We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are interested in militaria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody Dug Up Gun Museum

Cody Dug Up Gun Museum
1020 12th Street, Cody, WY 82414
307-587-3344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Cody
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cody Dug Up Gun Museum1020 12th Street, Cody, Wyoming 82414(307) 587-3344Stroll through history while viewing hundreds of relic guns & other weapons from many different time periods and locations including “America’s War of Independence, The Gold Rush Era, The US Civil War, The Old West & Indian Wars, World War I, The Roaring 20’s and World War II”.The Cody Dug Up Gun Museum is one of Cody, Wyoming’s newest attractions and a great look at history for the whole family.Open to the public in the spring of 2009. The museum is a proud sponsor of the Cody Gunfighter’s Show at the world famous Irma Hotel (just steps away from our museum!).We are members of the Cody Chamber of Commerce and enthusiastic supporters of Cody’s historical attractions.Open 9:am – 9:pm – 7 days a weekfrom May through September
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great if you are interested in militaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My partner, who is especially interested in old firearms, loved this museum. He particularly enjoyed talking with Hans who is extremely knowledgeable and has lots of stories to tell. Shame that more people don't know about this museum, so spread the word.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    27
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blanchard, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ah-MAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stopped in here at 8:45 after the gun fight and dinner. The owner was SO nice and knowledgeable. We could have spent much more time here than we did. Perfect for the gun nuts in your family. Revolutionary War all the way to WWII!
Don't miss this little gem!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a great tour. So much history...amazing...speechless...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Amazing history... Goosebumps the whole time, looking at these unreal, historic artifacts... Blew my mind. A must see for anyone riding through or stopping in Cody, Wyoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a hidden gem in Cody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had planned a trip to Cody and found this on the net when looking for interesting places.
We were not dissapointed . Hans the owner was as friendly and informative and really helpfull with the history of everything in the museum.The attention to detail in the displays is 1st rate We were so impressed We went back twice because there is so much to see and learn here.
Firearms dug up and found from all over the World. totally worth seeing.
If Your a truck guy youv'e got to have a gander at the Dug up Gun Museum army 4x4 out front as well.There is no adnission , but they appreciate donations to help with the cost of keeping this going. make sure to drop a few dollars into the jar to help out.
Had a great time seeing everything in Your Museum Hans.
thanks

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

It's free and they have over 800 items to look at. If you like guns and history it's a good place. Did I mention it was free? What would you complain about? Guns range from revolution to WWII.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cody Dug Up Gun Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody Dug Up Gun Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.