We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shades of glories past” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Proud Cut Saloon

Proud Cut Saloon
1227 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414
(307) 527-6905
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Cody
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Powell, Wyoming, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shades of glories past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We used to call this "our spot." But after a change in ownership things have cooled. The food is fine if that is all you are after, but the service has gone downhill. If you plan to eat there, you NEED to make reservations. It gets crowded quickly during dinner hours. Unless things have changed in the last 2 years, put your money elsewhere. Oh, and if you plan on going with underage children, you will be seated in the back dining room due to Wyoming's strange liquor laws. So it is a better bet for adults rather than children. Menu is a bit limited.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    105
    42
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Beef in the West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best prime rib and rib eye steaks we have ever eaten. Very tender and juicy. Cooked exactly as ordered. Staff very polite and efficient. Ate there 2 nights this year and 2 nights previous visit. Highly recommend!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Montana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Steaks, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I usually eat steaks on my bike trips and this is a place I will stop at again. The food is very good, the steaks are good quality. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was fun. The good places I like to get a coffee cup souvenir and I do have a 'Proud Cut' cup.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“The best burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

First of all; anything you order; you will get your money's worth....The burger are huge and the best in town....I love all of them; the last one I had was the mushroom burger with sweet potato waffle fries; the meal was wonderful.....The shrimp is huge and is so good...Their seafood is flown in fresh everyday...The seafood chowder is wonderful....The fish and chips is very good too....You might want to call in for a reservation for the evening meal....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had the "baseball" sirloin which was wonderful. Not the most expensive which makes me want to return to see if what cost more can be better than what I had. Enjoyed the meal, the service, the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Proud Cut Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proud Cut Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.