We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little outside main town but nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cody KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cody KOA
Save
You added Cody KOA to your Saves list
5561 Greybull Highway, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Howell
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little outside main town but nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This koa is a little farther outside of the main town but it's not a bad drive. Its quick. Tent camped and had a nice spot close to showers. Showers are clean and very nice. Rec room is nice. Cody is such a nice little town. Check out the rodeo it's amazing! Also silver dollar has awesome burgers! Recommend this campground for your trip to Cody.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
31
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I would not recommend this koa if u are expecting clean facilities. Yes it is a great location but the grounds have no trees and all the sites are on top of one another. We rented a cabin which could have been cleaned better, but the worst were the bathrooms and showers. They were disgusting! Pancake breakfast was really great. That's the best I can say about it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed three nights at this campground. It has a nice pool area with regular pool, kiddie pool and hot tub, a bouncy pillow and playground area. It's a few miles out of Cody to the east and right next to the highway. There are also trail rides which we didn't try and a free pancake breakfast that also serves sausage, cereal, muffins and yogurt for a small fee. Camping spots are very close together. Bathrooms and showers are decent. Doesn't compare to the Palmer gulch koa in the black hills, but we had fun using this spot as base.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a lodge, with a premium price we expected premium service. They dont provide clean towels(wash them yourself). No room cleaning is provided. TV is tiny. All of this would be fine except for the price. We could have gotten a nice room for the cost of this lodge. I guess i should have done more research. The pool was nice. We did have fun here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family and I rented a 2 room cabin which was filthy and covered in dog hair. After asking the front desk to clean it before we get in it, we realized that it WAS STILL DIRTY. The wipes I used after their "cleaning" were disgusting. We also found a dirty tube sock under the bunk beds (apparently not a first). There was no AC as advertised, just loud fans, which doesn't help too much in the summer. My sister's family rented a deluxe cottage, which was just as dirty. The film of dust on the ceiling fans made it unable to turn them on without a full washing, the locks on doors were broken, and the hot water ran out every day after 10 min., so they had to use the public showers....which defeats the purpose of a cabin with a bathroom. It seems the entire campground is run by teenagers, which might explain the cleanliness. The only upside I can give is the fact is has a pool and trampoline like jumping pillow, which the kids love. If coming to Cody again, I would avoid staying here.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingfisher, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I love going to Cody. We thought about Ponderosa campground but that was right in the heart of town and seemed way to crowded and close together. So we thought the KOA would be better. I made reservations but when we arrived they were so crowded they put us in a spot that I'm pretty sure we were sharing with another camper. Very tight feeling. They provided breakfast for a reasonable price. But because of the over booking and being so full it was more like pushing cattle through a feed line. My husband mooed at one point because that's what it felt like. I guess you get what you pay for. We didn't eat breakfast there the next day. And I don't think we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The staff were incredibly friendly, the sites were clean, spacious enough that we weren't on top of other campers, and the tent sites are plenty big enough. The price was great, but we knew when we booked with them that we were paying for the showers, water, and access to the pool and other amenities. You definitely get what you pay for with KOA, and there's so much included in the site cost that it'd be hard to argue with the value.

Room Tip: You can always book online if you're travelling during the busy season, but had no trouble findi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cody KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody KOA

Address: 5561 Greybull Highway, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Cody Koa Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.