We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Draper Museum of Natural History

Draper Museum of Natural History
720 Sheridan Avenue, Buffalo Bill Historical Center, Cody, WY 82414
307-587-4771
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 attractions in Cody
Type: Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Part of the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, this museum features highly interactive exhibits that highlight geology, wildlife and human presence in the Great Yellowstone region.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something different to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice exhibit. The example animals looked alive! What all natural museums should look like! Would like to visit again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Natural history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The lighting! The sounds! The presentation! This is an incredible museum. We could have spent the day here! It was our favorite! The problem with all 5 museums is that there is just to much to see! Plan on 2 days for this place! It deserves it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A must to see in Cody in the museum center. We thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful exhibit. Easy to get to but make sure you have a solid hour to spend there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“natural history museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great history collection for those of us who have been out of school for way more years than we would like to say. It was great to review some of the information we were taught in school. I had a great time reminiscing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very glad we made time for this museum during our visit to the Buffalo Bill Centre. The fee to get in to the Centre includes all 5 museums (Plains Indians, Buffalo Bill, Firearms, Art and this one).
The exhibits are really well done and interactive. Very few are behind glass, as you would see in many other museums, but are rather, out in the open which allows for much better viewing. Many are "do not touch" but others are labelled "please touch" which is a nice feature.
The displays include wildlife, the natural geography, history, wildlife and lands preservation and preshistoric exhibits.
There are buttons to press to hear a narrative, animals, etc., videos to watch and some activities. The kids loved the "passports" that were free and available at the beginning of the museum. Be sure to grab one each/kid because throughout the Draper museum there are stamps that can be used to complete the passport.
The architecture is really beautiful. The lighting is perfect for each section. There is a really breathtaking display/sculpture of a buffalo jump. I have to say, this is the most beautiful museum of natural history I've ever visited. Lots of great photo ops.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Draper Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Draper Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Draper Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Draper Museum of Natural History to your Saves list