We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
Save
You added Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins to your Saves list
218 W. Ramshorn, P.O. Box 1150, Dubois, WY 82513   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Loved the cabin feel and the amenities. It was close to a lot of things to see and very clean. Loved the main lodge feel and the owners were helpful and courteous. Loved talking to Jack who had been coming here for 33 years. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Great side roads to explore from this location!!!

Room Tip: Choose the cabins as they are cozy with fireplaces and microwave and refrigerator. Very clean and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in the lodge for 3 nights. Large room with two queen size beds that were very comfortable. Walked everywhere. My only complaint was that the walls are very thin. Fortunately, we had quiet neighbors. We checked out the cabins for next time and they looked comfortable. The weekend we were there was "honor the cowboy" weekend (or something like that); great fun with rodeo Friday night, parade down their one and only main street, Westernairs show in the evening, country music. We were there because my granddaughter was in Westernairs. We were close enough to the Tetons that we drove over there and back on Sunday. The management was very helpful; Sunday morning our hot water faucet broke in the shower; we reported the problem and by the time we got back from the Tetons it was fixed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice people run this place. From check-in to check out. No nonsense... just a clean room, nice cabins. Some of us stayed in the lodge and some if us stayed in the cabins. They were both very nice. This is no Hilton, don't get me wrong. But it is clean and warm and friendly. And you can walk to many places from Twin Pines. It has a nice reputation across Europe so more than likely guests will meet fellow travelers from all over the world. A very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

What a dump. Do not believe photos on the Internet. Cars are parked right at cabin doors. Very tiny cabins for the cost. Ice machine broke. No place in area to get ice or soft drinks at night. Staff doesn't care. People in town's convenience store was very rude! Drive on don't stop here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPLodge, Owner at Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Sorry to hear your experience at the Twin Pines did not meet your expectations. I am sorry our Ice Machine decided to fail during your stay. We did have an arrangement with the Conoco across the street to supply ice when needed. We have since replaced our ice machine and sell Sodas and snacks in our office. As you can see from other guests reviews, we take pride in our service to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The cabins have that "rustic" look and feel but are appointed with the modern conveniences we all have come to expect; TV, refrigerator, coffee and tea in the room, nicely stocked bathroom and, CLEAN! Beds were very comfortable and the lobby in the log lodge where breakfast is served is gorgeous. The owner has placed many of his own western themed photographs on the walls, there is a fireplace and books on local hiking, fishing and other activities are on the mantle for guests to peruse. Breakfast was simple but good: cereals, yogurt, breads, pastries and hot/cold beverages.

I want to thank Peggy, the receptionist, for helping me out with a cake that was too big for the room's frig, so she placed it in the lodge's frig for me!

We loved how close Dubois is to Grand Teton and Yellowstone Nat'l. Parks. And the area around Dubois has some great hiking and fishing (in lakes and the Wind River). I will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Cabins furthest from the street are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The property is on the National Historic Register. We found the log cabins very comfortable, with plenty of space, new plumbing (great shower!), good TV and big fluffy towels---not what you'd expect in this price range.

Caveat about cell service in Dubois: we have Verizon which usually has the best service in the most places. Even Chena Hotsprings in the middle of Alaska had a Verizon tower right there! So we were surprised to have no service in Dubois. This is relevant to the next paragraph but also something general to be forewarned about. We did get a hint of a signal here or there but nothing to count on.

I want to compliment Peggy, the mother of the couple who own the place---she works as the receptionist. She went out of her way to be helpful. I was researching on the lobby computer (another nice convenience), trying to book a place for the following day. Because of the lack of cell service, she just gave me one of the office handsets and told me to feel free to make calls---not even to worry about non-toll-free numbers. She recommended a couple of good places to run. She came out to the cabin when we had trouble sorting out 3 remotes for the TV and DVD player. She loaned us spoons for some yogurt we bought at the grocery stores. She was cheerful, patient and warm, so I'd rate customer service as five stars.

I am sure Twin Pines is by far the best place to stay in Dubois, which is a great place to stop the night before (or after) visiting the Tetons or Yellowstone.

Check out the Nostalgia Bistro which is also of unexpectedly high quality for such a small town. They have an outstanding chef who made a pasta dish not on the menu for one of us. Everything was outstanding, from that special order to the Caesar salad to the blackened tuna sashimi---yes! ---sushi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 1 night here on our way to Yellowstone. We had a detached cabin which was very peaceful. Spacious, very comfortable beds and clean. The morning light didn't bother us as we had to get going promptly. We had dinner at the Cowboy Cafe which was a disappointment. This maybe because we don't like too many carbs in our diet - grilled chicken (fine) with a huge quantity of fries, a stodgy roll and corn, accompanied by a limp lettuce and tomato salad. Continental breakfast the following morning is ok - processed cereals, muffins, toast and coffee. This was a good stopover although next time we'll try the Nostalgia Bistro for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins

Address: 218 W. Ramshorn, P.O. Box 1150, Dubois, WY 82513
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins Hotel Dubois
Twin Pines Hotel
Twin Pines Dubois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.