We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible pretty well describes it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Motor Inn to your Saves list
Sunrise Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1407 Eighth Street, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Cody B&B and Inns
Durango
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Terrible pretty well describes it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We got stuck in a corner room and had to walk sideways to move around the room, it was beyond small. When you opened the door there was about 4 inches to spare from the bed and that was the way all around the room. The front office locked me out of the laundry room and I had laundry in the dryer. The front office were less than pleasant about letting me in to get my clothes. We were on motorcycles and had a very hard day in the wind and certainly didn't need this. Never would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you're looking to be comfortable in your room don't chose this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    28
    16
    8
See reviews for
32
32
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife & I were on a cross country motorcycle trip. We felt is was expensive for what it is, We did not feel very welcome.
But we needed a place to shower & sleep, and it filled those needs.
Positive: Nice level parking lot for the motorcycle, right outside the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Husband and I both smoke and had to sit outside room. Flowers hanging everywhere and as I sat outside the owner walked right up to me and said, "Sorry." Then he watered the plant hanging striaght above where I sat. Rooms were very retro and not clean by our standards. Price for this one is way over the top for what you get. Breakfast was a joke. Good location is about all I can say for this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

On our trip out West, we stopped in Cody for two nights. We stayed here based on its price, but for over $200 for two nights, it was way overpriced. While it seems like they updated the bathroom that was the only thing updated. The bed was horribly uncomfortable. The breakfast was terrible (no place to sit, so we had to take it back to our room). It was so bad we ended up stopping at a gas station on the way out of town to grab something else to eat. I would not stay here again. Pay a little more. It would be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011 via mobile

What can I say, I'm cheap and so is this hotel. If your looking for just a room to crash and leave after a trip to Yellowstone I would recommend. Great value, simple services, and no problems with the staff. Remember if your looking cheap, would recommend

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Arrived on spec and having found yet again the the Best Western next door only had the more expensive rooms available, we were pleased to get a double room with motel breakfast for under US$60. The lady receptionist was very friendly (Cindy), recommending a couple of good restaurants. The rooms aren't the most modern but were clean, spacious enough, and had everything we needed. TV reception was not great but american TV is far worse. We had a comfortable and quiet night. It has a laundry. It was convenient for the museum and only ten minutes walk into town, passing the tourist information office. There's a WalMart and other stores just around the corner. For the money I couldn't complain. The breakfast was the usual muffins cereal and coffee etc. in reception livened up by the man behind the counter hacking up phlegm regularly and loudly spitting it out, thus maintaining his ethnic oriental custom whilst embracing a vanishing wild west tradition. All part of the travelling experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

If you are a lite sleeper don't stay here, you can hear every that they do and I mean everything. We stayed several nights and house keeping did a sloppy job of making the beds, the TV had very poor reception for cable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motor Inn

Address: 1407 Eighth Street, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Motor Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.