We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best museums ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Draper Natural History Museum

Draper Natural History Museum
720 Sheridan Avenue, Buffalo Bill Center of the West, Cody, WY 82414
307-587-4771
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Cody
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, this museum features highly interactive exhibits that highlight geology, wildlife and human presence in the Great Yellowstone region.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best museums ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This museum is so well-organized and informative and has just enough interactive features that kids are kept involved throughout. You learn about the Yellowstone basin and kids can get "passports" stamped at various stations which keeps them engaged. Lots of exhibits say "please touch." I want to return, actually, without kids, there is so much to learn.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice museum. Kids will love it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very nice museum as part of the Buffalo Bill Museum. They have many inactive displays for the kids and if your lucky you might be able to see some special displays that are not part of the permanent displays.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Newest of the BBHC museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The exhibits are imaginative, informative, and enjoyable. What more could you want for a museum? One of the BBHC's 5 museums, the Draper is TOP quality as are the other 4. Take your time and you will need another day to even take in MOST of the Draper plus, plus, plus. The museum staff is enthusiastic and helpful, too.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Kids loved all the interactive buttons and carrying around the 'passport' to show they visited all the areas.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Must see!! Before going to Yellowstone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Be sure to visit this museum before your trip to Yellowstone!! We went after our visit to Yellowstone, and I sure wished I would have went before. There is so much information about Yellowstone and all of the different environments throughout the park - explained in pictures, video clips, animal mounts, realistic settings and several hands-on opportunities to feel skulls, horns, pelts and such. The sights and sounds (along with added scents in certain areas) keep kids constantly entertained, and I learned so much more and developed a deeper appreciation for such a majestic natural wonder. We were lucky enough to see a live raptor show at the museum, and that alone was worth the price of admission (especially for my 8-year old!)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Draper Natural History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Draper Natural History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Draper Natural History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.