We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Motel

Save Saved
You added Big Bear Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Cody
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great price compared to other places in Cody. The room was outdated but was very clean. A great location for visiting Yellowstone & going to the rodeo in Cody. It's also across the street from a very yummy steakhouse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Great Place it states I have to state GREAT GUESTS can you only imagine housing 26000 people in a short season with just the nicest things go along with them. Come see Yellowstone Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    114
    70
    22
    17
See reviews for
100
114
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Big Bear if very accommodating and has made us feel very welcome. Jody and her husband do a great job of keeping the place clean, open, and friendly. Love the western log feel in the rooms and the open feeling of the rooms opening into a community court yard. Always very accommodating to myself and family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the nice words we look to make every ones trip as nice as possible make sure you check out the Rodeo and Old Trail town Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great family run and operated motel. You save a good bit of money staying here versus other places in town. The owner was very warm and friendly when we checked in. The buildings are a little old but very well kept. This is a great, simple place to stay! Make sure you visit the horses around back if the motel if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Our goal is to make our place there favorite from the location to pool or the horse on the gold cart just ask for a free ride Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Huge rooms and very nice front desk staff, all family I believe. Jody is an owner and is super nice and gave us a great rate. Make sure you walk behind the hotel to the stables and greet the horses and go even further to the edge of the cliff and check out the fantastic view of the river. I would recommend this hotel highly!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We just love our location as do many guests. This one of the main reasons for our purchase of this great spot not down town but in the city limits and walk to rodeo/dinner Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two small children- It is just a basic room- no fridge or microwave- but the beds were really comfortable. We stayed on the top floor and had a great view of the sunset. The playground was fun- we never made it to the pool. Great location- just on the western edge of town so really easy to get to Wal-Mart then head to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: If you dont want noise from your neighbors- i would pick the upper floor or one of the units that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Fun little place couldn't agree more swing set big pool horses and mention this and get a free ride with a horse on a gold cart WOW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Lake, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, rooms were clean and big. We stayed in both the sections of the hotel and would recommend both. Pool was awesome and perfect on a hot day. They also have a small playground. They have a laundry area for a reasonable fee $4 a load including soap. Owners were very nice and friendly. We will be back next time through!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
There are several things that make up a great motel/stay just the feel once you step on to our place I feel welcome and home as do our travelers, the guests are to thank for a large part of this as many visit the horses and enjoy them as well thanks Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I have never rated anything 5* until today. This is the greatest family experience of all stays anywhere. NOTE: This will not be the same for everyone. It is not a hotel like any other. This is a place that you become part of the family that owns and operates the hotel. That said, you have to help your self, unload your bags "no bag boy". That said, if you really want to emerse yourself into the environment of Cody WY, this is the only place to stay. I hate to leave... I just want to become another part of this family and stay forever.
Y'all please save me a room when I call to book. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Awesome like our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 59 rooms on property along with 5 Vacation rentals located throughout Cody. We are just walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo just a 5 minute walk away. The Old Trail Town just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Historical Center, located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were just completely renovated with multiple bed setups including our Handicap King and Regular King and our 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings and our Single Queens that are very spacious, along with our regular 2 bed and Handicap 2 Beds. Each of our rooms do have full cable, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.