We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for Good Night's Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Cody

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn Cody to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn Cody
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1807 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-3899   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Place for Good Night's Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in June 2014 while traveling to Yellowstone. The motel probably dates to the 1950's, but has been refurbished and is clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Our room had only a shower - no tub.

Good place to stay for the weary traveler wanting a good night's sleep in a clean comfortable room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your compliments. Some of our rooms have tubs others have only showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    62
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
45
80
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The price was good. The room was clean and quite adequate for our needs. As brief as our stay was, we enjoyed our time there. The owner was friendly and helpful. It is obvious that the owner takes pride in the property and is making improvements.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampabay
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Parking in front of your door, clean rooms, very friendly staff. Great location and easy to find.
I don't think there are amenities other than free wifi, but Cody has everything you would need right on Main Street (Sheridan).
If you are a traveler that spends a lot of time in your room and on the motel/hotel property, then you might prefer something with more amenities and more modern accommodations, but be prepared to spend a lot more. If however you are in Cody to explore the town and the surrounding canyons and Yellowstone and need a secure and clean place to put your things and sleep and shower... look no further.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
YEE HAW!! I reckon you've hit it right on the head, thank you for your appreciation and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The rooms were very clean and the owner was very friendly. The value was good compared to other local rates, but the building itself is old and in need of repair. Our first night, one of the windows would not close all the way and we were only given one room key. The hot water faucet in the bathroom would hardly turn off all the way without forcing it. There are absolutely no frills with this motel and parking is super tight. If you are just looking for a bed and a bathroom, it will do nicely. Off the beaten path of the main street, but still noisy with local traffic. Even with the understanding that the owners are going to upgrade and do repairs, I still could not revisit this location, especially since they pre-charged me before I even arrived.

Room Tip: Take a room towards the back because it will be quieter, but parking is tighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Yes, the building dates back to the 70's. John Wayne stayed here when he was the Grand Marshall of the 1976 4th of July parade (the mayor owned it at that time). How they fit cars back then in this lot baffles me too, but it's better than trucking across some huge parking lot 1/2 mile from your room. Extra keys are available on request. They are very expensive to replace, which is why we only give one on checkin. I'll have Mark check on the faucet. We don't know about these things unless you tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights there and found a very clean room, decent beds,a walk in shower. Only reason for not giving more stars is this is really a no frills type motel. Staff and check in was super quick and extremely friendly and really helpful about the things to do in Cody.Cable TV, icebox and Wi-Fi also included in price. We would definitely stay there again if we get back to Cody. If you are in good shape one could make the walk back downtown. It is a few blocks away but still on the main street.

Room Tip: ask about avoiding the rooms closest to the ice, soda and laundry machines if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully someone wasn't doing their laundry after 10PM as we request it be finished by then. Our quiet, downtown location is perfect for guests that want to enjoy the action on Sheridan yet still have a quiet room to return to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The room was clean. Friendly folk working here. Electrical outlets for coffee make no where near coffee pot. The receptacles did not match maker... had to relocate maker to small bathroom sink top to make coffee. Office did not offer coffee or any customer incentives for choosing their property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Someone must have "borrowed" the adapter for the coffee maker, I've got some extra in the office and will make sure housekeeping double checks that all of the coffee makers are ready to go! Please know, it's not intentional We're happy to supply extra coffee for your room as well, upon request. We tried coffee in the lobby and wasted more than was consumed. I'm interested in your ideas about customer incentive, please elaborate. BHC does offer free WiFi, the ability to do laundry and our location can't be beat-downtown location, yet quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at budget host in Cody at May 30, 2014. We arrived there around 9:30pm, the room keys were already prepared and put into envelope. And a kind notice was posted on room door. The owner of this hotel is super friendly, guide us very clearly to restaurants and the town details. Great value with a pleasant stay, highly recommend to stay

Room Tip: Contact with owner first to get help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your compliments! We'll point you in the right direction!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn Cody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Cody

Address: 1807 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-3899
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn Cody 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Host Inn is a 100%, NO PET and NON smoking motel offering FREE WIFI and guest laundry. Located downtown on the quiet end Sheridan Avenue, within walking distance to the most popular shops, restaurants, live music, trolley tour and just 10 blocks from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable, quiet and affordable rooms close to the best Cody has to offer. Cody, Wyoming, the eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park (about an hour away. We are a small western town with a big city attitude! During the summer, a re-enactment of a wild-west shoot-out takes place in Cody. Rodeo is important in the culture in Cody, which calls itself the "Rodeo Capital of the World". The Cody Nite Rodeo is an amateur rodeo every night from June 1 through August 31. Cody is also is host to the Cody Stampede Rodeo. The Stampede is a Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association rodeo and is one of the largest rodeos in the nation that is held over the Independence Day Holiday. Many of the top cowboys in the country attend. The stampede has been held from July 1–4 every year since 1919. The Cody Firearms Museum has a large collection of American firearms. Cody, also offers outdoor activities as golf, bicycling, rock-climbing, horseback riding, hunting, spectacular trout stream fishing and river-rafting.Budget Host is located less than 3 miles from Yellowstone International Airport. We'll even pick you up/drop you off! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Budget Host Inn Cody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Cody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.