We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody Cowboy Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cody Cowboy Village to your Saves list
Cody Cowboy Village
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   203 W. Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call us Direct and Save !
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

You will not regret one minute at this wonderful place . I have to say that Petra, the hotel manager, makes you feel at home the minute you open the door. She is a wealth of knowledge , friendly and beyond accommodating. The rooms are super clean and neat so are the grounds around the entire place. You cannot visit Cody and pass this place up .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    191
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
325
365
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A fantastic place to stay! The hosts are friendly, helpful, and make the place well worth a visit just by themselves.The cowboy theme makes for a unique experience and shouldn't be missed. A new property that the lovely couple who are owners have spared no attention to detail and are still working to improve on. Spotlessly clean, quiet, and enjoyable. Definitely would recommend and would stay again on our next trip back from Australia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cody Cowboy Village in the recent past and enjoyed it, but we had a very umpleasant experience with them this past October which will definitely impact whether we'll ever stay there again....

While attempting to make reservations for the next evening, I mistakenly called the Cody Cowboy Village instead of the Cowboy Village in Jackson WY. I didn't realize my mistake until I clarified the address. The woman who took my reservations told me my credit card hadn't gone through and that it would be no problem to withdraw my reservation. After apologizing again, I hung up and made reservations with the Jackson Cowboy Village.

On our next month's American Express, we were unpleasantly surprised to see a one night charge from Cody Cowboy Village. We called American Express and told them what happened. (The charge for the Jackson Cowboy Village for the same night backed up our story.) American Express removed the charge. Mid-December we received a letter from American Express saying that they'd contacted the Cody Cowboy Village but that Cody C.V. "hadn't given them the information they needed to resolve the matter." Clearly, Cody C.V. had refused to withdraw the charge. Fortunately, American Express has better customer service and did not charge us despite Cody C.V.'s behavior. I am VERY disappointed. While we're not out any money, it's thanks to American Express, NOT Cody Cowboy Village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyotravelerbill, Owner at Cody Cowboy Village, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are sorry for your problem with this matter. Even though your booking was within our cancelation period, we approved American Express to credit your account. The only way it can be credited is with out approval. It also take 3-4 days for them to credit your card. We are sorry you had this problem, and hope if you have this type of problem in the future, please call the establishment directly too have it resloved. We greatly appreciate your businessad wish you a great New Year.
Bill - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Out of all of the hotel choices in Cody, we were lucky to have chosen this quaint little stop. It is near the outskirts of town, but since the main drag is only about a mile away, it is still very convenient to seeing all of the sights. It is a cluster of little cabins. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. It felt like a luxurious hotel, but has all of the charm of a little cabin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest the pool....they are facing in to the little pool and are a little more charm...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great throwback to the old motor court days. The log cabin units seperated by parking areas, reminds me of the original motor courts from the early days of travel. These units are very clean and well maintained. They appear to be fairly new or recently renovated. The staff was friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate. I prefer exterior door motels on roadtrips and staying at locally owned places. We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Cody was our one night stop on the way to South Dakota Black Hills from Yellowstone. Booked on line and all my queries were answered promptly by e-mails. The hotel is situated about 5-10 minutes drive from the main town but very close to the Nite Rodeo and there are plenty of eating options nearby. This is actually a complex of log cabins just off the highway so do not expect a great deal of scenery, peace and seclusion. But saying so there was hardly any traffic noise and we slept peacefully.
The cabins are arranged in a crescentic fashion around the main reception. The cabins at the back facing the open field have more privacy. There are quite a few cabins but it did not feel too crowded. Plenty of parking right next to my cabin.
There is a large hot tub ( not a pool) in the middle of the complex. You may feel uneasy about being overlooked. I didn't go in for a soak but our kids loved it. Little bunnies hopping around the tub !!!
Petra at the reception was very helpful and check in and check out were smooth.
Breakfast is included and served in the reception area. It's not something to get excited about but the simple and ample food was totally adequate to start our day without going out looking for food.
Now the best bit of CCV is the log cabin. Looked like an authentic log cabin and no fake panelling. Our 2 bed room cabin/Luxury suite was very spacious!! What a change after spending 10 nights in Xanterra properties in Yellowstone !!
The bed was a proper king size one and amazingly comfortable. We loved the décor, tastefully done with Cowboy artefacts. I fell in love with the cowboy lamp and actually went looking for it in Cody but sadly it was sold out. The kids had plenty of spaces in the living area and a TV of their own. Bathroom was reasonable size with decent shower pressure and plenty of towels. A small fridge and a microwave were very handy.
A small porch with hanging flowers and couple of chairs outside to socialise.
I felt the description and photos of the suites in CCV website were genuine and not hyped up.

We walked to the Rodeo and the Old Town trail. Didn't go for the Country Music Song and Dinner but some of the other guests bought the combo tickets at a reduced price from Petra and they seemed to be happy afterwards.
Petra recommended some shops in the town and we spent several hours there. Buffalo Bill museum is within a few minutes drive and is certainly worth seeing.

This was a perfect stopover for us out of Yellowstone. Yes this was more of a motel rather than a grand hotel but it was excellent value for money and I won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice, new, clean Log cabin, great stop on our way to Yellowstone. Log Cabins in the middle of an old west town, what more could you ask for. Be sure to check out the Buffalo Bill Cody Museum. Will stay again next time we are going that way. The cabin was very quiet and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cody Cowboy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody Cowboy Village

Address: 203 W. Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cody
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cody Cowboy Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the east entrance to Yellowstone park. Facility has the "best Beds in the West." These beds are triple sheeted with very high thread count linens. Limited dog rooms, must call ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cody Cowboy Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cody Cowboy Village Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody Cowboy Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.