We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8, Cody, WY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Cody

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Cody to your Saves list
Super 8 Cody
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   730 Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-9324   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super 8, Cody, WY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

For a Super 8 it is one of the better ones. Needs updating, as they all seem to. Once again the room was small, we had a queen & they may as well have put the bed against the wall, you had 8" & could barely get between wall & bed to get into it (of coarse no stand). We had to move furniture to get to outlets to plug in computer, etc. We did have a microwave & refrig which was a big plus though the refrig did not freeze. Bed was comfortable. The room was clean, carpets could have been cleaned. Breakfast was typical for Super 8 & the staff was pleasant & friendly. Loved the lady with the chicken hat at breakfast, couldn't help but put a smile on your face to start the day. The Wi-Fi worked very well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Super 8 Cody, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. As we strive to achieve the excellence in customer service, it wonderful to hear that our staff was able to deliver services to your satisfaction. Thank you for recognizing Pat our breakfast person. She works very hard to make sure everyone gets that great start to the day. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    133
    69
    28
    14
See reviews for
129
153
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pine, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is an old motel that is badly, badly in need of remodeling, maintenance, etc. Actually in need of being torn down.The mattress was very old and cheap. The bottom sheet was impossible to tuck in. Linens were worn.The room was dreary and screamed "cheap!". The windows may have never been washed. Doors creaked. The breakfast buffet was pitiful and cheap. There was no place dedicated to the breakfast buffet. It was set out in the very tiny front lobby with just 3 tables squeezed into the small, vastly inadequate area. Checking out patrons had to squeeze past the narrow space in front of the breakfast set up. The place was average clean. There was a microwave and fridge. The Wi-Fi was adequate. The staff were pleasant.The nightly rate was quite high. For our 10 day trip this was by far the most expensive and, hands-down the worst (and the worst value). Value under a one rating. Awful. Even for Cody, where lodging is significantly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Super 8 Cody, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I was a little surprised to see your comments as we strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. I am deeply sorry that you didn't experience the same great service that most others have come to enjoy. We are sorry our accommodations failed to meet your requirements and assure you that your comments regarding the cleanliness and condition of your room are being looked into. Had we been made aware of your problems we would certainly have either made things right, or assisted you to find accommodations more suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Thanks so much to Monique for doing our wash.... I asked her if there was a public laundry and she said, "No, but when I get ours done, I'll be glad to do yours!" She did, plus when we left in two days, very early, she made sure we had food to take along. She was a delight! Nice rooms...would go there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Super 8 Cody, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valued feedback. We are delighted that you found our rooms to be clean and that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff, especially Monique to be pleasant and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back when you are again in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barto, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I would stay here again. It was a typical Super 8 and was nothing special BUT...it was reasonably priced and it was clean and the staff was very friendly. In fact, we were only supposed to stay one night and decided to stay a second night because of questionable weather moving into the area. The front desk staff was VERY friendly and set us up with our room for a second night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Super 8 Cody, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay at the Cody Super 8. Your comments reflect the wonderful hospitality that our staff is famous for. The staff here genuinely appreciates that their efforts are noticed, and appreciated. I will personally forward your comments to our staff and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Cody Super 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

First let me state that this hotel is in Cody, Wy- the gateway to Yellowstone so keep in mind the entire area is a bit of a tourist trap. Everything in Cody, including hotels are a lot more than you would pay elsewhere because of the Yellowstone traffic. Now with that said, here we go:

We (my family, including kids) stayed one night at the Super 8 in Cody in route to Yellowstone and across country to CA. It was rather expensive for what you got- an old, outdated, well worn hotel room.

The good: The room was very clean and was a nice size for my family to share. The breakfast served in the am was fine, normal hotel breakfast fare. The location is also great with plenty of places to eat, shops, things to do and of course its proximity to Yellowstone.

