We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, nothing fancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cody Legacy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cody Legacy Inn to your Saves list
Cody Legacy Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Mountain View Drive, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, nothing fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed just after the 4th of July. Found it on the web and the pictures were a bit misleading. It's very nice and clean, but not fancy. The pool was very nice and clean. We got in later in the evening, but it was open until 10 so we could use it. Each room had a microwave & fridge which was a nice convenience. Located on the outskirts of town, but close to groceries and restaurants. It was moderately priced for the area and I would probably stay there again if I was in Cody.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose the first floor if you have a hard time with stairs. No rooms with views, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    91
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
59
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, Indiana
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Finally, I was greeted by a warm and friendly face. She smiled and spoke to me as if we knew one another for years. As we talked, I told her my name and that I had reservations. I started to show her my reservation print-out along with my confirmation numbers and she told me that it wasn't needed. Checking-in was at 3pm and once again, I was early. In fact, I was several hours early. She told me all the rooms were dirty and that my room would be ready by 3pm. I asked her which room I got and she smiled then told me I was getting the first room on the right on the first floor just a few steps away from the front desk which was their deluxe room with king bed. I left and ate lunch, did some errands, then came back at 2:45pm. Another woman was there this time and I told her who I was to which she told me my room would be ready in just a few minutes. Wow, another warm and friendly person. We talked and talked for quite some time. Moments later, she told me my room was ready. As soon as I walked into my room, I noticed my stay was going to be much better than other places I had stayed. My room had a delightful scent to it. I can't describe it but I loved it. Everything about the room was great. I did several loads of laundry there too without any problems. I highly recommend this motel. Their staff is the best. I will miss them! Thanks for making my time in Cody a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a good value option in Cody, especially around the July 4 holiday.

We stayed here 3 nights and found it to be convenient, friendly, and comfortable - except for the beds! The mattresses are so soft that my husband and I kept rolling to the middle of the bed all night long, for 3 nights! Ugh.

The rooms themselves are fine, very spacious, with small refrigerators. The older "value" section has a 3/4 wall separating the two beds, which makes it perfect for 2 privacy if you are sharing a room.

They don't serve breakfast at all but the coffee in the lobby is good if you drink the one in the carafe. Otherwise, McDonald's is just across the highway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here one night and found the beds to be quite comfortable and the rooms fairly spacious. I would stay here again for a clean hotel with a little local flair. That said, there was no elevator and the lobby shuts down at 9 PM. We asked about basic information like the appropriate leaving time to hit Old Faithful, and the staff responded, "We should probably know that, but we don't." They didn't answer the phone when Hotels.com tried to reach them to alter my reservation (which couldn't be done from the website...cancel and rebook only). After 15 minutes on the phone to Hotels.com trying to find a solution that would let me keep the room for one night, they finally answered and said it was no problem to amend the reservation. Keep this in mind when booking with this hotel!

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for first floor if you can't haul your luggage up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We were bounced from the Cody Cowboy Village due to an apparant overbooking by Orbitz and,or a room going down at the CC Village. The CC Village staff had fortunatelty managed to book us in to the Cody Legacy Inn at a tarrif only $5 above the rate that I had booked on line for the CC Village. As you can imagine we wre not impressed with Orbitz especially as this was the 4th July! Credit to the CC Village staff for finding us other accomodation at very short notice on this very busy day.
The rooms at the Cody Legacy Inn were large, well equiped and very comfortable. Unfortunately there was no breakfast facility. However, the hotel is well worth a stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

One night stop over from West Yellowstone to Deadwood - chose Cody because we wanted to take in a Rodeo during our stay in the US. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect for us - 10 minute drive to the Rodeo Stadium. We needed nothing more. No problem that there was no breakfast - we set out early the next morning and picked up breakfast on the way.

Had a slight problem with people stomping around in the room above ours in the early hours but that is just inconsiderate residents, not the fault of the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed 5 nights. The room was nice and the price was comparable to other hotels of similar accommodations. However, house keeping was terrible. My son dropped a shoe and I looked under the bed to retrieve it. There was trash from a previous guest under there! A filthy water bottle, a used paper coffee cup, dead batteries etc. One day in particular, someone made a sad attempt to service the room. I was amazed they managed to pull the covers up! Beds were not made. NOTHING in the bathroom was cleaned. Dirty / wet towels were left on the floor. We were given no fresh bath towels. In addition, the back door entry was completely unlocked for the first 4 nights due to a broken lock. Poor security! Look around, for that kind of money, you can do better!!!

Room Tip: Do not park next to grass. The sprinklers run at night and the water spots they cause are murder to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cody Legacy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody Legacy Inn

Address: 1801 Mountain View Drive, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cody Legacy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2006. Modern Lodge Atmosphere ~ Plush, new accommodations. In the tradition of Buffalo Bill, our Cody family is dedicated to providing a unique western experience during your stay in historic Cody, Wyoming. Free wireless internet, guest computer, continental breakfast, seasonal outdoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna, guest laundry. AAA, AARP, Senior, Military discounts. Children Stay Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cody Legacy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cody Legacy Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody Legacy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.