We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museums as they should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Bill Center of the West

Buffalo Bill Center of the West
720 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414 (Formerly Buffalo Bill Historical Center)
+1 307-587-4771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Cody
Type: Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1927, the Buffalo Bill Center of the West, formerly known as the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, has been committed to the greatness and growth of the American West, keeping western experiences alive. The Center of the West, an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, weaves the varied threads of the western experience-history and myth, art and Native culture, firearms, and the nature and science of Yellowstone-into the rich panorama that is the American West. The Center of the West has been honored with numerous awards, including the prestigious 2012 National Tour Association's Award for "favorite museum for groups."
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Museums as they should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This museum is in fact 5 museums and all of them are worth a visit. When you buy a ticket it is valid for two days so it makes it ideal to go the afternoon on arriving in Cody and then the next morning

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,256
    162
    38
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
184 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Nice place to learn about history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice, big, clean, well-planned. Good insight to a famous part of American history. Liked the "real " cowboy outside with the beans and biscuits cooking demo.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved our visit to the Historical Center. We decided to go last minute due to bad weather interferring with our outdoor plans. I now glad that it was raining and our family got to tour this center. It was very educational and fun at the same time. All of our kids loved it, ages 16, 14, 10, & 7.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plan to spend the entire day there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

5 museums in one and you can't see it all in just one 2-hour session. Plan to stay the day at least so you can see the enormous collections of western art, western artifacts, Plains Indian collections, largest gun collection in the USA and lots and lots more. They have a wonderful gift shop also on premises and you can even grab a quick meal there. And, it's still growing........ watch for their expansions and new shows coming soon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very Informative Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a few hours at this museum, which is actually 5 museums in one. My favorite was the Buffalo Bill Museum. It detailed his life as a Buffalo Hunter, guide and showman. The firearm museum was very informative, it had about every American gun that has ever been available. Expect to spend 2-3 hours there. It was money well spent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Bill Center of the West also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Bill Center of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Bill Center of the West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.