We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised - Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Creek Lodge and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Moose Creek Lodge and Suites to your Saves list
Moose Creek Lodge and Suites
1015 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pleasantly Surprised - Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there 8/21 and 8/22/13 with husband. Can't believe the bad reviews. Our room was in excellent condition, very clean and super comfy bed, appeared to be fairly new. Paid $118/nite which didn't seem bad for Cody. Front desk girls super friendly and accommodating. We liked it so much we stayed 2 nites. Great location right downtown. Lots to do in Cody area. On a 3 week road trip staying at a different place every night throughout Montana and Wyoming, this was in the top five. The entire property - at least the one story area, the lobby and the grounds looked llke they take very good care of it. Would stay there again. Agree with the negative comments about the breakfast - not much to speak of, but most of the places we stayed at didn't have much to offer for breakfast. We stay away from big chain hotels when we're out west (Hampton, Holiday Inn, Best Western, etc.) because we enjoy the individualism of the independent properties. We were pleasantly surprised at this place - didn't know anything about it before arriving in Cody.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms located on the one story section which is towards the back and to the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    20
    13
    15
See reviews for
33
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Moose Creek Lodge was disappointing on our vacation. We were expecting a nice, clean hotel with breakfast. Well, we were wrong. The hotel you could tell was made for motorcyclist who were stopping in Cody. The pool was small and dark. You could only have 5 people comfortably in the pool at once. The breakfast wasen't really breakfast, it was donuts, toast, and coffee. The donuts and toast were stale and the coffee wasn't very exciting.
I would not reccomend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My son and I were in Cody, WY in mid-June for two nights. We had a special need with a dead Garmin backcountry GPS heading into the national parks. I had a replacement Garmin shipped to the Cody UPS Center but no laptop computer to apply firmware updates and copy data files. Christi Livingston came to our rescue by lending us her personal laptop PC so we could get our new Garmin running. We used that Garmin everyday for the rest of our cross-country trip, including hikes in sixteen national parks and backcountry camping in Yellowstone. A big hug to Christi for helping with our unusual request! Few hotel managers would have been so generous with their personal equipment. We now have a digital record of our hikes to look back on an amazing trip and for geotagging photos.

The hotel itself is very nice -- much better than some chain hotels we stayed at. Rooms are clean and comfortable with great showers, clean pool, and a wonderful downtown location: seven minutes walk to Buffalo Bill Center of the West, three minutes to the historic Irma Hotel. Price might be a bit high for some families but that's what the KOA campground is for. Overall, strongly recommended!

(Four stars for the restaurant is only because there is no inside restaurant -- not a problem given the number of restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troinex, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Chose this motel because of its proximity to the tourist center and museum. Arrived fairly early in the morning but obviously could not take possession of my room. Left my car in the lot, left my pc with the staff and off I went to the Museum (see another review of Museum which is definitely worth the detour). People running the motel were nice and very helpful in planning my arrival in Yellowstone. Had planned to enter through the east entrance, but they recommended the north entrance through Montana, taking the Chief Joseph highway. Good advice. Room was fine and perfectly adequate for one or two nights. Cannot recall if there was a "snack" breakfast, since I left very early. Coffee was available in office. I had bought scones the night before at Peter's Cafe and Bakery which is right next store. Motel was not cheap, but probably normal for this time of the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice Place, within walking distance of good eating, close to the Cody Museum, which should be on anyone's list of things to see. The town is full of Old West flavor and is fun to explore and visit the shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice clean place right in the middle of the action. Park and walk to experience downtown Cody. Plenty of eating , drinking and shopping options. A bit pricey but during tourist season it was not unexpected. Large rooms and a wonderful staff that cared about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean but way to expensive! For $140 a night I expect high end bathroom products, plush towels, and a home cooked continental breakfast.
The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are clean.
The breakfast is juice/coffee (no creamer/no milk), bread and donuts. That's it. Not to special. I would suggest slipping their free breakfast and instead eating at Bubbas Barbecue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moose Creek Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Lodge and Suites

Address: 1015 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location in downtown Cody Wyoming that is newly renovated and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and more. Two blocks from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center and one block from the Cody Gunslingers Shootout and Cody Trolley tours at the Irma Hotel. Includes free continental breakfast, indoor pool, cardio room, guest laundry and free wifi. Log structure reminiscent of the Yellowstone lodges in Yellowstone National Park. Very clean and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Moose Creek Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Hotel Cody
Econolodge Moose Creek
Econo Lodge Cody
Cody Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Creek Lodge and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;