We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Cody
Solihull
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Only stayed for one night as part of our Yellowstone tour. Excellent welcome, which showed that they had assessed our reservation perfectly. Good place to stay if you want to travel the Chief Joseph Highway up to the Bear-tooth Pass and Yellowstone NE Entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel. We do agree that we have a perfect location in Cody. We work hard at making sure each guest has a great stay and we are happy that we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    127
    64
    37
    12
See reviews for
127
132
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Night six of our 2012 road trip. Quite a large motel property but immaculately kept, quiet and with standard rooms and accommodation (all on the ground floor). Clean and comfortable throughout (even the TV remotes were held on materail 'pockets' ). The breakfast we found fine, busy but not over crowded (a bit cool to sit out). The price we thought reasonable at $100 per night, but it all depends on dates and availability. The property is towards the west end of town but no problem to get into town and park. Happy with our choice and would return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. We want people to think oa a clean and comfortable room when they hear the words Best Western. We make it our goal to be sure each guest has a positive experience from the time they arrive on our property till they check out. We are glad that we were able to provide this for you. We do hope that you travel through Cody again and plan on staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our party of four stayed here for one night on the way out of Yellowstone NP. The hotel is located before the town center when coming from the park and is very convenient to the Buffalo Bill Center (awesome) which is 5 minutes up the road on foot.

We arrived quite early (2 pm) but were given our room immediately. The motel is huge with and all rooms are located on ground floor (typical motel setup where you park the car right in front of your room). Our room was located furthest from the lobby and was very quiet and spacious. The bathroom was roomy with the standard BW amenities.

The motel also offers a 20% discount coupon for breakfast at the restaurant next door if you decide to chose this option instead of the complimentary breakfast at the BW.

All in all we found the hotel nice, the only negative was the price. At $177 for a non-refundable, advance purchase rate you can definitely expect something more, even when in Cody and close to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are happy that you chose to stay with us during your stay in Cody. We are glad that you liked our very convient location to the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. We are also happy to heaar that you liked your room. We pride ourselves in making sure each guest has a clean, quiet, comfortable room where they can relax. Our rates are very comparable to other hotels in the area with the same type of amenitites. We do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a great Best Western with very pretty grounds. There is an outdoor and an indoor pool on the grounds, which include separate one-story, motel-type buildings. The room was very good and I especially liked the two sinks--one in the bath and one outside the bath. They have spent considerable time making the grounds very pretty, complete with planters and a variety of flowers. The only complaint we had was that the breakfast room was very crowded in the morning and there aren't many tables. Perhaps it was just a happenstance that every guest chose to eat at the same time! We recommend this place very highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our motel. From our spacious and quiet rooms, to our large breakfast, and our pools. We take a great deal of time maintaining our property. We are happy that you noticed how beautiful our grounds are and provide the great pictures. We like to ensure that each guest has a positive experience from the time they drive onto out property till they leave. It is wonderful to know that we were able to do this for you. We hope to see you again when you are traveling back through Cody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms were old. They were clean and even the TV remote was cleaned. The rooms and bathrooms can do with updating. The buffet breakfast was so so. No fresh cut fruits. The down town is bit off walk. You have choices of fast food and other resturants there.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs ask for a room on the ground floor. The rooms are spread out. make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
It is disappointing to hear that we were not able to meet the expectations that you were hoping for. Most of our guests love our convient location. We are only about 2 blocks from the museum and half way between the downtown area and the famous Cody Nite Rodeo. We do have a rather large deluxe continental breakfast which does include fresh fruit. Our property is all ground level. It is quite big so for some, booking a room close to the main office may be best. We hope that you travel through Cody again and choose to stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night and was not disappointed. Best Westerns are usually pretty good, and this was one of them.
It was in a good location, and the room was spacious and quiet. Breakfast was good as always and the facilities looked OK even though we did not use them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal Best Western guest. It is wonderful to hear that you choose Best Westerns often and we are always able to give you a positive experience. We are happy that you enjoyed our prpoperty and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I again went with Priceline and was a little surprised when I drove up to this property. It is one of the drive-up to the front door motels and is quite basic. The continental breakfast was very simple. I paid $100 for this motel. However, it is close and up the street from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. And convenient to getting started to Yellowstone National Park. There are slim pickings in Cody. On the way out I did see an upscale property that most likely was above my budget. Traveling through South Dakota and Wyoming was an interesting part of the trip. Although windy at times, going through the historic Black Hills was interesting. You see scenic plateaus and buttes -- wonderful rock formations. The beautiful hills or mountains if you prefer are beautiful. I passed on Devils Tower as the pictures didn't move me. I had to pay the price of road construction but that's the way it goes. Seeing deer and buffalo was cool too. One of my favorite memories is visiting the Lakota Museum. This museum is part of an Indian school and is rich with history. Buffalo Bill Historical Center is a good experience too.

Room Tip: As the property is located on one level right off the road, a room in the back would most likely be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Our property is a motel and most of our guests love being able to drive right up to their rooms and park. Not only do they like being able to unload their bags easily, but they also like being able to see their vehicle from their room. We are happy that you had our breakfast. We offer eggs, sausage, pancakes, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, grits, fruit, muffins, english muffins, toast, bagels, juice, milk, coffe, danish, cinnamon rolls, etc.... so it is easy for everyone in the party to find something they will enjoy. We are happy that you enjoyed your time traveling across Wyoming. We hope you will travel this way and stay at one of our wonderful properties again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Address: 1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.