We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return to Pahaska” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pahaska Teepee Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Save
You added Pahaska Teepee Resort to your Saves list
183 Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would not return to Pahaska”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

We visited Yellowstone NP in this month and chose Pahaska Tepee since it was located so close to the east entrance to the park. It is advertised as only 2 miles to the park entrance….that much is true. The facility (check in/gift shop/restaurant) all look very nice upon arrival, but then it goes downhill from there. There is a reason they require a 50 percent deposit at time of reservation and a penalty for cancellation…..because once you get there, it’s too late to find anything else. We booked a room with a single queen bed in one of the A-frame cabins for 4 nights. We soon found out that in these small A-frame cabins, if you book a single queen, there are 4 rooms in each cabin and sound proofing was not a major concern during construction. If you book an A-frame cabin room with more than one queen bed, then the rooms are larger. But our room was about 8’ x 12’, plus the bath. Upkeep of the cabins has obviously not been a priority over the years. The entrance door to the room was just an interior style door (with an imprint of a shoe where it had been kicked) with a very inexpensive lock that you would find on the bedroom/bathroom door of a house. There was a single awning style window in each room that needed to be kept open all the time otherwise the room would soon become very stuffy. But don’t worry if you lock yourself out of the room because all you have to do is reach through the window, push the screen out of the way and unlock the door. Security was also not a consideration. The bathroom consisted of a shower unit, wall hung sink and toilet…..but the sink looked like it had been there since the 50’s or 60’s and was obviously stained/dirty from many years of usage. The towels were very thin and not clean looking and apparently the laundry facility did not know that fabric softener had been invented yet. Back to the room…..stick a queen bed in an 8 x 12 room, add a very worn and beat-up desk and chair, and you can imagine all the more room is left to maneuver around in. There was one ceiling light fixture with one bulb and a desk lamp. We actually had to take the shades off both fixtures to have enough light to see at night. There is no air conditioning in the rooms and no television. But there is a telephone…..supposedly to use and try to find better accommodations in the area. The woodwork was very old and marked up and the carpeting was in a word….BAD. And if you stay here, you really don’t want to look under the bed. Ours did not look like it had been vacuumed since the early 1900’s. Buffalo Bill’s original hunting lodge is on the grounds and is mainly used as a museum piece. It is on the register of historic places, but I have a feeling if Buffalo Bill were to see the place now he would have a fit. Let’s just say it also needs a lot of attention. The woman who gave us the tour told us that Pahaska has been owned by the same family for a few decades and therein lies the problem. The owners have become too concentrated on taking advantage of a prime location just outside of Yellowstone rather than providing a CLEAN and COMFORTABLE location to enjoy a vacation. And of course they also take advantage of the peak travel season by charging more than what the rooms are worth at this time of the year. We paid $105.00 per night for a room that was maybe worth $5.00 a night.
We're not snobs and we didn't expect upscale accommodations but we didn't expect something this bad. Next trip to Yellowstone will be better planned and we won’t be staying at Pahaska Tepee (my apologies to William F. Cody). Can't comment on the restaurant - did not eat there.

  • Liked — Location to park entrance
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and overpriced.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    29
    34
    29
See reviews for
55
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
995 reviews 995 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 264 cities Reviews in 264 cities
2,091 helpful votes 2,091 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed here only one night. I am glad I did not read the reviews, if they had been available back then. Wow. We had a nice time here. The room was older, and no TV, but hey, you are in the wilderness. They did have a radio. The beds were not too bad, but not great either. Bare bones room, but we did not expect anything else, but it was 100 a night back then, so can't imagine what it is today. The room was clean, however.

The restaurant-the food was ok, the decor cool and the waitress unfriendly.

The store was awesome though, I could have bought a ton of souveniors there. The people running the store were very friendly.

The bar-lots of fun in that place, it was a hoot.

The views, outdoors-GREAT.

  • Liked — The store
  • Disliked — No TV; restaurant service
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody<Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

When I arrived , it was awsome; I am a naturalist and stepping out from Santa Clara, Californa, to here was breath taking!!! First thing I saw was a moose being born, then you have two rivers to fish from, next going rock hounding and finding ( jasper, garnets, Wyoming jade, and tons of petrified wood.), If you want to get away from everything and become relaxed you have to visit here!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

Even though the location is convenient, do NOT stay here. The rooms are old, filthy, and disgusting. The bed was uncomfortable, the room dirty, the blinds wouldn’t close all the way, the door barely locked, and there was one outlet in the ENTIRE room. No outlets in the bathroom. No TV. Very little hot water. And the walls were paper thin. In the middle of the night I woke up because my husband was snoring. After I nudged him, I realized it the guy in the next room! The walls were so thin I could hear…and smell…everything that happened next door. Ewwwww. I should have slept in the car.

The staff in overpriced restaurant was incredibly rude. When we checked in the night before, we were told we could order a box lunch at breakfast. But the next morning the waitress looked at us as if we were crazy. We begged—geez, we only wanted some bread and cheese. She said we would have to wait until 11:00 a.m. because they were set up for breakfast and couldn’t make sandwiches. Ummm, don’t you use bread for toast and cheese for omelets? How difficult would it have been to make a darn sandwich?

Stay anywhere but DON’T stay at Pahaska Teepee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sioux falls
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

My wife and I decided to stay here since it was only 2 miles from the East entrance.

