We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables

Save Saved
You added Green Gables to your Saves list
Green Gables
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Gables
1638 Central Avenue, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Miles City, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had never been to Cody before despite going to Yellowstone several times a year and found Green Gables to be one of the more moderately priced hotels. I thought the hotel was good, the room was VERY clean, the beds were comfortable, having a fridge was very handy, no complaints from us. It wasn't very close to the downtown area, but it was a short drive, and for the money you save it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vista, Ca
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a room on the 2nd floor so the room had some nice high ceilings making the room look bigger. Would have prefered a king bed instead of the 2 small queens or maybe they were only double beds. Everything clean and working order. Our room was back from the main street so no noise. Breakfast was very weak but I knew that from other reviews. There is a Subway a block or so south which makes very good fresh breakfast sandwiches to supplement what came with the room. By the way, property is owned by the Cody's so it was nice to stay with Buffalo Bill's relatives, ha, ha. Have to stay with them when in Cody!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room (if you don't mind carrying your bags up) away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach, california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Upon check In my husband was given a waiver to sign promising that he did not have a dog and would not have a dog on the premises. Then we were assigned to room 102 which on our confirmation is listed as a pet friendly room which I did not want. So either u accept pets r u don't! Next a much needed fix is new toilet seats in the room. These 2 suggestions should make everyone's stay better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great furnishings- extremely clean - staff friendly and helpful with dining suggestions and general info about town. Breakfast was on the light side but small variety was offered. Location was great. Deer were frequently in your front yard!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked a room that had two queens and a hide a bed. Were expecting a separate room but that wasn't the case so be sure to ask about that if you expect a suite type set up. That being said, the room was large and clean. The only small creepy thing is we killed two spiders in one day when we first checked in.
The room did have a stand up shower and jetted tub, which was nice.
The location isn't close to downtown, which actually was a really good thing for us. Soooo many bikes in town when we went (Aug 11 & 12). Maybe because it was so close after Sturgis but staying downtown would have been way too loud for us.
Despite a small distance from downtown, Cody is small enough that anywhere to eat/shop etc. is within a few minutes driving.
The front desk people were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was inadequate for a family - apples and bananas (small basket) and a small assortment of grocery store muffins cut in half. Coffee was available. We ended up just going to restaurants downtown for breakfast. Cheap and home cooked so I recommend going out.
I might stay here again, but also might look at other hotels. No pool if that's a concern.

Room Tip: We were in 201 which has 2 queens and a hide a bed. No separate bedroom but a stand up shower and je...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Motels are expensive in Cody. This was good for the value. Not within walking distance of the downtown. Clean room, comfortable beds, dated decor. The "breakfast" was coffee and grocery muffins. The desk staff was very helpful with recommendations for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went there for one night. Clean but basic rooms. No elevator so you have to carry your bags upstairs if your room is on the second floor. Laundry available. Very small breakfast. Free wifi and parking. Check out is at 10.00h(!).Over all, its ok but quite expensive for what it is. If you are in Cody, I would recommend the Rodeo and the Buffalo Bill Center. Dont stay in Cody as a base to Yellowstone(too far away) - try West Yellowstone instead.

Room Tip: Second floor is more quiet, but you will need to carry your bags upstairs (no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables

Address: 1638 Central Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;