We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Best Western? Who would believe it?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 8th St, Cody, WY 82414-4138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Central FL
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A Best Western? Who would believe it?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Best Western Premier Ivy rates all the accolades it’s gotten since it opened. A lovely hotel, with sitting areas on each floor overlooking an atrium and a nice lobby seating area with a stone fireplace. We were upgraded to a “larger” handicapped king (desk clerk said all kings were handicapped), our first BW upgrade ever (perhaps because we recently found they would match status with other hotel programs and were upgraded from Gold to Diamond level based on my husband’s Platinum Marriott status). More amazing is that we got an upgrade even though we weren’t paying for the room but booked it with a free night we earned on an April promotion. (We’re used to upgrades, even on unpaid rooms, with Marriott Platinum and Hilton Gold but as I said, it has never happened with BW.)

The room was large and well appointed and, obviously, very new and clean. They use proximity sensor key cards and the “do not disturb sign” is a switch that turns on a red light outside the door. There is a nice [non-smoking] balcony with chairs that might have been more useful if it hadn’t been 40 degrees and very windy. There is a large desk, granite tops on dresser and night stands, microwave and fridge, plenty of lighting (6 lamps, 6 overhead recessed floods), plenty of outlets (including on desk) and both Wi-Fi and wired Internet. The bedding, including mattress, was far superior to any we’ve had in a Best Western. I discovered a window behind the sofa as we were leaving – and I kind of hated to leave, wished this had been a multi-night stay. Checkout is at noon. The only odd touch was the wood mix of the furniture – some was “contemporary hotel style” in medium fruitwood (oak?) color but there was a rustic knotty pine bench and a wardrobe with funky rippled doors; large wood panels behind the bed and desk were pine also. Since we never saw a “regular-sized” room, we can’t comment on those.

The bathroom was extremely large, probably about 7 x 12, and the handicapped features mostly consist of lower light switches and many grab bars in the long roll-in shower. The only drawback is that the walls are painted dark brown and deep burgundy, making it very dark, and since the light switch is lower than you expect, you wind up groping around a bit the first few times you turn it on. While the lighting in the shower is bright, the lights over the sink/vanity are not so bright and applying makeup required the lighted makeup mirror on the black granite counter. The floor tiles resemble short wood planks and extend into the long entrance foyer that runs alongside the bathroom. The towels are very thick and big and the bathmat is the cotton shag rug type. Most roll-in showers soak the bathroom floor but very little water escaped this one; the shower ran along the 7 ft. wall with an outside wall about 3 ½ ft. long, leaving an opening of 3 ½ ft. The showerhead was behind the wall and there was no curtain. The only flaw was that the soap ledges were at the far end from the showerhead, requiring that you walk out of the spray to reach the soap and shampoo. It would have been much better to put them at the other end.

We usually avoid hotel restaurants but decided to try this one since it was so windy, and also we had decided to watch the Emmys on TV since we had recently been to NY and seen some of the nominated shows. When we checked in, the woman at the desk said the restaurant was open until 10, so at 9:30 we went downstairs. We were seated promptly along with two other parties, but when the hostess handed us the menus, they were the “late night” bar menus that said “10-11PM”. When we asked about this, she said that the late menu started at 9 on Sunday. My husband commented that he wished we had been told this when we checked in. A couple of minutes later the hostess returned with the full menus and said the kitchen had agreed to take orders from the dinner menu. Then she went to the next table and told them they could order from the dinner menu. So while they seem to be still a bit in shakedown mode, they couldn’t be more accommodating. My husband and I had the same thing, a pasta dish that was okay but not remarkable; however, I think we made bad choices because we almost never order pasta and definitely never order the same thing – we usually pick two things that both of us like and trade.

Everyone was very friendly, cordial, and helpful. We never checked out facilities like a pool, workout room, business office. The hotel does not include breakfast and we did not eat there, so we can’t provide any information about the food or prices.

The only other discordant feature was an alarmingly unattractive, huge, seated grizzly sculpture outside – predominantly purple and gold. It took me a minute to realize it was one of those town sculpture-painting fund-raiser things like the cows in Chicago and the salmon in Anchorage. Seeing a few others as we left town confirmed this.

