We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Cody Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bill Cody Ranch
Save
You added Bill Cody Ranch to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2604 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Cant say enough on our stay this past week, The food, ranch and employees makes this a 5 star experience in my book. I was raised in the industry of hotel and restaurants and found this ranch to be exceptional. Toni and Ronnie (owners) made you feel like family and welcomed in their home. Tried a different meal every day and never was disappointed. The rooms were comfortable, clean and slept like a rock each night. The trail ride with Jordanne was a amazing experience, We did the 4 hr with lunch and saw a park of WY that can be done only by a horse and the scenery was outstanding. Conveniently a 26 miles from the East entrance of Yellowstone and same distance to Cody WY is the reason we picked this location. Hoping to return in the future. Our 5 days flew by and disappointed we couldn't stay longer. I highly recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: Due to the need to relax this hotel does not have TV or phones but does have WI-FI in lounge area. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    33
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in this ranch for two nights and it was really fantastic. Our cabin was very large and we had a kitchenette with table and a sofa. Outside the cabin there was a porch where we spent our spare time relaxing in absolute silence. Tha cabin didn’t have a tv, but we really didn’t miss it.
Not far from our cabin there was the corral with horses and the bbq area where we ate the first night. On the second day we had a 2 hours horseride and it was a wonderful experience! Our guide lead us through a trail among the trees, and it was really incredible!
The ranch is 20’ far from Cody town and the area is very calm and quiete. If you want to escape from stress and relax yourself, this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Scenery and setting is amazing. Staff is attentive and friendly. Has a very homey feel. If you are into horse back riding, you'll love it. Very close to downtown Cody, cute area. Day trip to Yellowstone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Halfway between the East Gate of Yellowstone and the city of Cody, you will find the Bill Cody Ranch. A somewhat remote setting for a wonderful ranch experience. Our family of four stayed in a two bedroom cabin a short walk to the main lodge. The cabins have a great western decor, are spacious and very clean. They are also quiet with no TV nor Internet access which was a nice break for our teenage daughters. At the main lodge you will find a homey restaurant with great food, good wines, cozy couches, outdoor porch with tables, internet access, a game room and at night an outdoor pit with everything you need to make s'mores. The barn where the many horses are kept is also a short walk from the cabins. However, the best thing about the ranch are the people who work there. From the moment you arrive you will be made to feel welcomed. Everything is made easy for you. The ranch has lots of options to add to your stay including horseback riding and meals. We added a four hour trail ride which was beautiful. Our rangler, Erin, guided us to a secluded spot near the creek where she grilled the best tasting burgers for us. We spent some time looking at animal footprints and soaking in the amazing views before our return to the ranch. We had an amazing stay and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our family of six stayed one night here. We enjoyed our stay very much. The kids loved the game room (pingpong, air hockey, etc.). My daughter's favorite part was Maverick, the friendly dog who brought his toys to her for her to play with him. Our "cabin" was attached to the back of the main building, which was fine with us. There were two full beds in one room and two twin beds in another. The only problem was that the ceilings were pretty low and my husband and son are both over 6 feet tall, so they had to watch their heads or risk hitting them on the ceiling beams. Overall, really nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My family and I have stayed at Bill Cody ranch on many separate occasions. We enjoy it so much we keep going back year after year. The trails up the canyon are beautiful. Whether you hike up it or enjoy a two hour horseback ride it is breathtaking and totally worth doing. The owners and staff are nice and friendly and always make us feel welcome. S'mores around the campfire are always fun, and hikes up the mountain behind the lodge are fun and worth the view. It is a pleasure to stay here and I highly recommend it for families!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We thought we'd never find the place - its a long way out of Cody (26 miles)! I think I had misunderstood and expected to stay on a working ranch.

The cabins are very nicely appointed and comfortable. The chamber maids did a rather perfunctory job - we stayed 2 nights but the waste bins were never emptied.

We ate in the main lodge the first night (our package was 2 nights, 1 breakfast, 1 dinner, 1 trail ride). Be warned, there's no laundry - one of the reviews had implied there was, but its a reciprocal arrangement with a joint 3 miles down the road!

Dinner and breakfast were ok, nothing sparkling but there's not much else around unless you are going into town.

We did a 4 hour trail ride one day, which was great fun if quite hard for beginning riders! Jordan took us out, and handled our concerns and incompetencies very skilfully. We drove to the trailhead, then rode along the trail by the river and had lunch. At several points we saw deer. It was a very enjoyable day.

They have a cookout and campfire if the weather is kind but it was very drizzly when we were there (the trail ride was nearly cancelled and had to start late) so we didn't see that.

We also went into town for the Rodeo in Cody, which is well worth seeing. But wrap up warm - those metal seats strike cold!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bill Cody Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Cody Ranch

Address: 2604 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Cody Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest ranch located in the Shoshone National Forest between Cody, WY and the East Entrance of Yellowstone. Lodging, trail Rides, and dining available to guests and to the public. Est. 1925. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bill Cody Ranch Hotel Cody
Bill Cody Hotel
Bill Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Cody Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.