We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back, Very Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Absaroka Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absaroka Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Absaroka Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
1231 East Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Laid Back, Very Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Hubby and I spent two nights here and enjoyed meeting folks around the camp fire. Staff were very friendly. The relaxing sound of the creek running by takes the place of tv, phone or the city life. Was in bed by at least 9:00 with a book both nights. Hubby was not pleased with the trout he ate in resturant, stated was frozen, not fresh, the pasta i had was good. Coffee in resturant in morning was good, and had to borrow a hair dryer with problem. I commend this family for the undertaking of this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

My family and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Absaroka Mountain Lodge. We loved it. The family run ranch was very accommodating to us. We loved the cabin and the atmosphere. The location, while close to the East Entrance, is still an hour drive to Fishing Bridge within Yellowstone Park. It was easy to get to Cody for the Cody Night Rodeo one night also.

The staff at the ranch was very nice. We enjoyed both nights of the "cookout" in the center of the ranch. We also did the Dinner Ride on horseback which was one of our favorite activities on our 9 day vacation. The cabins are very simple but that is what we were looking for. We walked up to visit the horses and loved walking along Gunbarrel Creek. I would recommend asking for a "single" cabin if available. We were in a duplex. The walls are thin. Luckily, our neighbors usually came in and settled down right away so it was not much of a problem.

I would recommend this location as a quiet get away ranch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Location was great,room was rustic, but as expected. We arrived in afternoon & went for a short walk around the place,we felt it was a bit run down looking . Ordered a well done steak for dinner it arrived almost pumping blood,I sent it back but couldn't eat the steak as it was way overdone.The manager wouldn't reduce the bill & got VERY AGRESSIVE with my husband & myself.We had no option but to spend the night there & left first thing in the morning.Much better accom just a few miles down the road with a great restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

The property, staff, owners, horses, setting, rooms, service were all top notch. Quite a bunch of hardworking individuals. We had a terrific stay. Definately take the horseback rides, we took the two hour which was perfect and worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay village, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

The setting is beautiful and convenient (12 miles from the Eastern entrance to Yellowstone), with cozy cabins along the Gunbarrel Creek. My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary there and the Boyd family couldn't have been more welcoming. The main lodge was very Western and atmospheric and we had a fantastic steak and Caesar salad for dinner in the restaurant. Also went horseback riding on great horses with our cowboy guide Dustin, crossing streams and meandering through the mountain forests.

  • Liked — the beautiful setting and the rustic atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

If your looking for the luxuries of 5 ***** accommodation then no, this not the place to stay. However, if you are looking for unique experience of staying a few nights in a rustic cabin lodge, with stunning surroundings, friendly wecoming hosts, evening camp fires, horse rides through the mountains (with expert guidance) to breakfast, then this is the place to be !
We had an absolutely wonderful stay and would highly recommend it to others.
Contrary to some other reviewers we would found the food (both breakfast and evening dinner) as wholesome, good quality food and not unreasonably priced. Should I ever have good fortune to visit Yellowstone again in the future then a reservation Absaroka Mountain Lodge will be top of my list!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We had the most fun ever. I wish we had planned to stay longer. Our cabin was so cozy and we enjoyed eating in the restaurant there. The surroundings were just beautiful. We enjoyed ourselves so much. If you are in the area plan to stay. They get a A+ from us.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absaroka Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absaroka Mountain Lodge

Address: 1231 East Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Absaroka Mountain Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absaroka Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.