We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for our needs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Big Bear Motel to your Saves list
Big Bear Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adequate for our needs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Cody while spending 2 days in Yellowstone. For the price you can't beat it. The rooms were small but had 2 queen beds in them and we were also given a cot at no charge due to our teenagers not wanting to sleep in the same bed. It is not fancy but if your looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep while visiting the park, this is your place. We were also able to fill our cooler with ice for $1.75. The kids swam in the pool one evening and were happy. Complimentary coffee is served at 7:30 am, or you can go across the street to the restaurant. Our in wall air conditioner worked great although it was only 80 during the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Good clean review thanks for that Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    149
    87
    29
    23
See reviews for
131
138
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a great independent motel! We had comfy beds as well as a fridge and microwave. There is a little playground and a pool so my kids were thrilled. The decor is adorable and you can tell the owners take pride in their business. It was clean and everything worked. I would not hesitate to stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for the kind words come on back get some free pony/horse rides Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonganoxie, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I rented a couple of rooms. They were adequate for a less than twelve hour stay. Old? Sure. Threadbare linens? You bet.

The rooms have window units. One of them was newer and worked fine, one was at least twenty years old and froze up dripping water all over my wallet, phone, etc. I grabbed some towels and my wife went to the office. The gentleman was as helpful as he could be, telling me what I already knew, that it froze up and we needed to let it thaw. We did, the problem then became the bugs that showed up since we had to leave the door open. Finally got it to kick on, adjusted the temp up, and then about an hour after we fell asleep, I woke up to water splashing my face. Rinse and repeat. About three in the morning it happened again.

I used to own a small business, I know the juggling act of a shoestring budget. So, I wasn't all bent out of shape about it. It just moved the needle a little closer to Griswald level vacation, and that is what I wanted. No doubt, when I am dead and gone, my kids will remember the night we were on the Yellowstone trip and dad had to keep messing with the air conditioner in the middle of the night.

Look, if you are driving through and just need to sleep, give this place your business. Don't expect a mint on the pillow or terry cloth robes. It's better than it looks from the road, but it isn't going to win any awards. Some reviewers need to remember that this is an independently owned business, and that in and of itself is pretty rare in our current economy. Help out a local family, or pay the corporate beast... I'd rather my money went to small businesses.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for your response. You are right the kids won't forget a Griswald vacation! lol Thanks for looking at the bright side :) We did replace the air conditioner.... And hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morenci, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is fair price for the area.the rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool was nice. There is laundry on site. Several good places to eat very close by.50 miles from Yellowstone, and buffalo bill museum is just up the road.

Room Tip: We had the end first floor room and you could hear people going up the outside steps,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thats right walk to rodeo from our place just a stroll down the side walk glad you had a blast Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

So the good: they had availability and the reception people are really nice. Hot water is always available, which is nice when everyone has to shower.

And the bad: the beds are really, really uncomfortable, and the pillows are about an inch thick, if that. Towels are very thin, and the soap is God-awful. Add to that a very noisy a/c (it needs some sort of repair).

Considering the rate you pay, I would expect better linens and pillows and definitely your typical shampoo/conditioner and soap bottles--the ones with at least average product inside. I'm not kidding, that soap could decrease an entire engine.

These things are not major costs. And, like I said, considering the rate, they should already be in place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Wheres the good I was waiting and after reading was disappointed in not seeing any good but thanks for the review I guess Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level Contributor
197 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Huge rooms, nice bath. Good beds. So-so TV, no coffee except in the morning, slow wi-fi and no breakfast. We were here for the Stampede and would like to avoid parking hassle and walk to the arene. That was a mistake. Plenty of free parking at the rodeo, and officials to guide. This motel is a bit outside of the town. There are lots of places with a cheaper price and better location, even for the stampede.

Average place at a price, far beyond reason. Way to expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
You better check rates in Cody before you put us under the bus, Stampede tix for the July 1,2,3,4 do sell out make sure purchased in advance. do alittle homework and we'll see ya again thanks Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed one night at the Big Bear Motel in Cody. The man working the registration desk was pleasant and welcoming. When we arrived, there was a man playing a guitar, singing, and telling stories. It was fun to hear the music and have live entertainment like that at night. The motel room was clean and had the necessities that we needed. The one drawback of the place was the parking lot which was one big mud puddle. Overall, it was a decent place to stay with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the review, and we will work harder to fix up the parking lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#5 of 25 in Cody
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.2 mi away
A Wyoming Inn
A Wyoming Inn
#17 of 25 in Cody
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 59 rooms on property along with 5 Vacation rentals located throughout Cody. We are just walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo just a 5 minute walk away. The Old Trail Town just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Historical Center, located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were just completely renovated with multiple bed setups including our Handicap King and Regular King and our 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings and our Single Queens that are very spacious, along with our regular 2 bed and Handicap 2 Beds. Each of our rooms do have full cable, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.