We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but overpriced :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Cody

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn Cody to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Cody
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1807 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-3899   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good but overpriced :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Room was very clean, nice and remodeled, good location, this is the first hotel where we find towels shampoo, soap for the group of 5, we not must to request extra because there was everything we need, the master bed need to be softer, but like the privacy having máster room, we like the number room on parking, we not must to look for parking, having our saved, i plenty will recomend this hotel to my friends and family if they travel to cody, tanks for having attention for us. :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your compliments and noticing our attention to detail.
Rates are less expensive in off peak season, but comparably, for our location we are about $50- $75 less than the major chain two doors down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    59
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
44
75
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived quite late in the day around 8.30pm and so didnt really get chance to meet any staff other than the man at the desk who answered all our questions but no more.
The room was perfectly clean but just a little depressing I guess. The price is good for the area Cody but not for what you get which is a very basic motel room with no breakfast. We stayed here to visit Yellowstone at short notice so everywhere was booked up. We didnt stay long in the room which is good.
The aircon had been switched on before our arival which was great as it was a really hot day.
Had we paid a lot less we would have been more happy but as stated the price is comparable with everything else around

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Rates are higher during peak season in a seasonal town, similar to traveling to a beach destination in the summer. Lower rates are available in the Spring and Fall. We don't claim to be anything more than basic and believe in sharing the wealth with our fellow business owners, the restaurants, all of which are within walking distance from the property. Thank you for admitting we are comparable with other properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Idaho
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Room was clean but way overpriced for a crappy bed and a shower we had to have the front desk person show us how to work.
Needs to be updated from the 80's deco style.
I have never seen an envelope left by housekeeping "in case" we wanted to leave a tip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
The envelopes are in most properties and are left to specifically identify that the gift has been left for housekeeping and no one else. Modern decor requires modern prices, which we are trying to keep within budget. Our direct competition, a major chain is approximately $50-$75 higher. Your frustration with the shower was clearly explained, but apparently still unclear. It's the "green" in us, a way to conserve water and is available in many properties.

The most important critique you wrote was the room was clean. That is our primary focus, thank you and thank you for acknowledging our prompt response to your request while you were here. When a guest is here, I can try to do something about the issue. Once the guest has left, there’s little way to rectify. There are simply some things regarding the room I’m not going to know about unless you tell me. Yes, I agree with you on your other point, we are an older property; we all have a few gray hairs.
With the variety of body sized today, we do the best we can when choosing mattresses. Duplicating your bed at home probably would not be achievable. The beds are topped with 3 inch foam to make them as comfortable as possible.
The days of $100 rooms are almost over. With 3rd party websites taking the first 15%, increased expenses from everything from products to payroll, it simply isn’t feasible for an economy seasonal property such as ours. Yellowstone is an international market and you are again correct, we are cheap in comparison. I am not able to give you a $300 experience for $100. I personally drive across this country 3 times a year (Key West to Cody to New England) and can rarely find a room for under $100, even right off the highway.
The reason most guests are choosing our property is for the better value, we are not claiming to be boutique. A few years ago a major budget chain purchased land here in Cody with plans on building a brand new “affordable” motel. The project has been scrapped because there is no way a brand new property can be built with rates under $200 per night. Looking at the major chains here in town, we are approximately $50- $75 less than those, yet they are full virtually every night.
Comparing rates around the Yellowstone Gates, the East Gate, the one leading to Cody, is the least expensive.
Labor in this market is extremely difficult. Our local newspaper recently published a front page article noting that if most of the properties were unable to import labor from other countries, they could not survive. Hopefully you are voicing your opinions to other companies about their prices. The average person does not regularly rent a hotel room, but continues to pay outrageous fees for TV, Cell & Oil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

2 week motorcycle trip out west and had no idea of Cody Stampeed days or parade. This hotel was within our allotted nightly budget. Walking distance to restaurants and local brewery. Excellent help/staff/desk!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Downtown and quiet usually aren't two words used in the same sentence, but we are! Walking distance to all the best shops, restaurants and considerably less than our direct competition. Lowest rates available by booking direct with the property. We are quickly selling out for the upcoming weeks, call, QUICK!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Brenda and Mike are fantastic hosts, and saved our trip from complete ruin! They went out of their way to help us from the moment we checked in until the time we left. The rooms are super clean, and the location is very quiet and accessible.

