We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Head Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant Head Lodge
1170 Yellowstone Hwy, 1170 North Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 20 Cody B&B and Inns
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Drive up the driveway to secluded cabins and a lodge....The owners are so nice and will make you feel right at home.....Located 11 miles east of Yellowstone National Park...We went the last day to enjoy dinner....The scenic drive was wonderful....Horseback riding and fishing is available...Check it out; you won't be disapointed....

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the cabins; just went to dinner at the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
37
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August, 2 kids, 6 and 8 and two adults. I would definitely stay here again
The Cabin:
We stayed in 13 Conestoga. The kids used the loft as a play area which they loved. The queen bed was just below. We didn't let them sleep up there. There was a pull out sofa bed where the kids slept. As with all pull outs, wouldn't recommend adults on it due to the bar that is always across a pull out, maybe a small adult. There was a cute full kitchen, stove, fridge, microwave with a good size dining table, plates, pans, utensils. The storage for clothes was kind of small so we left our clothes in the luggage. I read one or two reviews before I booked here about really sad looking rooms, but they were not that at all. They must have remodeled since those reviews. Everything was very clean and nice. It was warm in the day, but we weren't really in the cabin in the daytime too much and at night, it cooled down nicely.

The Food:
Had a really great petite filet and was amazed at how juicy and tender and delicious it was. I would definitely stop there again just to eat. All the vegetables were really fresh and good. You could buy a sack lunch to take into the park with you, which is a really good idea, because sometimes the lines in the park were awful. The breakfasts were large generous portions. The baked goods are sooo good and from scratch. Everything to eat was always good, never had one bad thing. The staff really takes pride in their food.
In Cody, Bubbas was a good place for BBQ.

The Horses:
We took a one hour river trail ride which was perfect for the kids. They had helmets for the kids and led the two kids, just in case. They really know their horses and safety was first and foremost in their minds. I really appreciated this.

The Location:
About 10-12 miles from the east entrance of Yellowstone. About 30 miles from Cody which is good for going to the night rodeo in the summer and to the Cody Wyoming Trout Ranch (small stocked pond for kids to fish). Also went into Cody for Wyoming River Trips rafting. We picked a safe trip in August with a little bit of rapids. On the day we checked out, we drove through the top loop of the park and into West Yellowstone for an overnight and then on to the Tetons and then Salt Lake.

Other Amenities:
There is no WiFi or cell service at this place, which was fine with us. We actually didn't really get cell service in most of Yellowstone. There is a PC in the lobby that you can use and a dial telephone you can use for free for US calls. There are board games and a cute living area with fireplace and a bar in the lobby. There is an ice machine you can use for free as well. There is some lovely artwork in the restaurant for sale. You can get to the Shoshone River by walking under the highway, it's very cold water even in August. Small swing set for kids.
The staff was really nice and helpful and relaxed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed two nights at the EHL for our recent trip to Yellowstone. When we arrived, Jason, the young man helping the owners, was pleasant and showed us around the property and where to park our car. Our cabin, Lobo, was pretty small, but adequate. We knew we'd only be sleeping there so we really didn't need a lot of room. I thought we would have wifi in the lobby (I thought I had read that) but the only thing available was the use of their laptop which was fine for checking email. There was no cell service but just up the road towards Cody we were able to use our cell and also access the internet via iphones.

One thing we did love was their restaurant. We had a fantastic dinner the first night and ordered cinnamon rolls for the next morning as we were leaving before the dining room was open. They had them ready to go as scheduled. And they were the biggest cinnamon rolls I've ever seen. Loved the orange cranberry. We couldn't even finish them and could have split one! We also had breakfast in the dining room the next morning. Forgot her name, but loved the waitress (she was from SLC).

They also have a huge lobby/sitting area with a nice bar. Did enjoy a beer from a local brewery.

We also met Ray, who is a photographer and also helps them out at the lodge. He gave us some tips on where to go to possibly see local animals. He was a really nice man.

My only minor complaint would be whoever is doing the housekeeping needs a refresher course. Nothing was dusted and on returning in the early evening from our day out to the park, the only thing was cleaned in the room was making the bed. The coffee pot never tended too, trash still in the containers, etc.

And, I did enjoy the owner, Debbie (her husband was out of town). We sat in their bar, had a beer and nice conversations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have travelled widely and this is the first time that we have felt the need to review our experience on Trip Advisor. Our large cabin was certainly rustic, adequately fitted out but shabby and not cleaned properly. But we found the owner sullen, unhelpful and unwelcoming. She had assured us on booking that there would be no problem with us using wifi. In the event this was only available on the hotel computer and she refused us direct wifi access even for payment. She had also claimed that there was a phone for guests' use as there is no cell coverage but her phone was an old-fashioned finger dial phone and therefore we could not use it for any number needing push-button response so that we could not even call Yellowstone to make reservations. She had a push button phone which she refused us. She was most unpleasant. Her staff tried a bit harder, but we would recommend staying inside the park, and at any rate, not here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to discover Yellowstone park and stopped the first night at Elephant Head. We discover it by TripAdvisor and we were positively impressed. Good cabins for families, friendly owners and good food for dinner.
Nearby there is a river for fishing or horses to rent. Good stop for a half day before Yellowstone park.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our group of 13 stayed in 2 cabins for four nights. The cabins were clean, comfortable and had everything you needed. Loved that we didn't have TVs and internet access right in the cabin. The full service restaurant was available for breakfast and dinner. We appreciated having delicious dinners there after a long busy day touring the area and Yellowstone National Park. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The cabins have different varieties of sleeping arrangements. The owner can help you decide what wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This was supposed to be our "splurge" of our two week road trip but was less than pleasing. I decided to not stay in the park because reviews talked about mustiness and bare basics for outrageous prices. We got one of the biggest cabins but I still felt clausterphobic. My daughter's slight cough turned into an all-night coughing fit that lasted until we left for the day. My husband's asthma got worse. Even though the lodge is 8 miles from the park, it took 45 minutes to get into the center of Yellowstone and even longer at night. The best thing was the playground right outside our window. The kids could play while we packed for the day. Next time we'll look more into hotels in the park.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant Head Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Head Lodge

Also Known As:
Elephant Head Hotel Cody
Elephant Head Hotel
Address: 1170 Yellowstone Hwy, 1170 North Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Head Lodge is a small AAA log-cabin mountain resort located just 11.7 miles East of Yellowstone National Park and 40 miles west of Cody, WY. The lodge and most of our cabins are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It gets its name from a rock formation overlooking it. The Lodge, Restaurant, and the "Trapper" cabin were built in 1910 by Buffalo Bill Cody's niece, Josephine Thurston, and her husband Harry W. Thurston. Harry chose the site for its dependable water for early travelers to Yellowstone - and for trappers and Indians. Our small lodge is a wonderful base for touring the Yellowstone National Park, Cody, and the Shoshone National Forest. It is a great place for horseback riding, relaxing, fishing, hiking, and viewing wildlife, as well as good homecooked meals, with homemade bread, soups, and desserts, as well as famous homemade cinnamon rolls. Cabin rates vary depending on size (house 2-8 people per cabin)& accommodations (some with kitchenettes). High season rates Memorial-Labor Day $153-356/night. Low season rates May & September until early October $137-320/night. All with bath(s) & non-smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Head Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elephant Head Lodge to your Saves list