We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar was fun but the place needs some repairs.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elk View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk View Inn
Save
You added Elk View Inn to your Saves list
4622 W Hwy 14, Dayton, WY 82836   |  
Hotel amenities
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bar was fun but the place needs some repairs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were elk hunting in the Bighorn National Forest in tents and got rained out so we decided to spend a night at Elk View Inn. The first night was great. Good food, good service, friendly bartenders and cook. Only problem was we needed heat in the room to dry our clothes and the heat did not work. The next day it rained all day again so we headed to the Elk View inn again. We got there at 5 minutes to 9 and Keith the cook came out as we are checking in to see if we wanted to eat since the kitchen closes at 9. We said yes so he said he will keep the kitchen open so we could change out if our wet hunting clothes. We got back to the bar at 9:25 and told the manager we wanted to order. He says no way. Kitchen is closed. We say well the cook said he was waiting for us so we should order. George the manager says you can get a pizza but that's it, kitchen is closed. Then Keith comes out and tells George " I told them I would cook for them". George says" no the kitchen is closed". It ruined our whole night and the next time it rained we did not go to the elk view inn. So many little things broken there also. The place needs some TLC.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family stayed at the Elk View Inn last week and had the best time ever! The Staff was so friendly, they made us feel a home. I have been a cook for 28+ years and the meal that I had there was out of the world! Scott and Keith did an awesome job! 4 Star meal!! My mouth still waters thinking about that steak! While waiting for dinner, we were able to visit with the bartenders. Frank is such a doll and George, he to is a hard working man! He waited tables, cleaned, bartended and still managed to have a wonderful smile on his face. That night we stayed at the Inn. Again, I have stayed in a lot of place and I have to say these folks put a lot into making these room top rate! The beds were so nice and the decore was beautiful. When it was time to check out in the morning, the front dest made sure we had a bag of ice for our cooler since we had a long drive home. That is personal service. I am looking forward to staying there again in the next few weeks. Thanks again Elk View for making our trip one to remember!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I and family stay in the Big Horns every year during Labor Day weekend and usually have a great experience with all aspects of our trip until this year. We decided to rent ATV's this year and went to the Bear Lodge to rent them. We payed in full in advance so that we didn't have to spend the extra time paying the fees so we could get out on the road as soon as possible. The person at the Bear Lodge told us to make sure that we were at the lodge by 7:30am to fill out the contract. We showed up at Bear Lodge before 7:30am only to be told that we have to go to Elk View to get the ATV's and at this point is when we were told that they were owned by the same people. We arrived at Elk View and was greeted by the Manager that promptly told us that we have to wait until everyone came in for the 8am rentals get there so that he can go through the contracts all at once. I thought this was a little ridiculous because the people that showed up on time should be able to get out rather than wait for people that are late that causes everyone else that was there on time to leave later. The manager finally started the contracts and went through them so fast that no one could really get a handle on what was required. After the contracts everyone had to wait in line to pay and give a credit card in case of damages which took an additional 45 minutes because they only had one person working the desk to take care of everyone, which being Labor Day weekend you would think that they would have had more staff knowing that this is one of the busiest weekends of the year. We finally got through the line and went outside to where they had the ATVS. The gentleman wrote down all the damages that were on the ATVS from the previous renters and took pictures of the machines (which is appreciated) and explained to us that the most common damage is on the rims of the machines from hitting rocks and things of that nature. He also explained that if the lip of the rims are bent because of liability reasons they cant rent the machines if they are like that.
We finally got on our way at about 8:45am 45 minutes late in which we paid for a half day 8am to 12pm. Since we paid for the full 4 hours I asked if we were able to take them out an extra 45 minutes but was met with a response of no we are doing our best so you have to have them back by noon. No apology nothing! You would think that since we paid for 4 full hours and not 3hrs 15 minutes we would get 4 hours especially because it was their fault for us being out late. We were searching for ORV rated trails but could not find any close enough so we decided to go on some smooth trails and take in the scenery. On our last trail we stopped for a rest and had something to eat. I was walking around my wifes machine as well as mine and noticed that both wheels on the back had dents in the lip of the rims on both machines. Also both machines had rust on the dents and you could clearly tell they were not recent dents. All I could think about was what the guy said to us when we first started that he could not rent the machines out if they had these dents because of liability reasons. They are so strict about damages and letting you know every little thing that happens to the machine we will have to pay for but they can't even look over the machines good enough to make sure these things aren't already on the machines, and then to tell us that the machines are not safe if these rims are bent and then to send us out on them is absolutely unacceptable. We brought back the machines and fueled them up and we had the manager come check the machines and he ok'd my wifes but then the Manager says that he has to check the camera for the bent rims on the machine that i used which there was no way possible on the roads that we went on that the rims could be bent. He looked at his little 2 1/2 inch screen camera and could not see the bend on the camera (go figure) but decided since there was rust on them they had to have been there from before.
All in all the experience we had was horrible. It seems to me that since they sell these machines after every season they are trying to trick people into paying for extra things that they either didn't use or didn't damage to make sure that they do not lose money on the machines. Since there is no other place to rent these machines in the area I guess they can charge or do whatever they want.
The Big Horns are so beautiful that it is worth the trip to see them however i would not recommend renting ATV's from this place. If you do decide to rent the ATV's take your own camera and take your own pictures to ensure they do not try to charge you for something you didn't do. Also i would insist that you have them check you in at the correct time since you will pay for the half day or full day no matter how late they are checking you in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There are only 3 resorts from which to choose in the Bighorns - all owned by the same family - so your choices are limited. I am rating this based on those facts, and not in comparison to a hotel in Chicago or NYC.
The Inn: Rooms were relatively clean and had benefit of daily housecleaning. Toilet ran continually, but manager Cory at least tried to fix it. Swallows have nests in several areas on resort and there are layers of droppings in front of the doors. Again, I'm here fishing only and it didn't bother me much, but there's zero apparent effort on the part of the resort staff to pressure wash these areas or discourage the Swallows from nesting in these areas to begin with. Their Owl decoys are sitting in the bar area! Doh!

