We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic needs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wigwam Motel

Wigwam Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wigwam Motel to your Saves list
Wigwam Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1701 Alger Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Loose Creek
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Basic needs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you need a bed, toilet and shower but no other amenities this is the place to stay. It was clean but the bathroom floor needed a little work and the walls are kind of thin. I was satisfied because it was the cheapest Motel in Cody. I got what I paid for!

Room Tip: Our room was on the outside of the hotel and we had an extremely hard time getting in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Happy Jack
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family and I traveled to Cody for a little getaway and stayed at the Wigwam motel. At first we were alittle apprehensive about staying here but, our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the lady at the front desk was super nice. The rooms are nothing fancy but you have a microwave, refrigerator, and big flat screen TV. This turned out to be a great stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pictures and reviews can be deceiving. Not sure how this place got any positive reviews. When walked in seemed OK, but looking further there were cob webs, stains on bed sheets, sticky substances on several surfaces, hairs everywhere, a funny smell, and everything barely functioned. Microwave and refrigerator seriously malfunctioning. The worst part was discovering beg bugs on 1st morning in the bed. This has never happened to me before. Secured everything possible and got out. Tried to call management, no answer. Left a note and wanted to check out early. Upon return from Yellowstone in evening no response from management, just a charge back for one night out of four charged, but owed for two nights. Tried several more calls no answer. Left in disgust, throwing my suitcase in dumpster (as recommended by experts) and trash bagging all my items. Upon getting home hotel management left a message they were not responsible or aware of bed bugs. I confirmed the bed bugs from pictures taken of them. My travel stuff is quarantined indefinitely. Tried to call hotel, someone drunk or heavily impaired answered and stated the owner was away and no one could help me. What? So far no credit has appeared from hotel. This place gives me the creeps, just thinking about it. Never again!!!

Room Tip: Avoid or regret later
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent one night at the Wigwam Motel in Cody, and we were quite pleased with the overall quality of the motel. The rooms are good sized and very clean. For the price, it was an excellent value, with several unexpected amenities: small refrigerator, microwave, and free wifi. The manager was very pleasant and friendly, and we were more than satisfied with the experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room as far from the main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Came in late and tired and Lucky to find a place under $120
Staff was nice and their dogs behind the desk were friendly and added a bit of ambiance to the office
The rooms were clean and comfortable but the price did
not fit the room or property value wise. I own a big pickup
And had to back out into the main street each time I needed to anywhere

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here to visit a relative. The website said there were donuts and coffee in the morning but the receptionist said that they stopped doing that a while ago. Rooms are small. Bed is good but bathroom fan, when light is on, is very noisy. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 1701 Alger Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wigwam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.