We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expensive area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Cody is an expensive tourist trap just 75 miles from the eastern entrance to Yellowstone NP. Having said that the edge of town BW Sunset Inn has good facilities and our room was comfortable.
All rooms are in single storey blocks behind the main building and laid out in a somewhat confusing manner - possibly caused by extending the property at some time in the past.
The associated Sunset Restaurant next door provided us with a good dinner at a reasobable price so we did not need to drive back into town. Whilst the hotel also offers a credit towards breakfast there, we chose to have the free breakfast at the hotel which we found to be quite adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you found your room comfortable. We want all our guests to feel relaxed in their rooms. Our guests always say how much they enjoy the variety of items that we have for breakfast and we are happy that you found it adequate as well. The Sunset House Restaurant is delicious, we agree. Be sure to leave them a review on their Trip Advisor page. Please come back and see us again if you are ever in the Cody area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    160
    78
    41
    14
See reviews for
153
171
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel don't maintain their lighting in the guest room. I called once I arrived the room. There was nothing done before I leave. The room smell no good. The light in room is very dark and without proper maintain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We receive great reviews on how bright our rooms are as we have windows on both ends of the rooms. Please be sure to let us know if you have any problems with your room the next time that you stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very clean,comfy and modern. The staff is very professional and friendly. The beds are great. The breakfast was very good too.Omlets,fruit,etc..Our teenagers used both pools( indoor/outdoor). The really enjoyed that. My husband used the work out room as he is a gym person, he loved that. I loved it because it was everything I hoped to be. Cody is a great place too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were everything that you had hoped for. It is great that there was something for everyone in your family. Our pools are always a favoirite among guests. The maintenance staff cleans them daily so they sparkle. We are glad your teenagers were able to take advantage of them. The fitness center is always a great feature for our guests hat enjoy working out. We are happy that your husband like it. Cody is a wonderful place and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had been on the road for nearly two weeks and we were hitting every confirmed hotel reservation with ony two to go, until we got to Cody...I jinxed myself! I had made a reservation at the BW Ivy Inn (a few blocks up the road) for 7/18 or so I had thought. It's a beautiful newer multi story hotel on the main drag. It was a long drive that day and we were happy to pull into the hotel to check in. It all went down the drain when to my horror, the gentleman at the desk said that we missed our reservation that was for 7/17!!!! and that they were sold out for the night. Panic set in knowing 1) this is the East entrance to Yellowtone and that we might not be able to find a room and 2) we lost $233 for a missed stay :( The clerk was so nice and understanding and he offered to call their sister hotel right down the road the Sunset Motor Inn and held a king bed room with a rollway for us. He said we would have to talk to the manager about getting a refund for our missed stay. Fortunately, I had all of my paperwork and itenerary back from Feb 2014 when I booked. It was a total error on my part. We hustled over to the Sunset Motor Inn and asked for Karen, the manager. She was the best! She said the most she could do was comp us for that night's stay and we jumped on it.

Karen hooked us up with a 3 queen family suite that was beyond awesome! As road trippers, here's what we loved about this place..

- if your on the 1st floor you can park right in front of your room. Made for easy access to our truck for organizing, etc. There are only two stories so even if you're on the second floor, you still have very easy access to your vehicle.

- The room was perfect for us. Our 11 year old son was overjoyed to have his own queen bed instead of a sofa bed after a week and a half!

- Beds, sheets and and pillows (this is the biggest plus in our book) we're the MOST comfortable in all of the hotels we has stayed in so far, hands down. No, joke. And ther were plenty of pillows. I always have to call for more, but not this time.

- A/C worked like a charm in both rooms.

- Nice clean bathroom.

-AWESOME pool!!! There's also a small jungle gym/slide area for the kids by the pool in a park like setting.

-Road trippers!!! ALERT! The biggest and best guest laundry room I have ever encountered at any hotel. 6/7 washing machines and dryers. No need to camp out in the laundery room at this place. And at a great rate!

-Good FREE breakfast. The usual hotel fare. Bagles, eggs, sausage, muffins, yogurt, ceral, etc. I'll never complain about a free breakfast!

-Free wi-fi woked great.

This was one of the best night's sleep we had on our entire 2.5 week road trip. Thank you Karen and staff at Sunset Motor Inn!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Wow! Thank you for the amazing review of our motel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your long trip. While it is unfortunate to hear that you missed your original reservation at our other property by mistake, we are thrilled that we were able to book you into a large 3 queen family suite. We are happy that your 11 year old was able to enjoy a large queen bed to himself. This must have been a real treat after sleeping on a sofa bed. Your review hit all the favorites that we hear about from our guests. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our entire staff. It is always nice to hear when a guest enjoys their stay and we are doing a good job. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This motel is older style where you park very close to your room. This motel supposedly had wifi but my wife and I never were to connect to the Internet. We did not have trouble with this elsewhere. The breakfast seating area is small for the number of rooms that they have. Ask if you can share a table.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us during your time in Cody. Our motel is the type where you park outside your rooms and many of our guests comment on how they like this convenience. We hope you did as well. Please be sure that if you ever have any trouble connecting to the Internet that you call the front desk. We are staffed 24 hours a day and would be happy to help you. We also have 24 hour IT tech support. Our breakfast area can become quite crowded in the morning. We are brainstorming ways in which we can expand this area to accommodate more guests at one time. We also do offer additional seating in our court yards. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The layout of the rooms has an old fashioned feel, but is quite convenient. Our room was clean, comfortable and attractive. Staff was unusually attentive, even calling about a half hour after check in to inquire about our comfort and to answer questions.
It seemed that most of the rooms were rented and the parking lot was quite full, but our room was quiet. We enjoyed the stainless steel spa and the outdoor pool looked welcoming.
The breakfast, while fairly typical of those included with a room seemed a cut above. Better quality than usual and circulating staff keeping the food stocked and the tables clean.
Especially appreciated the very close proximity to the museum

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the very nice review of our motel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. We have many extra amenities on our property and we are also happy that you were able to take advantage of them. Our maintenance staff work extremely hard to be sure that the pools and the hot tub are clean as you noticed. We do have a large deluxe continental breakfast and we are happy that you enjoyed it. Our breakfast attendant is a busy little bee in the morning making sure we keep all our items hot, fresh, and stocked for our guests. After all, breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we know that for sight seeing or traveling that a good breakfast is just what is needed. We hope you will come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It's a nice place in a popular tourist town. Let's face it none of came here to sit in a hotel room. Rooms are clean and everything else was as advertised. We did not have the continental breakfast as it was day three of our vacation and we were looking for something more substantial.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your room. We hope that you were able to have breakfast at The Sunset House Restaurant and use the discount that is offered for breakfast to our guests. We understand that after a few mornings in hotels our guests may need as you said, "something more substantial", and so we offer 25% off for breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Address: 1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.