We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not even as a last resort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Goff Creek Lodge Resort

Goff Creek Lodge Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goff Creek Lodge Resort
Save
You added Goff Creek Lodge Resort to your Saves list
995 E Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Cody
maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not even as a last resort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

do not stay here, no house keeping " we don't make beds", insects, dogs in kitchen, no batteries in smoke detectors, spiders, are just a few of the issues to deal with and you will not be refunded if you leave. this place should be shut down for any number of reasons.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
denver colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

It is not a vary good place to stay!! They don't clean under the beds. My granddaughter was under one bed playing with her brothers and came out so filthy that she had to change clothes. Although the management knew of a door that had no door knob, they just put a rag in it rather than put in a door knob. Kids from the other room would take out the rag & Look into our room.
It was very expensive for what we got!! The food was not worth the price and the complementary breakfast that was promised was not available as my wife had been told that it was. Not good at all for the hadicapped. The place sits on a hill and you can't park your vehicle close.
I CERTAINLY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND STAYING AT THIS PLACE!!!!. THE LEAST EXPENSIVE PLACE IN CODY WOULD BE BETTER THAN THIS PLACE EVEN THOUGH IT IS A FEW MILES FARTHER FROM YELLOWSTONE PARK.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cave creek, az
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The cabin we stayed in was cute and rustic, which is what we expected, but very pricey for what we got. The dinner was so bad it was laughable. I got a NY strip which was tiny and overcooked for $17.50, a "scoop" of mashed pototes and a few green beans. My 11 year old son got a hot dog with beans for $10.50, and my wife wanted a sald, which she got a hand full of ice berg lettuce for $4. There was no place else to go for food, or we would have walked.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Do not stay here under any circumstances! We were ripped off bad. They charged our credit card for a 4 person horse ride and we didn't authorize it and paid cash for the horse ride too. They used our authorization where we rented the cabin to add on the fees. When we checked out we told them, they said they would correct it. Not to worry. They didn't. When we got home and credit card came upwards over 200.00 extra on it. Besides the cash we handed over. We tried in vain to get it refunded. Dad is a WWII Vet. They charged a broken coffee cup to him and said it was on them and then guess what our credit card was the answer. Bathroom stayed stopped up most of the time. Cabin was dank, dirty. I have stayed lots of places, from Key West to the East and West and I think this is the worst experience I have ever had staying in a lodge. I felt like they were rude, disrespectful over their mistake and took advantage of the fact we paid them cash for our horse ride. Save yourself the hassle and stay somewhere that is clean and efficient and you know it is top notch. Nothing ruins a vacation like coming home to find your credit card had been charged with unauthorized charges by them that we had paid cash. That is very convenient when someone is 1,000 miles + away. Don't stay here and if you think I exaggerate then be sure and read the other reviews carefully. In my opinion they should not be allowed to advertise like they do and the chamber of commerce should not support them.

Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

The cabins are charming, well decorated and located on a significant hill, However, the insulation in these cabins is, well, non existent. The tempurature fluxuations are extreme, but there are ample blankets on the beds to ward off the morning chill.
The food at the lodge is what you would expect from a family owned, jack of all trades owner. It was hearty but way over priced for the quality. The chuck wagon dinner was authentically charred, but nothing special. Breakfast and sack lunches were not a particularly good value.
We would stay there again, but eat at Pahaska which is 5 minutes down the road.

  • Liked — Cabins
  • Disliked — Restuarant quality vs pricing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I read the other reviews and was concerned about Goff Creek lodge which I had booked for 3 days in July (14-16) to be used as a base to visit Yellowstone. I found the cabin to be as described, clean and well appointed, the breakfast which we ate every day was very good and priced well. Tammy and Sven were always willing to help make our stay enjoyable. The chock wagon dinner was fun and the food good. The location 6 miles out of the west gate is great. We booked a horseride ( 4 of us) and it was well worth it and the ride beautiful. The property sits in a beautiful valley with a gorgeous stream across the street for fishing.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Before staying at Goff Creek, I spoke with the owner to ensure that we would be able to enjoy the Chuckwagon Dinner. He checked the date of our visit and assured me we would.

We left Yellowstone early in order to make it to Goff Creek in time for the Chuckwagon Dinner. The place was quiet and we were told that there would be no Chuckwagon Dinner and the kitchen was closed for the day for a planned staff outing. The few staff left behind did open the kitchen and we had a nice, although overpriced, meal.

The cabin was cute and rustic, though not very clean. It lacked the promised coffee maker and the refrigerator had dried milk all over the shelf. There were few towels and getting more was a challenge. The roll-away and fold-out beds were smelly and it took four hours plus three requests to get the roll-away. The bed linens were very worn. I am not a prissy person, but this just wasn't up to the standard I would expect for the price.

There are several other resorts in the area that are similar. I would check them out rather than stay at Goff Creek again.

  • Liked — It was close to Yellowstone
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness and promised ammenities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goff Creek Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goff Creek Lodge Resort

Address: 995 E Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Goff Creek Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goff Creek Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.