We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas Eve on the Mountain!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Lodge Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Lodge Resort
Save
You added Bear Lodge Resort to your Saves list
US14A at Burgess Junction, PO Box 159, Dayton, WY 82836   |  
Hotel amenities
Shell, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Eve on the Mountain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bear Lodge Christmas Eve. Very friendly staff and wonderful food. The rooms weren't bran new but clean. Enjoyed a few good drinks in the lounge and went for a swim/hot tub before bed. Even saw 3 moose on the way up. I would recommend this lodge for a nice getaway from all the people.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    15
    11
    27
See reviews for
26
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

loved the old cabin feel of the lodge. the stuffed animals were incredible. The rooms where clean and comfortable. Bar tenders very friendly. food was average but good service. Nice to walk out back in the woods and enjoy the deer grazing in the fields. Would recommend this place if you want to be away from everything. Nothing else close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, South Dakota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We checked in and were assigned our room. Not at all what we expected out of a lodge. The door locks did not work, the Tv did not work, and it was just the pits. We went to the front desk and requested another room which they gave us. It to was not in any better shape than the first room, although the Tv did work. If you wanted any ESPN channels you had to go to the bar. Of course that was done by design so you would be compelled to spend money their. I am not sure this establishment even deserves a terrible rating. It should be burned down with the fire department before it burns down by accident and people loose their lives.

Room Tip: Don't stop. Keep driving east or west regardless of the time of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Every thing was perfect at Bear Lodge Resort from the time of making the reservation made 2/14/13 for two nights 8/16/13 and 8/17/13 to checkout on 8/18/13. We were checked in very nicely by John the clerk on duty. We stayed in 17A condo which was very nice. It was very clean. It has all the amenities we needed. They all appeared new and they all worked. It was very spacious. We were four fly fishermen there to fish the Tongue River for three days. There was plenty of room for all our stuff and fishing gear. The beds were comfortable and we got good nights of sleep. The location was nice and quiet. As for food everything was fine. The menu selection was very adequate for all meals. The prices were very reasonable. The food preparation was super. It was fast, served hot, and very tasty. We had two breakfasts, two dinners, one lunch, and two lunches to go with us fishing and we have no complaints. The service by the waitresses was very friendly and courteous. We asked for separate checks. We were told very nicely that they couldn't but that their system was set up to keep each order separate on one slip and the checkout clerk could break it down to separate credit cards and it did work out very nicely. Sam ( a female) waited on us a number of times and did a great job. Big Mike came to our table at each breakfast to tell us about his breakfast buffet, see how we were doing, and added some humor to the morning. Check out went smoothly. At check out we had lunch and lodging to pay. We wanted to split the bill four ways and put on separate credit cards and they were able to do it easily and willingly. The $10.00 deposit for keys was returned in cash very quickly. The four of us would stay here again without question. John Karsten

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked at Arrowhead Lodge in order to fish the North Fork of the Tongue River, which was lovely. Arrowhead Lodge is owned by same owners as nearby Bear Lodge and Elk View Inn in the Big Horn Mountains, WY. It is about an hour drive up the mountain from Sheridan, WY. It was the worst accommodation experience I've ever had and even though we stayed at the lodge late summer, 2012, it was an unforgettable experience, and I feel demands a review, or rather, a warning.
It was shabby, dirty, and in disrepair. We checked in about 7 p.m. on Saturday evening. Upon entering the room, I could not find a light that worked—several light bulbs were burnt out. Curtains on both windows were barely hanging on the rods; all walls were completely bare without pictures contrary to the website photo; two out of three light bulbs over the kitchenette sink did not match in color or style, and the third socket was empty. In addition, there were only two lamps for two rooms, which was totally inadequate. A thick layer of dust lay under TV platform and throughout the cabinet. Most glaring was a large gaping patch of torn vinyl flooring next to the breakfast bar.
I noticed all of the above within just a few minutes.

Before completely moving in our gear, we spoke to the person in charge and another woman, whom I never saw again for the rest of the week. We asked to change rooms and were told none was available. We were not offered a chance to move to Bear Lodge or Elk View and did not know whether that was even a possibility. The staff quickly replaced non-matching light bulbs, but when we asked for an extra reading lamp, we were told that none were available. We received a complimentary hamburger and fries.

The next morning we decided, that we would not return to Sheridan to find better accommodation, since we didn’t want to drive the round trip up and down the mountain daily for 6 days.

