We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Clean Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Big Bear Motel to your Saves list
Big Bear Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Clean Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Big Bear Motel has a definite feel of the old west. The room we were assigned was recently updated. We liked the cleanliness of our room, plenty of hot water, refrigerator, microwave, television and wifi. Wifi connections are provided, but are a bit sketchy. We like to have a strong signal for uploading photos and material to our 2 Moving the Chi web site, so we sacrificed a strong signal for a good night's rest in a comfortable room for a reasonable price.

Breakfast is not included, but I believe they offer coffee in the lobby (not a coffee drinker). We were told the Our Place restaurant across the street was the place for breakfast. We didn't try it, but the parking area was alway full.

This a motel with outdoor entrances to your room and has a dirt versus a paved parking area. Like I said to begin with, a feel of the old west. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Well I hope we are living up to what we are trying to do as clean friendly is what we are all about thanks Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    128
    76
    25
    22
See reviews for
112
121
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, seemed new or recently remodeled, excellent location. Decoration of the rooms could be better to achieve the lodge look they seem to want (must change or eliminate the bedspreads and the parrot pictures). We could walk to the rodeo. they have a show every night in Cody . Can't complain for $99,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the nice review we always enjoy our guests from walks of life Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were driving out of Yellowstone (east entrance) and it was getting late. I found Big Bear on Trip Adviser and saw the good reviews, plus it is pet friendly! After ringing the doorbell (it was 11:30 pm) the manager promptly checked us in. We got a great rate. This motor court style motel reminded me of my childhood. Big u shaped lot with rooms where you pull your car right in front of your door. Large pool in the middle with a big bear statue in front. If you want a fancy place to stay go somewhere else. But if you want charming, quiet, clean, friendly and a good value, stay here! Let's keep the mom and pop owned properties in business!!!

Room Tip: We arrived too late to eat anywhere. The owner suggested going to Wal Mart, which is right down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Well this is alittle to nice but we can get used to it Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Gentleman that checked us in was very helpful. Suggested the cafe across other road for breakfast. Good suggestion. Bed was comfy. Room was spotless. We travel well prepared, so for the stuck up people that think a hotel is there to provide Everything for them, please take a hairdryer. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Nice play area for the kids. Nice pool area. Good experience!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We love this place as well Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would advise spending a little extra money and staying at a different facility. I am so glad I only had to spend one night in this place. The room was just not that good. The work space was depressing, you can see right through the towels and wash cloths, the hot water temperature was set to "Scald" and the parking lot was a pothole maze. I will not be back at the Big Bear again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Front Office Manager at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our motel, we appreciate every review, for it shows how we can improve. Our motel is a 2 star motel and some of our rooms are older and are maintained to the best shape we can keep them in. Our parking lot has been a mess of potholes lately, because it has been raining for the last few weeks and filling them in is a losing battle because our lot is gravel and dirt. The situation with that is guaranteed to improve soon when the rain stops. We also just ordered new towels and wash cloths and those are being circulated through our rooms. We apologize for these inconveniences as they are decrepit to our guests' stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hodges
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After shopping around and staying in a different motel the first night, we found this one! Good, clean and good internet. Great price and we stayed 2 nights. Nice (real) towels, and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: room behind office, just remolded.sky light and very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Yes we do have cabin style rooms in a big u shaped area with the biggest pool in Cody Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscadine, Alabama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here while visiting Cody and we fell into a great deal here. The hotel is not the Hilton but the Hilton don't offer the down home customer service small western town experience that this place offers. We are from the east coast and you could never find a true American owned place like this. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable the earlier post about beds sounds like an out of shape person that needs a fancy bed. The mattresses are brand new and they are high quality. This place has a rustic western feel. We sat on the front porch in the evening and watched the sun go down. We had a wonderful family bonding experience here. We will continue to come here several times a year. The owners of this place just got a frequent loyal customer. It is walking distance to the Rodeo which starts up in June and is a must do also. Stay here eat breakfast and lunch at Granny's restaurant and go grab a beer and a hamburger at the silver dollar and you will be one happy Cody visitor.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
I guess we should just bow for this one but I won't get a big head over it Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 59 rooms on property along with 5 Vacation rentals located throughout Cody. We are just walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo just a 5 minute walk away. The Old Trail Town just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Historical Center, located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were just completely renovated with multiple bed setups including our Handicap King and Regular King and our 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings and our Single Queens that are very spacious, along with our regular 2 bed and Handicap 2 Beds. Each of our rooms do have full cable, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.