We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 7D Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
7D Ranch
Save
You added 7D Ranch to your Saves list
Sunlight Basin, Box 100, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“An experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I can not thank the ranches managers, Meade and Andrea plus their amazing staff for provinding our family with the trip of a lifetime. It is a holiday which will always be in our memories. We all had such an amazing time, the service we got from the staff was outstanding, nothing was too much for you to do for us. The food which we were served 3 times a day by your staff was outstanding! The options we had when it came to activities was fantastic and personalized to our family at all times. After travelling all the way from the west of Australia you made us feel at home on the ranch THANKYOU!! I recommmend to all, riders, non riders, hikers, fishermen and especially families. My children were treated with such kindness and respect from all staff they want to return every year and according to my 8 yr old he is going to be a wrangler when he is 18!! Look out 7D William is coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

What an incredible week we spent with our three children, cousins, and grand parents in the Sunlight Basin. We are all walking around with huge smiles on our faces as we remind each other of the many and varied adventures that we had at 7D. Not only did we enjoy the incredible location of this guest ranch, but we loved all of the people who took such personal care of us during the week. From riding, to hiking, to biking, to fishing, to shooting, and swimming, there were activities for everyone to enjoy. The food was perfect. The evening activities were both fun and educational. My only sadness was how quickly the week passed by, as it was difficult to leave this hidden basin and get back to reality. A real gem!!!! Bravo to Meade and Andrea Dominick who put such amazing energy into running a spectacular ranch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Andrea and Meade Dominick get it exactly right by making the 7D experience an authentic and care free vacation. From start to finish, everything is thought out and attended to. The staff are knowledgable and friendly, and genuinely enjoy showing their guests around the Wyoming countryside. Equine safety is their highest priority, and horses are carefully selected for riders' abilities. Don't want to ride? No problem for 7D. In fact I think no request is too difficult for the 7D staff to accommodate. The food was fabulous too. Cabins are clean and comfy. They only take a small numbers of guests each week resulting in a friendly, uncrowded atmosphere and low guest-to-staff ratio. If you are looking for an authentic Western, comfortable, friendly, fun-filled time, entrust your vacation to Andrea, Meade and their staff. I couldn't be happier that we chose 7D.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for comfortable lodging, friendly staff, excellent food, the perfect horse, incredible hiking, unmatched panoramas, fun activities, an authentic experience led by two of the most committed owners then look no further. Andrea and Meade Dominick successfully continue the fine tradition established by the Dominick family back in1958. This is one vacation that touches your soul and one you will not forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Customer service at the 7D Ranch is customization at its best. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, our individual wishes were encouraged and granted. In a family of four, this is almost impossible to achieve. However, the staff did it brilliantly. My husband and I had talked about driving our two sons to Cody for the nightly rodeo during one of the more relaxed evenings. 7D staff heard that there was some interest and quickly arranged transportation for us. Given the number of switchbacks and sheer drop-offs along the route, we deeply appreciated being able to sit back and relax during the ride!

The cabin was rustic and very spacious for our needs. The food exceeded expectations, mixing country cooking with gourmet selections. Conversations always flowed easily among the guests with the family-style dining setup.

The scenery is magnificent; every trail ride, hike, and fishing spot reveals another facet of Wyoming's beauty. We can’t wait to bring other family members back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were looking for another dude ranch in Wyoming in a different area to add to the one we have visited many times near Laramie. Success! The ranch setting in the Sunlight Basin is superb and means that there is great scope for different horse rides right out of the corral. We were there for horse riding so it mattered to us that our horses were well chosen to suit our ability and that all the horses looked in excellent condition. We are an older couple so were also delighted that the children were 'contained' by dedicated children's wranglers and on the whole had a separate programme. Excellent imaginative food, good accommodation and very helpful staff and good weather - what more could we want? Certainly now on our list for another visit.

Room Tip: 2nd twin a longer walk as on the end but therefore next to the woods so quiet and more 'rural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The 7D Ranch gets it right in every way, starting with a focus on horse safety (most important for us, since we have 2 daughters). The staff is intelligent and connects with guests in a meaningful way, which translates to caring about us and making sure everyone has a wonderful time. We love the wide range of hikes, and we saw moose, elk, deer, badgers, eagles, and marmots. Meade and Andrea are superb individuals and terrific leaders. - Chris

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 7D Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7D Ranch

Address: Sunlight Basin, Box 100, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
7d Ranch Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7D Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.