We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buffalo bill stayed here and we stayed in the same room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pahaska Teepee Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pahaska Teepee Resort to your Saves list
Pahaska Teepee Resort
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   183 Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
pleasant grove, utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“buffalo bill stayed here and we stayed in the same room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I will avoid a frame cabins forever more after this experience. the bathroom was clean and fairly new, the room was "quaint" unfortunately, it was also old and extremely musty/dusty. two queen beds, two giant desks (weird?) and various small pieces of furniture filled the room. it was so dark we were wishing we had brought flashlights. we had no tv but with the door or window open we were bombarded with the direct tv coming from the employee cabins. the highlight of the visit: the delicious home made soup and bread pudding at the café. otherwise, just an over priced, aging property.

Room Tip: here's a tip: keep going into Cody. lots of rooms to choose from, cheaper and much newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    57
    29
    34
    29
See reviews for
57
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stanford
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were seven couples and filled the lodge. The only trouble with staying here was that it set an unrealistically high standard for future gatherings. Each couple had a private room and bath. There were variations in the rooms so that everyone was comfortably accommodated including one man with disabilities. The kitchen was huge and well-equipped with everything necessary for preparing meals for 14. All of us were in the kitchen area at the same time and we were not crowded. There were plenty of dishes and a dishwasher. We had plenty of room in the main living area downstairs to gather in small groups. There was an additional room downstairs for playing dvds which we never used. There was also a great hot tub downstairs (a bonus for those with swimsuits) We saw it being drained and cleaned on our last day so the sanitation was good.. The lodge has two floors with several suites upstairs which were particularly nice. The view was spectacular from the main floor and most of the rooms.

There was some disagreement among the staff regarding internet. If it was available it would have been in the main building not in our accommodations.

Some of our group tried the restaurant and were disappointed.

I would definitely return with a large group again and would recommend the reunion lodge for family gatherings.

We did not look at the other cabins.

Room Tip: Check out the upstairs rooms before making a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The cabin we stayed in had just recently been remodeled so had not many complaints about the room except for lack of lighting. We took the lamp shades off which helped. Bathroom was clean with new shower stall but no shelves of any kind to lay items on. There were no amendities - no TV, no frig, no microwave, no coffee maker, no hair dryer, and no fan (overhead or table). We stayed there in early September and the temperature was 75 degrees, so it was warm in the room. We did tackle the dirty and torn screens and got the windows opened which helped. Our main complaint was the lodge restaurant - had a horrible dinner, which I could not eat. For lack of anywhere else we ate breakfast there the next morning; however, there was a 'mix up with the tickets' and after 1.5 hours and complaints to the manager (who defended her staff's difficiencies and gave no apologies) we finally got it. However, mine was missing an egg and bacon. Needless to say, we bought food in Cody for dinner and breakfast the second morning. We do not recommend staying here at all. As others have said, we know now to stay in Cody instead even though it is 56 miles further east from Yellowstone's east entrance.

Room Tip: Stay in Cody, WY instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having read other reviews of Pahaska, we were prepared for what we got. I'd upgraded us to a "King Jacuzzi" room, thank goodness, but it was still on the small size. No TV, phone or internet, even though we'd been told there was internet access at the lodge. We didn't really mind--we were here for Yellowstone, not television. Cleanliness was a bit iffy, and soundproofing non-existent. I felt sorry for the wife of the snorer in the next room. If he kept me up all night, how does she ever sleep? The biggest challenge was the bathroom--no counters, shelves, or horizontal surfaces of any kind by the sink. I had to set my stuff on the (closed) lid of the toilet across the room. Which toilet, by the way, ran constantly.

Pahaska was built by Buffalo Bill in 1904. It's 2 miles from the east entrance to the park, but the east entrance is still an hour or so away from the main attractions, and doesn't open until 8:00 AM. If you want an early start for a hike in Yellowstone, you're out of luck.

The people, however, were friendly and helpful. We were afraid we might arrive a bit late, and were told that if the registration desk (in a back corner at the gift shop) was closed, the bartender would have our keys--and if we arrived after the bar closed, they would be taped to the door with my name on it. If you are a guest of the hotel, the little gas station (reasonably priced for the area) will give you a free, 8 pound bag of ice each day.

The restaurant is pretty good, especially for out in the boonies.

Would we stay here again? Maybe. It is the only place around. Location, location, location . . .

Room Tip: Ask for a king jacuzzi; they are larger and a little better outfitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is hard to find on usual websites like hotels.com or expedia. But it is very unique, all by itself in a bear-area. Almost as if you are in the national park itself. No lights nearby at night, so you can see a zillion stars. Wooden cabins. Good food. Very different experience. Just 2 miles from east entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Room was very small. Very small bath. Locks were dissatisfactory. Very noisy. Finally got to sleep around 12 Midnight only to be awakened about 12:30 am by guests checking in same tee pee with adjoining room. No TV in room, no coffee until 7:00 am. (awake at 6:00). Food not good. Tough chicken. Service in dining for Dinner was good, food expensive and not very good.
Would not stay here again!! bkkillingsworth@aol.com

Room Tip: Rooms are small. Beds are worn, slope to side. Cost is at least double what it was worth. Would ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Lots of pros and cons of this place:

I'll start with the cons:

Our A frame was tiny...seriously small, to be fair that was stated on the website.
The lamp was hanging by a thread and covered in bugs.
It's pretty old, no tv very much like a cabin in the woods

Pros:
Restaurant is great! Huge portions, decent prices...and truly amazing/fun staff!
The bed was actually really comfortable as well.

I would go back to the bar restaurant but I wouldn't stay there again.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pahaska Teepee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahaska Teepee Resort

Address: 183 Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pahaska Teepee Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pahaska Teepee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahaska Teepee Hotel Cody

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pahaska Teepee Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.