We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopping place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Big Bear Motel to your Saves list
Big Bear Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Cody
MISSOURI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good stopping place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way to the Yellowstone National Park and needed to stop to sleep. We drove for 8 hours and ready for some rest. We stopped at this hotel because it was affordable for $49/night. We got a king bed and it was ok. It wasn't super comfy but since we were tired, we couldn't really tell and we still got some good rest. The bathroom was clean but the towels were really thin. Out in the parking lot was a foul smell. We believed it was the nearby river/lake turning but it smelled like sewer. The smell never left. It was there when we checked in and was there when we checked out the following morning. Overall, we still had a nice stay and it served the purpose for a place to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Stop here, look in a room we have so many different types we love to show them off Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    128
    75
    25
    22
See reviews for
112
121
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenpoint
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved this motel the owners and the location was excellent. Great value and pool if you want to relax. We walked to the rodeo and cassies only a few minutes walk. We walked down town but for some it could be a long walk 3 miles (we noticed not too many people walk in the USA). Lovely large room with big bed and fridge in room, great air con, large flatscreen tv. Would recommend to stay here, we spent 3 nights and loved every minute of it.
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for large bed with fridge in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
What a nice review thanks for the time Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got a cabin in the newly renevated area on the end which was excellent - great size bedroom with flatscreen TV and large bed. We asked for a fridge and got this in the room, no problem - separate hall and bathroom.
The area is an excellent place to stay in Cody if you want to experience the rodeo and the old western saloon - Cassies which is just across the road and excellent for food. There is a breakfast cafe straight across the road with great menu and coffee for 25c!
Great owners in this motel and they house horses for the rodeo and we saw a few cowboys there too that were in the rodeo the night before.
We would recommend you to stay here, we spent 3 nights which was the longest stay of our 3 week journey. Great pool outside if you just want to relax. We walked to the nite rodeo and to Cassies only a few minutes. We walked down town but this may be a long walk for some it was aprox 3 miles.

Room Tip: Ask for larger bed with a fridge in the room in the new end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Come to Cody see the rodeo eat the best steak you have ever had at Cassies and come back again the next year it happens all the time Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here based on Trip advisor reviews. If you are budget minded this is great, but don't write picky reviews and cut this family run hotel down. They give you a clean bed and bath. They are a very friendly family. We checked in September, so our rate was $65. I closed my eyes and slept good and left for Yellowstone the next morning. The pool looked nice, but too cool for us to enjoy. We asked for a microwave and coffee pot and both were graciously delivered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Well we think of our place as a great value for Cody as we only have a 100 day season thanks Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Cody can be quite expensive. This motel's room were quite reasonably priced in comparison. The rooms were nicely decorated western style and very clean. There were pegs for hanging clothes but not hangers, so you might want to bring a few of your own. If you are planning on visiting the Buffalo Bill Museum, it is just a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the 4 stars we are striving for 5 so watch out Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Needing a hotel/motel in Cody at late afternoon, our group those this one. Not fancy, no paved parking lot, but nice rooms. Good beds, a small TV, small table, with a nice view out our window; facing west. A nice view of the Shoshone River to the north and you can walk to it. Nice people running the motel, a little late in the morning for coffee as my brother-in-law needed his fix.
A little noisy, not bad, I've been in higher priced hotels that have been noiser!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
WOW thanks again for staying Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a room at Big Bear Motel and were more than impressed. Our room was bigger than we expected, very clean, and tastefully arranged. We had two beds, a television, a table for eating, and in a separate area a vanity with a sink and chair, and the bathroom, with a tub and shower. We were traveling out of Yellowstone National Park, and the location, price, and amenities it provided us were exactly what we were looking for. Plus, the management was extremely welcoming and nice! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Perfect place for the perfect guest see ya soon Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 59 rooms on property along with 5 Vacation rentals located throughout Cody. We are just walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo just a 5 minute walk away. The Old Trail Town just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Historical Center, located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were just completely renovated with multiple bed setups including our Handicap King and Regular King and our 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings and our Single Queens that are very spacious, along with our regular 2 bed and Handicap 2 Beds. Each of our rooms do have full cable, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.