We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cody Firearms Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody Firearms Museum

Cody Firearms Museum
Cody, WY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 attractions in Cody
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cody Firearms Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The firearms museum is part of 5 museums at the Buffalo Bill Cody Historical Center. Wow - I had no idea there were so many types of guns, rifles, fire arms, etc. A MUST see for those who enjoy firearms and the history surrounding them! The arrangement of guns by period was helpful to see the evolution. The manufacturers' area was also interesting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    13
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smithsonian Quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is an absolutely outstanding firearms display---end of story! One of the best museums I've ever been in, the atmosphere was fantastic. I would definitely go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for gun nuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A MUST see for those who enjoy guns! The arrangement of guns by period was interesting. I really enjoyed the manufacturers' section.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Guns! Love em!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are so many different guns here! OH MY! A gun lovers heaven! Made us want to go straight to the nearest store and shop! And so pretty! those pearl handled pepper box were one of our favorites!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring-brought a tear to my eye!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rooms dedicated to each of Winchester, Ruger, Browning, periods, antique gun manufacturing rooms, the original assemblies (some handwritten), every version of historic firearms, Buffalo Bill's original shooting gallery (the targets were so close to the rifles you could almost touch them, Annie Oakley's dress and guns. They let you sit on saddles free while your spouse takes picture- and the most beautiful saddle collection. They had the guns and holsters of famous gunslingers such as Wild Bill Hickok. Several Gatlins . And well educated staff ("It's pronouced GA ran not GaRAN...)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cody Firearms Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody Firearms Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cody Firearms Museum to your Saves list