We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bear" bones motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Motel

Save Saved
You added Big Bear Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Big Bear Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Cody
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Bear" bones motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great place and clean but very basic. Out of town enough to be quiet and never heard anyone above or next door to our room. You will need to ask at the front desk for a blow dryer, as they aren't a standard in the rooms. Also the sheets are worn and didn't fit the mattress well but they were clean and fresh. Wifi was weak so I stuck to my own Verizon connection. For a night or two, this is worth every penny but don't expect much in amenities. FYI, the best breakfast in Cody is across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    110
    61
    22
    15
See reviews for
91
107
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great price compared to other places in Cody. The room was outdated but was very clean. A great location for visiting Yellowstone & going to the rodeo in Cody. It's also across the street from a very yummy steakhouse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Big Bear if very accommodating and has made us feel very welcome. Jody and her husband do a great job of keeping the place clean, open, and friendly. Love the western log feel in the rooms and the open feeling of the rooms opening into a community court yard. Always very accommodating to myself and family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great family run and operated motel. You save a good bit of money staying here versus other places in town. The owner was very warm and friendly when we checked in. The buildings are a little old but very well kept. This is a great, simple place to stay! Make sure you visit the horses around back if the motel if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Huge rooms and very nice front desk staff, all family I believe. Jody is an owner and is super nice and gave us a great rate. Make sure you walk behind the hotel to the stables and greet the horses and go even further to the edge of the cliff and check out the fantastic view of the river. I would recommend this hotel highly!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two small children- It is just a basic room- no fridge or microwave- but the beds were really comfortable. We stayed on the top floor and had a great view of the sunset. The playground was fun- we never made it to the pool. Great location- just on the western edge of town so really easy to get to Wal-Mart then head to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: If you dont want noise from your neighbors- i would pick the upper floor or one of the units that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Lake, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, rooms were clean and big. We stayed in both the sections of the hotel and would recommend both. Pool was awesome and perfect on a hot day. They also have a small playground. They have a laundry area for a reasonable fee $4 a load including soap. Owners were very nice and friendly. We will be back next time through!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Hotel
Big Bear Cody
Address: 139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 59 rooms on property along with 5 Vacation rentals located throughout Cody. We are just walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo just a 5 minute walk away. The Old Trail Town just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Historical Center, located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were just completely renovated with multiple bed setups including our Handicap King and Regular King and our 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings and our Single Queens that are very spacious, along with our regular 2 bed and Handicap 2 Beds. Each of our rooms do have full cable, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.