They have accommodations for larger parties (we have 4 kids) and the price was very reasonable for Cody.

Finding this gem was a miracle for my family! I highly recommend this motel and will only stay at this motel when I travel to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Our Family room/suite is a 2 bedroom, 1 bath. It is ideal and I wish Mark would build me another one. Thank you for all of your compliments. We'll try to help any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Friendly people. Ideal location for shopping, restaurants and major highways access. We had a great stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Room rate is very affordable for a high tourist area. There is ample parking. Ideal for anyone on motorcycles.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
True, we are ideal for those on bikes with close access to the Chief Joseph Scenic Byway (the most scenic road in this part of the country). On the property we have an endless supply of rags and even a bike washing station! Giddy UP!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Three couples were road tripping through Cody- we choose the least expensive, highest TA rated motel listed. Least expensive did not mean inexpensive. Our rate was lower than other places in town, but the rates for all Cody motels are absurdly high. There are good elements here: Brenda is a good host and she is making the best of a tired old motor motel- a U shaped facility with individual outside doors and numbered parking for each unit. The rooms and bathrooms were small, but spotlessly clean. The beds were good with average linens. Towels were thin and small with average toiletries. Good in-room coffee, refer and flat-screen TV with lots of channels. All decor and furnishings are at best utilitarian. Less good was the complementary internet that was intermittent, when it was working at all. Brenda sent a follow up email of apology and indicated she would work to improve it. If you needed to use the room heater ( we did not) it was very noisy. The substantial rate does not include breakfast, newspaper or other amenities. One toilet ran constantly and there were other mysterious plumbing noises. This is a house that needs updating, but even if one invested it would still be a 40+ year old motor motel on a busy street away from the main town center. This office, like others we experienced on this trip, has limited hours so if you need someone early in the morning, sorry. There are many things to see and do in Cody and were we to return we would have to put more effort into finding a better value than all the motels in Cody were offering. The Budget Host was acceptable for one night, passing through.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
PLEASE WHAT ROOM WERE YOU IN SO I CAN LOOK INTO THE ISSUE. Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments. We try to go over everything with you when you check in. Office hours are from 8AM-10PM. Our philosophy is to share the wealth with our fellow business owners, which is why we do not serve breakfast. There is a diner 1 block from us along with several other establishments that cater to the breakfast crowd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn Cody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Cody

Address: 1807 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-3899
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn Cody 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Host Inn is a 100%, NO PET and NON smoking motel offering FREE WIFI and guest laundry. Located downtown on the quiet end Sheridan Avenue, within walking distance to the most popular shops, restaurants, live music, trolley tour and just 10 blocks from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable, quiet and affordable rooms close to the best Cody has to offer. Cody, Wyoming, the eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park (about an hour away. We are a small western town with a big city attitude! During the summer, a re-enactment of a wild-west shoot-out takes place in Cody. Rodeo is important in the culture in Cody, which calls itself the "Rodeo Capital of the World". The Cody Nite Rodeo is an amateur rodeo every night from June 1 through August 31. Cody is also is host to the Cody Stampede Rodeo. The Stampede is a Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association rodeo and is one of the largest rodeos in the nation that is held over the Independence Day Holiday. Many of the top cowboys in the country attend. The stampede has been held from July 1–4 every year since 1919. The Cody Firearms Museum has a large collection of American firearms. Cody, also offers outdoor activities as golf, bicycling, rock-climbing, horseback riding, hunting, spectacular trout stream fishing and river-rafting.Budget Host is located less than 3 miles from Yellowstone International Airport. We'll even pick you up/drop you off! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Budget Host Inn Cody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Cody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.