We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1407 Eighth Street, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Cody B&B and Inns
Victoria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Awesome value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The visitor centre said there were no no 'budget' hotels in the area, but when we stopped in we found a $99 room as opposed to well over $100. It was a short walk to town, had a covered picnic area for where we sat while doing laundry after a swim in the private pool behind the building.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being just a bit off the beaten track, this is a great place to stay. All roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    25
    16
    8
See reviews for
32
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Incredible value for the dollar! Their rates were the best I could find anywhere in town. It's not brand new, but considering their excellent rates, I wouldn't expect to see anything more...
*Clean rooms
*Excellent service
*WiFi worked great!!
*Spacious
*Comfortable beds
My new "go to" place in Cody!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is an old motor court motel. Park right in front of your door. Some of the cheapest rooms in the Cody area. The rooms are large and dated but comepletely functional. Bathroom was really small as they were in that day, but again perfectly functional. Good refrigerator in the room. Motorcycle friendly property. Within walking distance of the Cody museums and a bit more of walk to the downtown area. The front desk gave me a card for the local taxi which was all flat rates and had a great driver. I would certainly stay here again as it was a great value in Cody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Sunrise Motor Inn is an older facility with small rooms. The room rate was reasonable, clean, mattress was comfortable (and new according to the marquee); however, the pillows were the smallest and thinnest I've come across! Sierra Trading Post is directly across the street and downtown is within easy walking distance as is the Buffalo Bill Center. Our room was near the street and noise was an issue so we kept the windows closed and the air conditioner on all night. We stayed toward the end of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and there was a lot of bike traffic and noise but this is a major road. Sitting outdoors was not a good option due to the traffic noise. We did not try the free breakfast which as available. I would consider staying there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Consider a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in Cody for 3 nights to allow us to tour Yellowstone National Park and the local sites. We met the most wonderful people and the staff were excellent. Their prices were the best in the area. The center courtyard is very open and large to allow fellow travellers time to meet, greet and even share some great times together. Our room was comfortable and clean. They had a small pool in the back courtyard to allow those some time for that refreshing dip. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast which everyone there agreed was very good.
We highly recommend this to those who tour and travel throughout the day and need a place to just relax and unwind without the high cost. A big thank you to the owners who made sure all the guests there were taken care of. They were fantastic!

Room Tip: A room farther away from the main road will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for a night while the bikes were coming through here on their way to sturgis. Never again. Should have known I was in trouble when they said to park in whatever spot was available. Bikes were parked in 90 percent of the spots. Hello, there were many more bikes than rooms. Need to make sure others have place to park too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eureka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A small, older property which is very neat and clean with some modern upgrades. Staff is friendly.Breakfast is good. Prices are a good value for a super location near attractions. Tables in courtyard under great old cottonwood trees provide a lovely place to relaxe outside. Would stay again the next time we visit.Better than a large expensive hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motor Inn

Address: 1407 Eighth Street, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Motor Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sunrise Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Motor Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.