We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Motel is an older property that has updated. Inside looks better than the outside. Desk staff was helpful in recommending a choice of local restaurants for dinner. Very close to Buffalo Bill Western Museum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you liked our hotel. It is great to hear that our staff was able to give you great recommendations on where to eat and places to go in town while you were staying with us. Next time you are in town we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    160
    79
    41
    14
See reviews for
153
171
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, ON, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

While this hotel was fully appointed (indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub, etc), the room was somewhat small. Breakfast service area is very small, but there are several seating/eating areas close by. A good basic hotel , but not worth the rate charged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you like our hotel and the fact that we do have an indoor/outdoor pools, hot tub, playground, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. We do have some rooms on our property that are larger in case you want one the next time that you stay with us. Be sure to ask one of our guest service representatives the next time you call to book a room. We would be happy to make sure you book a large room. We are currently brainstorming ways to expand our breakfast area so it can accommodate more guests in the morning for breakfast. We do have several picnic tables outside in our courtyard for guests to use weather permitting. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our 4th stay here in 9 years and the place is getting better in some ways, worse in others.

Better - wi-fi and TV are much improved.
Worse - formerly reasonable prices are now eye-poppingly expensive for the standard of basic room we were given. Still, for Cody, it wasn't bad value.
Same - major queues for the uninspiring breakfast, despite the motel being seemingly almost empty of guests this time

Anyway, overall it's a nice big clean sprawly motel in a good central location with friendly staff, parking outside your room and a great pool. The room we were allocated was a much smaller one than previously. An upgrade might have been nice, as we are Best Western Rewards members, but as the room was OK, if small, we didn't press the issue.

It's in a good location for museums and shops, and a short drive from the Nite Rodeo (which is also resting on its laurels a bit).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our motel. During this time of the year we are completely full every night. It is great to hear that you were able to eat breakfast and that the area wasn't too full. We agree that our motel is in a great location and very close to many of the main attractions in town. We have upgraded all of our TVs to large flat screens. It is great that you noticed. We also completely repainted every room during the winter. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deerfield beach
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights as we visited yellowstone park. It has everything that you need and more. The front desk staff and A1. They know about all of the attractions/activities in the city and were very helpful. There is a large laundry room with coin operated machines centrally located from all of the units; so is the pool and hot tub. They offer a free breakfast that includes juices, danish, cereal, and more. The room is quaint with everything that you need including free internet. What a great stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It is so nice to receive such a great review from you! Our staff is very knowledgable about the area and giving directions for everything around Cody as well as Yellowstone and the surrounding areas. We are glad that we were able to help give you ideas and directions. Many of our guests find our laundry room very convienient. We have a large number of washers and dryers so there never seems to be any guest having to wait. It is great that you were able to take advantage of them. We really love hearing when people use our pools, fitness center, hot tub, etc. and love them. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this motel because we needed a place to crash after a long day of driving. The motel itself was alright, about what you would expect for the price. The breakfast was ok too. All in all our stay would have been uneventful, if they could figure our bill out.

When we checked in I told them we had some Best Western gift cards, they said not to worry about it and the ladies in the morning would take care of it when we checked out. When we checked out the lady struggled with the gift cards. After 15 minutes she finally got it figured out and I, mistakenly, assumed the bill was correct and ran out the door to start our Yellowstone vacation. The next night I looked at the bill, instead of deducting the gift card amount from my bill, she added it to my bill.

I have contacted this Best Western 4 different times over a week period. I have spoken to two different managers who said they would take care of it and they have not. I have been told I would be called back on two occasions and they have not called me back. I finally had to contact Best Western Corporate to get everything straightened out and a copy of my correct receipt. I don't understand how its so hard to get a gift card correct and to actually contact your customers when you say you will.

Cody is full of other hotels and motels, including another Best Western, I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I have spoke with our other manager and our general manager about this and none of us have received any messages regarding this situation. We value our guests and do not want a single one to walk away unhappy. If you would please give us a call we would like to speak with you directly regarding your stay and the problems that you had. Our number is (307) 587- 4265. Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in this motel and it did the job. Spacious room & free breakfast. Get up early to get a seat for breakfast, we took pass because it was packed and couldnt move in there. Hot Tub did not have enough water so it was more like a water fountain spraying hot water on the walls. Pools were nice. Few miles to the Cody Rodeo.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We do have a great location and are glad that you thought so as well. We did have a guest bring to our attention that the hot tub water was low for some reason. We were able to promptly inform or maintenance staff and get the problem taken care of immediately. It is nice to hear that you did enjoy our beautiful pools! Please come again and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

There are two Best Westerns in Cody, this being the older “motor inn” style with the rooms mostly at ground level arranged around a large lot with car parking outside each room, with a central garden/pool and lobby/breakfast room.

My room was quite small, but was cosy and pleasantly furnished and decorated. All facilities were available, including iron, coffee maker, big tv, wifi (a bit variable for speed), etc. The bathroom was also small, but again provided all my needs. I slept very well and there was no noise disturbance, which has been a rarity on my road trip.

Breakfast is free and fairly basic. The breakfast room was quite busy and people overflowed into the lobby, lounge and even the garden. This is obviously noted as a deficiency, as the hotel offers a 25% discount for breakfast at a neighbouring restaurant.

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We are glad that you found your room to be cozy with all the amenities that you needed. We hear daily how quiet our rooms are. Guests appreciate being in a great location and not having to worry about the noise or the traffic. We are working on a way to make a breakfast area bigger so we can accommodate more guests at one time. Thank you for seeing that we are trying our hardest to provide additional seating. We hope that the next time you are in Cody you come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Address: 1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.