At first everything seemed fine, we got the King jacuzzi room for the first two nights of our 5 night stay. Really enjoyed those nights.

Then everythihg fell apart. Having overbooked our King jacuzzi room, (although the 'vancancy' sign was on the whole week) were were moved to a Queen bed room. Room curtains/blinds were filthy, cobwebs and dust everywhere. You only got 10 minutes of hot water from the shower. Bed was nasty and we both rolled to the middle of the bed as the springs were shot.

The second to the last night, a mouse ran across my wifes' legs in bed. GROSS!!!! That morning she spoke with the Manager, and he just told her that 'this is the wilderness maam'. She asked for a different room, or some compensation, and we were offered the ajoining room or mouse traps for our current room. Not much of a choice to us.

Moving on to the restaurant/lounge. The food was terrible and expensive. The waiter dropped off some bread before the meal. We opted for the $22 'New York Strip' steak. Asked for it to be cooked medium, got a burned slab of fat. A garden side salad was 4.25...for salad...that's just lettuce folks. Waiter never stopped back to see how the meal was going. Just dropped off the check and standed there while we got the money out.

The next night we decided to give it one more try. That was a mistake. The waitress that we had didn't bring us bread like the waiter did last time, so I asked for some. Bread came and we ate that and our meal. She did not check on us during the meal, just broght the check and that was that. Till I looked at the bill and saw that we were charged 2.50 for 4 slices of bread. Asked the waitress why were were charged for the bread. She said it is only free with diner, not appitizers. We told her that the waiter brought us bread last night before we even ordered. Her reply, and I quote, in a real snotty voice, "Well I guess you got a good deal last night."

Over to the lounge. The wait staff here was so nice and friendly A+ for you guys. Drinks were reasonable and you could order food too. Without the terrible restaurant staff.

On to the grocery store. Not much to choose from here...cookies, pop, and knives. Gas was compleeeeetly outrageous. Close to 50 cents more per gallon than the gas in the park. Free ice though and the person behind the counter was real nice.

The only good part about this place was feeding the wild foxes from our room porch....oh, and leaving.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep driving, no matter how tired you are, just keep driving.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heflin AL
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

This place could be beautiful with a very good cleanup. The blinds, window and carpet were filthy dirty. I have to admit that the bathroom was clean. The sheets were thread bare and hardly covered the mattress. The door to the cabin was an interior door-not much security there. We spoke with other travelers and they were as disappointed as we were. We had plans to stay 3 nights but changed to 2. Don't be fooled by their website-it is not a true picture of the place. The views were beautiful and each morning we would walk to the stream below and look at the different animal tracks left from the night before. We had a fox that was so tame we had to shoo him from our cabin. This is not the owner's fault, of course. This place was a big disappointment! We could not wait to leave! I think Buffalo Bill would be disappointed in the way his lodge was kept.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there-read reviews of accommodations before you go-you may be fooled like we were.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

Ok we were to going on our vacation at yellowstone national park and wanted to find a place close to stay preferebaly a cabin so we turned to pahaske teepee and oh what a mistake. After driving all day we were tired and arrived at our cabin and first of all they gave us the wrong cabin. It was very small and we wanted our original cabin we had booked with a kitchen, so we went to the front office and luckly they had a cabin with a kitchen so we switched and had to pay more of course did not even get a discount for their screw up. Never the less we took the cabin because we were tired and wanted to relax. When we arrived at our cabin the was a repair man fixing the broken front door. That was a red flag right there, Who the heck busted it in and why? It only gets worse when we lifted up the bed sheets and blankets they were dirty and had hair all over them. It looked like someone had stayed in the cabin and slept in the beds and when the cleaning people came they just remaid the beds without washing them. It was sick and grose. So we decided to check out the rest of our cabin the curtains were dirty, the floor needed swept, the shower was stained and the toilet was dirty. There were also numerous other things wrong the silverware was not clean the bed blankets were old and not clean the refridgerator was old and the were no modern appliances. This place had no T.V. let me say it again NO T.V. The pahaske teepee place is in a great location close to the yellowstone east entrance but if they would keep the place clean the could make some darn good money, but they choose not to. This place was so bad all 4 of us slept in our small car and got no sleep. But we would rather do that then sleep in dirty beds and possibly get sick. DIRTYNESS SPREADS DISEASE!!!!!!! And to get even worse yet the lady at the front desk was rude and smart when we told here were not staying. We told her the beds were dirty and she said well they might not have been cleaned yet if the room was not clen yet then why the heck did you give it to us. We told here that the beds were made and she said well some people make there beds, yeah right who goes on vacation and makes their beds give me a break. Then she got smart and said well don't go back to cody because they were having a rally and of course they were not so there was a lie. It was just an all around bad expierence but we did not let this dirty place ruin our awesome vacation. WHATEVER YOU PEOPLE DO DON'T STAY HERE. AND MY ADVIVE TO YOU IS ALWAYS READ REVIEWS BEFORE YOU STAY ANYWHERE. WE LEARNED OUR LESSON, DON'T MAKE OUR MISTAKE. WE WON'T EVER MAKE THAT MISTAKE AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pahaska Teepee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahaska Teepee Resort

Address: 183 Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Pahaska Teepee Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pahaska Teepee Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.