Since Best Western began categorizing the hotels, we have stayed in all three categories and often been mystified about them. But this "Premier" hotel was definitely top of the line. The most impressive BW we have ever seen, by far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your amazing and detailed review of our hotel. We are glad that you found so many of our amenities the best you have ever had. It is also great to hear how our staff was all very helpful and friendly in the hotel and our restaurant. Our room decor is a more modern western design. There are a couple different wood choices in the rooms which gives them a more contemporary feeling. We try to upgrade our guests whenever it is possible and we have a room that we can upgrade them in to. We are happy that we were able to be your first upgrade. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future when you are in Cody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    61
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
148
153
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sterling heights MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a beautiful property, however we did have a few issues. we were on the very end of the 2nd floor and were getting noise from the pool area on the first floor,very annoying. Our deck still had roofing nails laying on it from construction which were never cleaned up.
The restaurant is very good and convienent but way over-priced for Cody.

Room Tip: do not take a room near the pool, the noise travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you stayed with us and enjoyed your room. We have went back through every room and made sure that there were no extra materials left in any of the rooms or on the balcony that may have been accidently over looked. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Cody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

A little expensive, but it's very close to Yellowstone. Beautiful rooms, very modern amenities, you can't go wrong if you don't mind the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your room. We are a Premier hotel and our rates are very comparable to other hotels in our area who also offer the same types of features and amenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent hotel. New. The lobby and rooms are very nice. My only complaint is that we stayed two days and sheets were not changed after first day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all comments to help us learn and train our staff members. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our family stayed at this non-smoking hotel in May for only one night. We arrived during a spring snow storm, and was very happy our room was still available. We used a free night certificate for this hotel and reserved a double queen room and was told it would be one with a balcony overlooking the mountains. However, we arrived later in the evening, so we got a room on the bottom floor, which was fine since we parked on the side of the building with a side entrance. We were happy we didn't have a long walk outside with the heavy snow coming down.

The room was next to the very nice fitness center and swimming pool facing Hwy 8. The hotel is centrally located and is only a little over a mile from a WalMart Supercenter on Yellowstone Ave, which is a great place to stock up on supplies if you are heading to the park.

The hotel is smoke free, which is great! Our room was very comfortable and nicely equipped with all of the necessary creature comforts for a wonderful stay. The beds were plush and we all slept well. The stone walk in shower is a very nice touch. There was a electronics port for all the techies and a flat screen television. There was also a Keurig coffee maker with a nice wetbar, a safe in the closet and iron/board. Please see my photos.

The staff were very nice at check-in and the lobby is really nice. The certificate number did not print on the internet certificate, so I had to call the customer service # to get the info. for the front desk workers. They were really nice about it.

Unfortunately, no free breakfast at this Best Western, so we ate breakfast at Granny's in town, where the pancakes were very good and biscuits huge. The prices were reasonable for a touristy town.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time we are in Cody. I wish all Best Western's were this nice. It would definitely be our number one choice in the future since we usually stay at Hampton Inn's or La Quinta's.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review and the many pictures that you provided. We love when our guests completely check over the room and comment on the amenities we have to offer. We worked hard at providing all the right touches that we feel all our guests will appreciate. We are glad that our front desk staff was friendly and able to help you. We value your business and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Want a great hotel after 3 night in YellowStone we needed this.Card key entry to room didn't need to be slid in the door slot you just waved it in front to unlock door. Staff was friendly and helpful.with a sumptuous bed and a large bath with a great walk in shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are glad that after a long 3 days in Yellowstone you were able to relax and enjoy our hotel. Our beds are perfect for a great night sleep. We are happy you enjoyed them, as well as the large walk in showers that we have. We hope that you will choose our hotel again the next time that you are travling through Cody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just opened in early March 2012, this is an absolutely beautiful hotel! Upon check-in, we were told that we were upgraded to a room with a balcony. As we walked towards the elevator, we observed a small sitting area with a couch, chairs, a fireplace and a flat screen TV. As we rode to the third floor, we saw additional sitting areas on the second and third floors as well. The room itself had a sitting area with a sleeper sofa and chair, and the balcony had a bistro table and chairs for relaxing outside- with a lovely view! The room was spacious with extremely comfortable beds, tasteful decor, and the bathroom had a walk-in shower. The attached restaurant/ bar served excellent food and drinks! The entire staff was cordial and welcoming. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Corner suites are somewhat out of the walking area and quieter, but any room would be a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We greatly appreciate the wonderful review that you gave our hotel. Thank you for taking advantage of the private balcony that your room had. Each floor does have a seperate sitting area that many guests have enjoyed and commented on. Thank you for doing this as well. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites

Address: 1800 8th St, Cody, WY 82414-4138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.