to eat for lunch. This is a very nice place, very good food. Around 30 minutes after leaving the restaurant while driving the vehicle we slide all over the icy road. The driver was just not paying attention; he kept gunning the engine which is what caused the vehicle to slip and slide, 4th RED FLAG. We drive though the Grand Teton National Park without stopping once. He pointed out a few things, but never stopped. As we pull into the Flag Stop where we switch to the Snowcoach he drives into a snow bank because he took a curve too fast, 5th RED FLAG.
We are now in Yellowstone Park and we finally stop for about a minute to look out the windows. We had to roll them down because they were all covered with ice and snow on the outside and fogged over on the inside. The brochure did say it was a large window, but failed to tell us we would not be able to see out of it.

We drive for a while and finally stop for a bathroom break. After getting back inside the vehicle we are told that we will not be able to go to our original destination due to changing weather conditions, the canyon, and either had the choice of going to Old Faithful or returning home. He had been in contact with someone about the weather conditions all morning, but failed to tell us what might happen until now, next RED FLAG. I wanted to return and go skiing because having been to Old Faithful two years earlier, using a different provider - their windows did not fog up and they stopped at least 25 times where we go out), in the winter and would rather go back and do some skiing. The choice was made to continue on to Old Faithful, there were 5 of us, 3 wanted to continue to Old Faithful, 2 wanted to return home. The driver did say he would go to the canyon if we wanted to, but did advise not doing it.

After this decision was made we continued on to Old Faithful where we stayed for around 2 hours. I phoned the manger about this changed and basically...he did not care, too bad, stuff happens. I asked about a refund and he said he would refund the difference between the canyon tour and old faithful, but now a week has gone by and still no refund. I asked for more, 25% because I felt they were in breach of contract by, 1) Not taking me to where I paid to go, 2) Taking me to somewhere I did not want to go and 3) Not taking me home like I requested; still the same attitude, he did not care. He said as the Manager he could not do that and would need to talk to the owner...nothing but crickets...next RED FLAG.

The tour did stop at 3 more place, the Fountain Paint Pots, where folks got out and at the Kepler Cascades just down from Old Faithful and on a bridge we did roll down the iced over windows to look at the Lewis Falls. After that he just drove and never stopped again. The brochure also touted about providing binoculars and a spotting scope. Those were never talked about and never used.

Again; "Worst Snowcoach Tour Operator and Provider ever!" Save you time and money. There are some good tour operators, but this is not one of them.

Hopes this helps.

Room Tip: Only good seat on the trip would have been the drivers or passengers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was the family trip of a lifetime, created by the wonderful staff and terrific set up at the Triangle C. Cabins were clean, cozy, comfy. Activities were fun and flexible. Horses were perfectly chosen for all levels of rider. Scenery was made-to-order. It was one of the most restorative, enjoyable vacations ever. We left feeling closer as a family, with our day-to-day worries washed away by the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Triangle C Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle C Dude Ranch

Address: 3737 U.S. Highway 26, Dubois, WY 82513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic Rocky Mountains of northwestern Wyoming, our lodge overlooks the Wind River and is surrounded by the Absaroka mountain range creating a vacation destination that is serene and relaxing. The beauty will take your breath away and the amenities of an 8,000 square foot rustic lodge has a lounge, library, swim spa, Tie-Hack Saloon, and the Wind River Dining Room that seats up to 65. We offer an exciting program for your Dude Ranch vacation experience! Reconnect as you spend hours horseback riding, enjoy evening campfires with s 'mores and cowboy sing-a-longs, tour Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks with a guide, go hiking and fishing at Brooks Lake and take in the history of the Petroglyphs. Relax and have fun at the weekly square dance and experience a touch of the good 'ole days during our rifle shoot-out, archery, tomahawk and knife throwing. Treasure the peaceful atmosphere during our breakfast and sunset rides, the excitement of the Dubois Rodeo on Friday night! There is sure to be something for everyone . . . And if your dream is to sit back and read a book and soak up the sunshine, there are a variety of decks and porches waiting for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Triangle c Dude Ranch Hotel Dubois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triangle C Dude Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.