We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome piece of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel to your Saves list
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Eldred, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a historic hotel in downtown Cody. Built in 1908 it has all the retrofitted conveniences of the 21st century (wi-fi, air, tv). The rooms are spacious and have the authentic feel of going back in time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    97
    51
    28
    18
See reviews for
64
117
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'm not a history buff, but the Irma is very cute. Our room was clean. Fantastic location for us tourists. They have awesome water pressure in the shower, and the wall AC & ceiling fan were more than adequate to keep our west-facing room cool in the summer. Problems: never could connect to wifi, and we had multiple devices, different brands, none could connect ever. The walls are paper-thin & you can hear your neighbors' conversations like they are in your room with you (running the AC & the TV drowned out some of that). There's not enough surface area in the bathroom or the room for placing your things. And the pipes I guess are old so when a neighbor took a shower the howling pipes woke us up early in the morning! We wondered what that horrible sound was for a bit and couldn't go back to sleep until that shower was turned off.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had the lunch buffet. Lots of choice, hot and tasty. Also salad bar at extra cost. Best Macaroni Cheese I've ever had! The beef was great - pink and juicy, delicious gravy, too. Good, efficient service. Really enjoyed lunch. Have also eaten dinner there on a previous visit - very nice.
Lots of authentic artefacts, pictures and information. Gifts and souvenirs available too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Welcome to the Irma Hotel, a charming, historic gem located within steps of downtown Cody, Wyoming. The rooms are beautiful, and I was truly hoping for a haunted room, without much success. We used one of their rooms for a group meeting, and the staff was more than attentive to our needs. You can request historic rooms if you wish. I believe this hotel is full often, so if you are thinking of staying here, make a reservation.
Check in to the hotel was a breeze (with real keys), and check out was just as easy.
The hotel has a restaurant and lounge onsite which we did not have time to patronize, but it smelled wonderful.
The Cody gunfighters perform outside on the street by the porch each evening at 6:00. Pull up a chair, and catch the entertainment.
One downfall is limited wifi to certain areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a historic room. Check out which rooms have best wifi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is time capsule that's interactive! The bar is one of the coolest I've ever seen! The food is great and the rooms are too! Cody is a true cowboy town and I will be back here often. Don't miss the gunfight on the side street! This is a great starting point for a Yellowstone excursion. I stayed here in July of 2009 but couldn't go back that far on this review.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room as far from the stairs as possible. It's an old building and the wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I am an extreme history buff and during my most recent western states vacation drove two hours out of my way to stay at The Irma Hotel. Entering Yellowstone's east entrance after a night at Buffalo Bill Cody's Irma Hotel was pretty cool. So many legends of the Old West have called this place home for a night or two and just being in it gave me goosebumps. Historically, one could not ask for more.

Unfortunately, it is a gigantic tourist trap. The service is the worst in Cody. The guy at the front desk was more arrogant than Buffalo Bill himself. The only difference is Buffalo Bill had talents, this cowboy not so much. Our waitress in the restaurant was just as unfriendly. I always tip more than I should and this was the one time during my entire vacation that I wish I didn't give anything. She honestly didn't deserve a penny.

I'm trying to think of something nice to say other than reflecting on the hotels history but I really cant think of anything. I guess I can see how it might be annoying to deal with tourists all day long but at the end of the day without those tourists, none of these people have jobs!! This simple fact seemed to get lost on the entire staff of The Irma. As a small business owner, I can say for sure that none of these people would ever work for me and that organizational "attitude" starts and ends at the top. Take that for what its worth I guess.

The crazy part is I would probably go back for a night simply due to the attractions history. If I were spending multiple nights in Cody, I would only spend one here and find a more customer focused hotel for the remainder of my stay.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra bucks for a historic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Cute looking building that you check into and is a gift store. Can't check in until 3. I had a sick child I needed to get to bed and no luck with an early check in. Two brand name hotels in same parking lot. The front help are not pleasant, which made the experience not so pleasant at first. Anyhow, cabins are touristy old fashion. Clean. But touristy feel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.