As the week wore on, I took note of other problems with the room and grounds. In addition to the above, here is a list of other problems.
- TV remote didn’t work –perhaps batteries were dead
- Carpet and upholstery on chairs dirty and stained
- Front door dirty with black finger smudges all over
- Dining table unstable and tilted to one side
- Refrigerator froze contents—cheese, drinks, milk, fruit, even when set to lowest setting
- Bathroom sink had no drain stopper and if anything small accidentally dropped into the sink it was gone; faucet leaked in two places so we had to place a towel around it to keep water from flooding the counter top; hot and cold water were reversed.
- The bathroom wall was unpainted where plaster had been applied or holes drilled
- Heating or fresh air vent was dirty and streaked
- Several outlet faceplates were cracked and broken
- The finish on TV and wardrobe cabinet was nicked with a swatch of duct tape to hold it together on the back
- The futon couch sank toward the middle which made it uncomfortable to sit, especially since one always had to sit to one side to take advantage of the lamp. I had to prop a pillow up to support my back since the seat was so deep.
- Light over the door outside had no cover as the others.
- We often tripped over the torn loose vinyl.
- Lock to the door was inadequate, as it was no stronger than a typical indoor bathroom door lock
- The outside grounds were also unkempt. Cigarette butts everywhere; other lodgers twice left unfinished open bottles on the picnic table and steps—these bottles sat there all day and overnight and the next day and I finally threw them away myself.
- On two occasions, a staff member handed me a fresh set of towels, which was fine, but asked me to leave the used towels outside the door. They were removed the first time, but the second time the towels were still lying in a heap the next morning.
- Long and dangling masking tape used for painting the trim and steps on the building was still hanging and draping from the underside of the top stairway
- Free wi fi is advertised, but frankly it was almost impossible to get a reliable signal in the room. Signal in the restaurant was fine, except on Sunday, when there was no signal. Apparently, the lodge had used up its bandwidth for the week!

On the positive side, I was grateful that the beds were comfortable. Throughout the week, the staff was always friendly and welcoming, and although we were once asked if we were enjoying our stay, we were non-committal because the list was so long, it seemed rather hopeless. My husband did mention the bathroom sink leakage, but the lodge’s handyman was unable to fix it.

A couple of days after we’d been at Arrowhead, I had occasion to look into other single rooms and suites at that lodge which were temporarily vacant. I was surprised to see that many of the other rooms were much nicer—more lamps, pictures on the wall, a more attractive TV cabinet, etc. I did not examine whether rooms were clean or not, especially since the rooms hadn’t been cleaned from the previous night’s guest. We looked at Bear Lodge and Elk View Inn, and they seemed better, but by that time it felt that it was too much trouble and time to change locations. Upon our return, I wrote a letter to the owners about our experience and received no acknowledgement or reply to our letter. Obviously, they don't care about their properties or reputation.
It's a shame that such a lovely Wyoming area is diminished by this property. We'd like to fish the Tongue River again, but will not return until decent lodging is available.

Room Tip: To my knowledge there is no good room at Arrowhead Lodge. Avoid it at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a cabin for two nights. The cabin itself was OK, beat up in spots. Full-size bed and bunks for the kids. There were table and chairs to eat from. We were told to use the bathroom behind the bar, which was a short walk from the cabin. The bathrooms/shower were fine. We cooked our own food at the cabin and was told to use another bathroom, near the hotel rooms, to clean our dishes. Bear Lodge itself needs work and cleaned up.There were piles of junk from old appliances, gas grills, gasoline pumps, vehicles and other pieces of equipment all over. We saw a pile of rock/gravel which I think is used to fill in the ruts and potholes in the complex. I remember a much nicer place many years prior. Our cabin had an occassional aroma of sewer, which was being worked on while we were there. We could watch the work from our cabin. The laundry room smelled like a cat litter box, not what you want while cleaning clothes. The washer/dryer are old. Indoor pool was fine. The surroundings are beautiful as it is close to fishing, hunting, and ATV trails. We had a piece of pie at the restaurant one evening. The pie is excellent. The staff was friendly, polite, helpful and genuine. Lots of people were there. I think Bear Lodge is a "guy's" place. What I mean is guys show up to fish/hunt/ride trails all day, then come back to eat, drink and talk. I think its demographic doesn't really care about appearance. They just want a place to escape. I did not see the hotel rooms but was told they were booked both nights. Bear Lodge and nearby Arrowhead are owned by the same people. I called Arrowhead in advance to make a reservation, but when we showed up at Arrowhead we were told our cabin was at Bear Lodge. That was not explained to me over the phone. The man at Arrowhead was polite explaining the set up. I guess if you call either one, they save a spot for you somewhere. We did drive through Arrowhead and it looked in better condition.

Room Tip: Don't expect much, but you should not have to pay much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Arrowhead Lodge...owned by the same people as Bear Lodge...

We stayed in cabin 8 at Arrowhead Lodge. The staff service at the Lodge was terrible; the cabins were not clean; nobody seemed to know anything; restrooms were never stocked, no toilet paper, no hand towels, no soap, & never cleaned the entire week we were there.

We checked in for a week which was supposed to be $150 + tax. They charged our card for 7 nights @ $49 per night + tax. We had to leave 1 day earlier than expected, and they credited back 1 night, but refused to honor the weekly rate so we ended up paying $294 + tax for 6 nights instead of $150 + tax for 7 nights...!

Roberta, who is supposedly the owner, said we were charged too much to begin with, but refused to do anything about it.

We could have been just as comfortable staying in a tent. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lodge Resort

Address: US14A at Burgess Junction, PO Box 159, Dayton, WY 82836
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Dayton
Bear Lodge Resort Wyoming/Dayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.