We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "OK" place....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Absaroka Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absaroka Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Absaroka Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
1231 East Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Kenosha
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An "OK" place....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The property this lodge sits on is beautiful! We wanted to do some fishing, but the creek was raging due to all the snow runoff (lots of snow this past winter), but it made for beautiful music to fall asleep to. Location is good..not a bad trip to the east entrance of Yellowstone, or to Cody (which is a wonderful city - make sure you catch the nightly rodeo there). The lodge held a BBQ/cookout on Wed night and also had a "mini rodeo" for the kids. Was a great time. They also had a nightly campfire til 10pm and we took advantage of that one night also. The wranglers & other staff were quite friendly. Only ate once in the lodge...breakfast...tasty, but expensive. No coffee maker in the cabin...so bring coffee singles and coffee cups to heat water in the microwave. Otherwise you have to walk to the lodge and pay $1 for a to-go cup of so/so coffee. (I think that should just be free to customers, like all of the hotels we stayed at during our two week trip.) The cabin was small. No "living" space...just enough room for beds & a little table or bench. The cabin was clean but very buggy....found lots of critters. i.e..spiders, ticks, flies. The outside doors did not fit the doorframes very well, so we had lots of bugs which really bothered my kids. Many a night I was awoken by one of my kids to chase a moth or kill a spider. The sheets on the beds were not laundered to my liking, but it is a cabin, after all. I wished we had been able to go horseback riding, but due to local laws, my 6 year old would not be able to ride double with me & I did not trust her on a horse by herself on mountain cliffs. All in all, it was a pleasant place and sort of what I expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the lodge for 3 nights because all the cabins inside Yellowstone were booked. Stay was comfortable, relaxing with friendly service. Cabin amenities are a little worn but very clean. Restaurant food choices were limited so we opted to bring in our own dinner and wine on the last nite. Our cabin had a small fridge and microwave.
Although the lodge was good value and comfortable, the daily drive to and from Yellowstone was a little tiring. It's almost an hour's drive to some of the key sights in the park.

Room Tip: Cabins next to the brook is quite noisy - so you may consider the cabins across from the brook. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basehor, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

If this lodge was truly built in 1910, then they truly haven't performed any maintenance since then. Window boxes falling from cabins, cabin doors you could put your fist through easily, etc. Cabins were clean but the mattress was miserable, completely sunk down in the middle. Very, very tiny area inside cabins.

Signed up for the lunch ride, received a call that a "wrangler" was ill and would need to switch to the dinner ride. Fine. Worked out better because it cut the suffering down to three hours instead of five. Given a horse "your really gonna like" named Squaw. Didn't even make it out of the driveway and she spooked at three deer. From that point on she wouldn't settle in and ride quiet. The last straw was when she came unglued as the other wranglers bringing food to the dinner site on a four wheeler. The wrangler leading our ride wouldn't get on her. Was really looking forward to this part of the trip. Very disappointing.

After cold potatoes, and a steak that was cooked by the filthiest hands I have ever seen (she used hand cleaner after she put the steaks on) we headed back. Thank God.

Went to the restaurant so my husband could eat (he hadn't gone on the ride....smarter than me). Ordered fried chicken dinner. This chicken must have been out on the range for quite a while. The legs were tiny and the thigh was just plain hilarious. So, after $13 for that wonderful sparrow dinner, we headed to bed so we could get up and get the heck outta there. Be careful of the boards on the porches, they are rotted through in places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Absaroka Mountain Lodge in late June (Cabin 11). I've always wanted to see this part of WY, just outside of Yellowstone and was attracted to this spot by the Shosone River and Gunbarrel Creek. Unfortunately because of the incredible amounts of snow, the rivers and creeks everywhere were raging torrents--unfishable. However, this was pretty close to Yellowstone Lake, about as close as you can get without staying in the park so it served our purpose well. Beautiful drive to the park--we saw bighorn sheep, deer, and bears right next to the road on the way in and out.

The small canyon where the lodge is located is just beautiful as is the Buffalo Bill Scenic Byway--gorgeous country. The place was busy with lots of visitors and we checked in quickly and quietly. This is clearly a great place for families with a small park and playground, activities for kids, nightly campfires and a mid-week BBQ. The cabin was very rustic--no tv or wireless--but very clean and cozy with mini-fridge and microwave. Beware of eating in your cabin though--critters including mice and bears apparently abound here. We couldn't keep food in the car so we hung it inside on the clothing rack in plastic bags and stored items in the cooler or fridge. This is our routine whenever we stay in cabins. Paper thin wall in the bath between cabins. (Ours was a duplex. Fortunately our neighbors were quiet with well behaved kids.)

We ate breakfast at the restaurant twice--excellent! Big portions freshly made homestyle food. Very friendly service. We did not take advantage of the horseback riding which appeared very popular.

I would recommend this place to families and to anyone who wants a "wild west" experience. Beautiful scenery, cowboys, horses, and friendly folks. And, I've heard, great fishing when the water is right.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

My then teen-aged husband stayed here about 1965 with his parents on one of those automobile roadtrips around the US that were so common in the 50s and 60s. Of all the places he stayed, this is the one he wanted to return to. He found it on the internet, and I admit I was a bit skeptical, but we arrived and I fell in love! It was like stepping into a "wayback machine" and tourism during a kinder, gentler age. Quaint and retro, but well-maintained and kept up-to-date, the cozy cabin more than met our requirements. The staff was superb, the restaurant food was always well-prepared, and they fed us even when we straggled in late the first night when we were delayed by a snowstorm coming out of Yellowstone. The lodge's physical setting is enchanting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

this is a great location to base yourself to head into Yellowstone NP. the decore is what you'd hope for, it was just a great spot. Our room/cabin was great, although a little small and it was cleaned each day. However the food in the dining room left a little to be desired, I don't think we should be asked to cut into the steak to see if it's 'medium' isn't this what a cook should be able to judge!!! the food at the BBQ night was very 'average' the Ribs were cold and the corn was cooked to death. when we were leaving we were acused of leaving without paying the bill, in stead of apologising for over reacting (we were just packing the car before checking out) Terry wanted to argue with my wife. We're still waiting for a response to our email

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Absaroka Mountain Lodge for 7 days, at the end of June. Our stay could not have been more enjoyable. The entire staff from the owners and waiters to the Wranglers and cabin cleaners were friendly, and willing to do anything to make our stay enjoyable. The location was perfect for us being half way between Cody and Fishing bridge in Yellowstone. The scenery was spectacular being nestled along the North Fork Highway and the Shoshone River. The trout fishing in Gun Barrel Creek which ran right outside our cabin door was the best of my life. The property is well maintained, quiet, and clean. We went fishing, hiking, horseback riding, attended campfires and cookouts, ate in the restaurant and sat by the creek, ate a picnic lunch, read and relaxed, all without leaving the property. The lodge featured a comfortable seating area, minor souvenirs and postcards and a lounge area for kids to watch a video. We ate breakfast and dinner several times at the lodge and the food was very good, well prepared, attractive and generous. They do not serve alcohol but you can BYO. The cabins are old but clean and well maintained, The bed in cabin 5 was a king which was very nice. There was a heater for the chilly nights and we asked for and received a refrigerator and microwave. Our cabin was a "back to back double" but we never heard our neighbors. We had origonally tried to stay in Yellowstone but after seeing the crowds and experiencing the noise and hastle we were so happy we stayed here. If you want a relaxing, quiet, enjoyable place to stay while in the area, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absaroka Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absaroka Mountain Lodge

Address: 1231 East Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Absaroka Mountain Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absaroka Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.