We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Cody

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn Cody to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Cody
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1807 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-3899   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Cody
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the night of June 15th. Our room was comfortable, perfectly clean, nice- sized and within budget. The owners (maybe it was the managers, I am not certain) were a very friendly couple who made our stay very enjoyable. They talked to us when we were checking in and checking out and gave us great information about the area. They were just great.

The room is a few blocks away from the main "downtown" of Cody but that was not a problem for us and made for a very quiet night of sleep. It was a quick couple minute ride to get to the main street area. We loved Cody for the museum, rodeo, shops, and dinner at The Irma. I really hope everyone travelling to Yellowstone takes at least a day for Cody. We wished we had more time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    52
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
40
60
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel reminds me of the old ones we stayed in when I was a child. It is old, but the new owners have refurbished it nicely - with the exception of the mattresses. The strange thing for me was that even though I expected to wake up with back problems, my back did better on this old mattress than it has on newer, seemingly more comfortable ones. Brenda, one of the owners, volunteered to put our load of laundry in the dryer for us while we were at dinner. I have seen service like that nowhere else! The room was clean and well kept. We appreciated that they have laundry facilities. Hair dryers are available at the front desk if you need one. All in all, the two nights we spent here were very pleasant, and we would stay here again if we stay in Cody when we visit Yellowstone. Note to those used to the more modern hotel chains, this one doesn't serve breakfast. This hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for all of your compliments. We like to share the business with our fellow small business owners. Our location is within walking distance of all the best shops and restaurants.
There is coffee in the room to get you started.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My buddy and I stayed at this location while on a week long motorcyle trip. The price was right, and the fact it was a little off the strip made it a lot quieter than the experience a year ago when we were on the strip.

Big plus! - We were provided towels and access to water to clean the bugs off the Harleys.

Brenda (manager) was friendly and helpful in giving us suggestions and options on where to dine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Clean, Comfortable and Quiet is what we're striving for. Thank you for your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Being so close to Yellowstone, hotels can be so pricey. We stayed here for 2 nights and found the rates very reasonable. The furniture is a little dated but very clean and comfy. All linens spotless and we had coffee maker but no fridge and micro - there is just one in a communal area. Staff were very nice here. Our room was only '3 in' yet we had no traffic noise - I have scored sleep quality down a little though as the air con unit kept me awake (just me though) . Very nice. Good location, an easy walk into town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Perhaps there was a typo. There IS a refrigerator AND coffee maker in EVERY room.
A microwave for guests is available in our Guest Laundry room. We also offer FREE Wifi and are within walking distance to all the best shops, restaurants and live music Cody has to offer.
We appreciate your review and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 5 nights there for our trip to Yellowstone National Park. The room price is just about average(Acceptable) as Cody is the closest city out of Yellowstone. If you want to stay in big names hotels and pay extra, look somewhere else; but if you want to have a clean and quiet place to sleep, this is it. The bath tup is clean, the towels are clean, and the room is very quiet at night. The motel is somewhat "old look", but extremely well managed. Through conversation with owner/manager, Brenda, I could tell that she cares about the biz and she is serious about providing the high quality services for the place. I am happy with the say and recommended this place.

NOTE, if you gonna drive 10-14 hours to Cody, this is the place you want to be after a hot and looong day.

Room Tip: Always book early. There is a mini fridge in the room and the common/laundry room has a large micr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for all of your compliments and recognition. We all work very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotels, motels, and inns are very expensive during the peak tourist season in Cody. My husband and I needed a room for one night in Cody and were surprised at the high rates throughout town. However, we found this Budget Host on trip advisor and made a reservation. We were very pleased with the room. The bed was comfortable, we had an excellent air conditioner (it was in the 90s), we used the small refrigerator in the room, and the public laundry room was clean and convenient. We were warmly greeted and given assistance in locating restaurants that we wanted to try. This is an older establishment that has under gone updates that are appreciated. The tub/shower was very nice, the shower head delivered a strong spray, and most of the linens were soft and new. My only complaint is the washcloths. The towels were thick and new, but, the washcloths were very thin and graying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolishous, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your compliments regarding the property location, room conditions, amenities and proximity to downtown. We're happy you found us an appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent four nights at the Budget Host Inn and found it to be a great value. Yes, it is an older facility and parking is a bit tight, but the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Our host put us in last room in the row because we were staying longer than the average. This attention to detail was gratifying as this room was private and very quiet. The motel is in easy walking distance to shops and restaurants but it is not on the busy part of Sheridan Avenue. Our thanks to the hosts of the Budget Host Inn for helping make our trip to Cody most memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda O, Manager at Budget Host Inn Cody, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your compliments, we really appreciate them. We enjoyed having you and am happy you had such a great time in Cody. I sometimes feel like I'm in "Back to the Future" here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn Cody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Cody

Address: 1807 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414-3899
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn Cody 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Host Inn is a 100%, NO PET and NON smoking motel offering FREE WIFI and guest laundry. Located downtown on the quiet end Sheridan Avenue, within walking distance to the most popular shops, restaurants, live music, trolley tour and just 10 blocks from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable, quiet and affordable rooms close to the best Cody has to offer. Cody, Wyoming, the eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park (about an hour away. We are a small western town with a big city attitude! During the summer, a re-enactment of a wild-west shoot-out takes place in Cody. Rodeo is important in the culture in Cody, which calls itself the "Rodeo Capital of the World". The Cody Nite Rodeo is an amateur rodeo every night from June 1 through August 31. Cody is also is host to the Cody Stampede Rodeo. The Stampede is a Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association rodeo and is one of the largest rodeos in the nation that is held over the Independence Day Holiday. Many of the top cowboys in the country attend. The stampede has been held from July 1–4 every year since 1919. The Cody Firearms Museum has a large collection of American firearms. Cody, also offers outdoor activities as golf, bicycling, rock-climbing, horseback riding, hunting, spectacular trout stream fishing and river-rafting.Budget Host is located less than 3 miles from Yellowstone International Airport. We'll even pick you up/drop you off! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Budget Host Inn Cody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Cody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.