The bad: the hotel is old and is in desperate need of updating. The floor creaked badly, the bathtub/ fixtures were chipped and the room had a musty smell near the bed. So the bottom line is- no, I would not stay here again but if you are looking for a clean place to sleep for one night as you are passing through the area, you might want to give it a shot. Once again, I wouldn't though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Super 8 Cody, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While I was disappointed that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. We have been focusing our efforts on a number of areas and will continue to make steps to improve our property and the overall experience. We strive to provide clean rooms, friendly service and a great breakfast so I am glad we delivered on that. I have brought your other concerns to my staff and I hope you will come back and give us another try. We would like to retain your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Super 8 for a few days. We were impressed by how clean and comfortable the room was and all the choices at breakfast. We sat outside and had a great view of mountains for breakfast. We were most impressed with Heather at the front desk. She was so kind and helpful. A real treat to meet someone so genuine. Keep up the good work Super 8! Thanks again Heather,we did enjoy the rodeo and museum. See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Super 8 Cody, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments reflect the wonderful hospitality that our staff is famous for and I couldn't be happier that their efforts are being recognized. Thank you for pointing out our SuperStart Breakfast and the wonderful view of the mountains but most of all Thank you for choosing us among the many choices in Cody. We appreciate your business. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Before I start my review, let me give you a useful heads-up.
Cody is a gateway to Yellowstone so be prepared for crowds of people in the summer. If you want a place to stay, book early.

We got a clear message about the quality of their staff when we walked in the door. One of the desk clerks greeted my wife and was telling her about our room on the second floor when I came up the stairs and into the entry. The clerk took one look at my cane and immediately suggested changing things. She moved us down to the first floor. That’s the kind of customer service that is rare these days. And it requires skilled people on the desk that have an excellent sense of the booking dynamics of their building and the needs of their customers. These folks get high marks.

The motel was built in the pre-electronics days, which means that all of the outlets in the room are hidden behind the furniture. This can be a challenge unless you bring a versatile power strip on your travels. This, along with my having to use a cane, would be a deal breaker for us in other motels but we still stay here because it is so conveniently located.

Visualize the letter ‘L’ on its side to one leg goes west into Yellowstone and the other leg heads north into town. To the west there is a Walmart that has a grocery – you can stock up for the park and you can get the fixings for a supper in your room. To the north is the Buffalo Bill Museum (a must see), and two blocks east of the museum is an excellent Chinese Buffet. And at the intersection of both legs is a Pizza Hut right across the parking lot from the Super 8. That suits our needs perfectly. To us it is a great location and we hope they can keep going in that location. The problem is that up-scale motels are moving in and will probably take over much of the strip some day. Nuff said, we like the location.

Going back to the motel itself, the place has been around for a long time and is very well maintained. The only problem that really crops up is that it was built before the idea of serving breakfast ever came up. Their breakfast area is very small and they can only offer a minimum breakfast. This too would be a deal breaker for us but we deal with it because we want the location.

Part of the evaluation process is to look at whether a pool or fitness area is provided. The answer is no. When we travel we’re usually on vacation and too tired from driving to use a pool or fitness center as a destination. A good staff means more to us than a good pool.

Room Tip: Surprisingly quiet for being on a main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Super 8 Cody, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. While we welcome all guest feedback, we are particularly pleased to hear from such a seasoned traveler as yourself. As we pride ourselves on service, it's nice to hear of your particular experiences with the staff. Feedback is our best opportunity to hear the voice of the customer, and to learn the areas in which we can improve our service. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed report about us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 Cody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cody

Address: 730 Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-9324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cody
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#10 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Cody 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cody, WYSuper 8 Motel. Located just 50 miles east of beautiful Yellowstone National Park. Our guests appreciate our super clean rooms, friendly and efficient service and quiet comfortable atmosphere.The Super 8 Of Cody is 5 Blocks from the famous Buffalo Bill Historical Center. We are less than 2 miles from the Cody Night Rodeo, which has a rodeo every night through the summer. Old Trail Town also is a must visit while in town. There are many restaurants close by so there is a large choice on what to dine on while in Cody.We appreciate your business. We know you will be pleased while staying with us at the Cody Super 8. We look forward to hearing from you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Cody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Cody Hotel Cody
Super Eight Cody
Cody Super Eight
Cody Super 8
Super 8 Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Cody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.