The Lounge:

Food is prepared by experienced chefs and was high quality.

Cocktails are served promptly by an attentive bar staff with several local beers on tap. Our favorite employees were Nicole and Frank - two engaging and intelligent folks Elk View is lucky to count on as the backbone of the operation. Nicole also works with the Forestry Service at the Medicine Wheel. I strongly recommend visiting the Wheel and making a good donation - their operation relies solely on this funding!

Summary: Consider your location and the scarcity of goods/services and Elk View is a solid stay. The highlight of our trips remains in the lounge, however. Engage Frank in a sci-fi conversation for a real treat.

Room Tip: Keep a pair of binoculars handy to spot Elk across hwy 14 up on the ridge! Spend as much time as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your response. There are some good fishing holes in the area, I hope you found them.

The swallows are a pain to say the least. During their construction we continually tried to knock and spray down the nets. It wasn't until they started laying eggs that we stopped. Once eggs are laid, they are protected and we have to live with them. Fortunately, they are only on the property about 3 months. The hotel porch gets power washed once a week and hand sprayed down twice a week. I have been hand spraying daily now. Unfortunately, within 2 hours of washing down it is usually back to looking bad. The bar door is a bad spot but Frank himself uses the power washer once a week to keep it clean. (Good power washer as well as a bartender)

Was your toilet the one that filled slow and I fixed it so good (LOL) that it then ran all the time? We fixed the float and now it's fine.

Again, thank you for your review. It gives us a chance to find out how we are doing and fix the things we might not of heard about. Come see us next fishing season and maybe we'll be able to tell you about local fishing holes.

Corey Hulse
Manager, Elk View Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The new management at the Elk View Inn are doing an excellent job! Their hospitality was wonderful and their staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and the food was awesome! I would recommend this place to anyone, particularly families looking for a fun mountain top vacation!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and words.

We have great Chefs working here and yes the food is great. Don't know if you noticed the size of the portions but they are huge. We have begun telling people this when they order...we have used a lot of to go boxes.

We have good staff here that try very hard to make each guest experience a good one. From the manager to the dishwahers we are adapting a customer service/hospitality based approach in every situation we can.

Thanks again for kind words and come see us again.

Corey Hulse
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We met with approximately 60 family members from US and Canada for a two day reunion at Elk View Inn. We enjoyed it very much; the friendly staff, pleasant and clean rooms, outstanding scenery, and exceptional food service all combined to make it an unforgettable weekend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your family was great and we also enjoyed your stay.

Getting to know so many people from all over the US and Canada is what makes this hospitality business so interesting and so much fun.

We do family reunions and weddings throughout the year and it is always special for us. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to support you and your family. Let's see you back when the 80 year old turns 90.

Corey Hulse
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great experience at Elk View. Arrived late with no reservation and was told they were sold out. The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. She worked with Cory (manager?) to check on a room that was possibly available and thank goodness we were able to check into it. Our hats go off to the two of them for fitting us in and being so pleasant. We will make a reservation next time :-)
The next morning the waitress was great and very friendly. Breakfast was great. We will stay & eat again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I'm glad Dawnie and I were able to help you with a room. We always try to keep a few rooms available for walk ins. It is particulariy challenging during the peak times but in this case it worked out.

Our food is good and when we have it, (sometimes we have to wait on trucks to deliver it to our 8,300ft resort) it gives guests a wide variety of choices.

Come see us again soon.

Corey Hulse
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk View Inn

Address: 4622 W Hwy 14, Dayton, WY 82836
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Elk View Inn Wyoming/Dayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.