We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Cody” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponderosa Campground

Ponderosa Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponderosa Campground
1815 8th Street, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty lodging in Cody
Oakdale, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved Cody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in May of '12 and absolutely loved it. I have read other reviews where the staff was said to be rude but this was not the case during our stay, we stayed here a few nights and then came back and stayed another. We knew we were coming in late and with a quick call(in advance to notify them) we were taken care of. Both of us really enjoyed our time in Cody and we would love to go back someday.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here with the RV while visiting Buffalo Bill museum and Yellowstone Nat'l Park.Had all what we needed clean campground, bathrooms and laundry facility. management was supper friendly.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Close to town and museum. Close to entrance to Yellowstone with a nice scenic drive getting there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Travelled to the US from Ireland with our three kids and took a great adventure by renting a RV and touring 7 states in 20 days. Saw Mount Rushmore, Devil's tower, Beartooth Highway, Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Jackson, Page, Lake Powell, Grand Canyon, Moab, etc. We stayed for two nights at the Ponderosa and found it to be clean, well equipped and centrally located to Cody. BUT, what we will forever remember was the hospitality, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They made the experience unforgettable in that they advised us where to go, made follow-on bookings for campsites, annotated maps for our consideration and suggested numerous activities. Cannot recommend the place highly enough, especially Tom (a big fan of poet, Dylan Thomas, sorry Tom, he's welsh, not Irish). STAY HERE .... YOU'LL LOVE IT !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've spent a night in a cabin
The campground is just ok a one night stop to Yellowstone, but nothing more.

Plus:
- great locations very close to Buffalo Bill Museum and to the town centre
- cabin was nice and clean
- staff was helpful and welcoming

Minus:
- RV's sites seemed really packed and crowded
- no trees, no grass, only gravel
- cabins closer restroom area has only two bathrooms, so there was always a line
- wi-fi not properly working bu the cabins
- the cabin had a HUGE problem with heat --> even in the middle of the night, with all the windows open, it was unbearably hot inside the cabin, while outside the temperature was just fine.

All in all, next time I'll try a different place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great campground, great location. Had a playground for the kids, which they loved... Wifi was a bit hit n miss, but other than that, nice management and great atmosphere... Stayed here in a motor home.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I did a lot of research before we spent two weeks in Cody,Wy. The Ponderosa was the best place for us! It was in a great location within walking distance to some of the attractions. A DQ was right next door. They don't take credit cards but do take cash or check. Rates were very good for this area. We stayed here for 10 days and they are always busy! Nice facility very clean. I had called during the winter to reserve my spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio USA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you're looking for an overnight campground before heading into Yellowstone National Park, the Ponderosa is probably the best bet in Cody. The pluses were that it was very close to the entrance road we took into YNP; it had clean bathrooms and hot water; it was within walking distance of some good restaurants and the Sierra Trading Post Outlet; it's very close to Old Trail Town (the best Old West attraction in town); it's very close to some good grocery stores. The minuses: it was crowded - too many people packed into too many campsites. There's nothing visually appealing about this campground, but if you're only here to sleep, it fills the bill.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponderosa Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Campground

Address: 1815 8th Street, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty lodging in Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponderosa Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ponderosa Campground to your Saves list