We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Cody Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bill Cody Ranch
Save
You added Bill Cody Ranch to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2604 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this place based on TripAdvisor reviews and were very pleased with our choice. Bill Cody Ranch is in a great location; halfway between Yellowstone east entrance and Cody (about 20+ miles each way). The surrounding areas are very hilly and the 'ranch' is somewhat hidden from the highway, which we liked. The cabins were all under big trees, there is no a/c, but the ranch provides fans. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms are on the small side (but hopefully you won't spend much time in it). Our extended family booked 4 cabins in all (in two 'buildings) adjacent to each other. Our niece and nephews booked trail rides during our stay, played games in the game room (although ping-pong balls were all broken) and played frisbee with Maverick, the owner's dog.

Room Tip: we stayed in cabin 10 and liked the location and had parking in front of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here last week for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. Our cabin was clean, larger than expected and very well maintained. We found the evening meals to be cooked very well. Simple and nothing fancy, steaks with a side, but good quality and cooked much better than the average meal we ate in the US.
The 4 hour horse ride was much more adventurous than we expected, and great fun even though I am very much a novice rider. Although my partner with more experience was a little nervous.I cant remember the name of our wrangler but she was very friendly and helpful.
It was lovely in the evening to have drinks by the fire outside and chat to other guests.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great hospitality, great steaks. The porch on the cabin looking out to the brook just screamed, "Go get a beer and relax!" What a nice way to end our tour through Yellowstone. The riding was cool and I really love the rocky surroundings in the Wapiti area!

Room Tip: We were there August 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a great experience.
Really nice people!
Great location!
Great food!
I mailed before my arrival for a bottle of champagne to celebrate our wedding.
And the champagne was in the room with two glasses and some candies. It was just great.
Dinner, a steak Sirlion, was really amazing.
The staff was very friendly and also our ranger Laynee who did horseback riding with us in the morning.
Unfortunally we stayed for just one night. We wanted to stay longer, but we had to move on with our roadtrip.
The room was also very clean and very nice. And also bigger then we expected!
In one word Bill Cody Ranch: Amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The ranch offers either a daily package or just a room for the day. We did the package for one day and a room the next day.
The package includes a four hour horseback ride, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our group comprised of two couples. My husband and myself absolutely loved the ride and the other couple found it to be too adventurous for them.
For the package anything off the menu could be ordered for breakfast or dinner. We all had the ribeye steak and the potato trio. The food was good and we all enjoyed it. The package is a good value if you want to go horseback riding.
The ranch is about 30 minutes from Cody and 30 minutes from the grand Tetons.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We wished we had more energy to enjoy the evening campfire with s'mores and the game room.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it. Laney was our guide on the horseback ride and she was wonderful.


  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was the best holiday experience my wife and I have had since we scuba dived on the Great Barrier Reef - that's how good it was. Neither my wife or I (both +60s) had been on horses before so it was with some trepidation that we booked our 4 days at the ranch from Scotland including a 4 hour ride.

From the great welcome when we arrived to our sad farewells to the lovely staff and wranglers this was really a never to be forgotten experience. The ranch is beutifully secluded among trees but a short walk behind our cabin revealed the stunning Wyoming scenery. Our cabin was well appointed with a balcony to sit on and enjoy the afternoon sun. We had all our breakfasts at the ranch and several dinners, all were great and fairly priced. Sally, Emily and the other girls who served the meals (all horse enthusiasts) could not have been nicer.

The trail ride was the highlight. Jake our wrangler was the perfect guide and teacher...his "trust the horse" advice will stay with us for a long time, and indeed we could. The trail was steep during our 2 hour climb up the mountain but after a few minutes our confidence grew and we could sit back and "enjoy the ride" on our sure footed horses. A picnic lunch at the top and then the rollercoast ride down the mountain. A great experience!!

A lovely place to stay, wonderful staff and the opportunity to experience horse riding in such a fantastic location.

If you visit this area of Wyoming I would highly recommend a stay at the Bill Cody Ranch with some trailriding.

Room Tip: We used the Ranch as a base to visit Yellowstone National Park. The East gate of Yellowstone is abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, August 25-26th, 2012. It is a wonderful place. Our room was clean, beautifully furnished and spacious. We had Cabin Buckaroo B. There is a king size bed that was very comfortable. Will return to visit and stay here again. We did not eat here as had other reservations in Cody. Food always smelled good when they were cooking. Owners were very nice. S'mores by the fire each evening was a great way to end the day. Thanks for such a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bill Cody Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Cody Ranch

Address: 2604 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Cody Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest ranch located in the Shoshone National Forest between Cody, WY and the East Entrance of Yellowstone. Lodging, trail Rides, and dining available to guests and to the public. Est. 1925. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bill Cody Ranch Hotel Cody
Bill Cody Hotel
Bill Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Cody Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.