We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Lava Mountain Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lava Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Lava Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
3577 US Highway 26, PO Box 658, Dubois, WY 82513   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dubois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I love Lava Mountain Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This place is Heaven on earth. The food is excellent! The owner is Great! We will go back soon.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavaMntLodge, Owner at Lava Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for your great review, we certainly appreciate positive feedback. Our staff strives to meet the standards of customer service found in much more luxurious locations and the kind of review you have posted is just the reward they are looking for. We share the reviews with our staff with your permission. Thanks again, the staff at Lava Mountain Lodge and Wilderness Boundary Restaurant on beautiful Togwotee Pass between Jackson Hole and Dubois, WY. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again. LML
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinedale, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We loved our stay at Lava Mountain Lodge. We debated staying in their heated cabin, but opted for a hotel room because I didn't feel like hiking to the bathroom. The room was clean and spacious. We paid $10 extra so our dog could stay with us. The staff was very friendly and gave us tips on area hikes, etc. We drove the 18 miles the town of Dubois to eat and explore. We also ate at the restaurant at the lodge - bbq on Saturdays - delicious!!!! I got the chicken and my husband the pork ribs. Both were great as well as the accompanying potato salad and beans. The only bad thing about the hotel: the beds! They are old and dip in the middle...and small. They are NOT queens - they are doubles and not very comfortable for two people or probably even one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavaMntLodge, Owner at Lava Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. We purchased Lava Mountain Lodge 6 years ago and have been making improvements while operating ever since. Our next project is to replace all bedding in our Lodge Rooms to improve on the great offerings. Lava Mountain Lodge offers queen beds in one room, long full beds in two rooms and the 7 remaining rooms have full beds as well. The original lodge building was built in 1966 out of log and brick which limits the size of the rooms. Full beds are offered in most rooms to allow for roll away beds to fit comfortably to accomodate families during the Summer Yellowstone tourism season. The Wilderness Boundary Restaurant was opened in December 2006 and was a much needed improvement as the old restaurant was a temporary building with a wall tent attached to the front. Many people miss the old restaurant but it was outdated and very inconvenient as well as disfunctional. We really love our Wilderness Boundary Restaurant and strive to create great food in a relaxed atmosphere paired with excellent customer service. Many improvements have been made over the last few years. For example we have upgraded the RV sites, added our Grizzly Camping Cabins, remodeled our Big House at Lava Mountain Lodge for groups and families, added four New Park Model Cabins w/ full kitchen, bath, living room. Satellite TV and now offer Vacation Rentals. We have also upgraded our water and waste water systems to bring them to standards to protect the pristine waters and environment. We have also remodeled our General Store and upgraded and brought to code our gas station. Our newest adventure is our new all season organic greenhouse which replaced an old defunct pool. Thanks again for the feed back. Whether positive or negative we thank you for your opinions as we learn from what the customers and guests see from their point of view. We are then able to take the proper steps toward impoving our facility from those who are most important, our guests and customers. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to serving you in the future, the staff at Lava Mountain Lodge and Wilderness Boundary Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at Lava Mountain Lodge on the way to Yellowstone. Fabulous place-the staff treated us like family. I loved it so much I did not want to leave! Nice lodge & rooms and excellent scenery. I plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavaMntLodge, Owner at Lava Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
We would like to thank the nice folks who wrote this review. The family arrived late as we had anticipated and we made sure to wait for them just in case they were hungry as we know there is no other place in the immediate area to eat after 9 pm. Upon arrival we checked them in and turned the lights on for them. We then proceeded to prepare some of the menu items from the Wilderness Boundary Restaurant menu. The guests were perfectly satisfied with the food that was presented to them and they enjoyed a few cocktails and were off to bed after a long day of driving. They said it was a great stay and would like to spend more time with us but this trip was a Yellowstone trip and so their adventure continued. I'm sure they had a great time in Yellowstone as well. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. JJ LML
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lava Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Mountain Lodge

Address: 3577 US Highway 26, PO Box 658, Dubois, WY 82513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located inside the Shoshone National Forest(the World's 1st National Forest) on US Highway 26/287, The Togwotee Trail to Yellowstone. Lava Mountain Lodge is the same distance to Old Faithful Geyser as Jackson Hole yet a Natural World Apart. Lava Mountain Lodge offers Tent & RV Camping, 4 Season Grizzly Camping Cabins, Vacation Rental Cabins w/ Kitchenette, Remodeled Lodge Rooms, Liquor Store, General Store, Gas Station, Laundromat, Coin op Showers & Rest Rooms all with easy highway access and a mountain forest setting. Lava Mountain Lodge is open for Summer Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park tourism, Winter Snowmobile and Skiing recreation and Hunting Season for some of the best hunting grounds in the lower 48 states. Fishing and Fly Fishing is a popular activity as we are surrounded by Alpine Lakes, Rivers and Streams in the Wind River Mountains of Wyoming. Our natural setting also offers opportunities for Hiking, Photography, Cross Country Skiing, Snowshoe'ing, Mountain Biking, Cycle Touring, Wildlife Viewing and many more outdoor activities. If your vacation plans include spectacular views, clean mountain air, great food and relaxation or outdoor recreation Lava Mountain Lodge may be a great choice for you and your family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.