We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel to your Saves list
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night before our visit to Yellowstone. The rooms and bathrooms have a unique quaint style. Close to the city idea for shopping. The hotel has a restaurant with was completely packed while we visited..since we were famished we went out for dinner. Over all a good hotel to stay but no complementary breakfast

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeline M, Director of Sales at Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your appreciation of the historic value of the hotel. Hopefully, your dining experience in Cody was pleasant. I am sorry you did not take advantage of the wonderful breakfast buffet the Irma offers. The kitchen staff make it a priority to serve the best food possible, its great food at a great price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    98
    51
    28
    18
See reviews for
64
117
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Some motel 6 rooms are better. If you stay at lower floor noise from upper floors can be dramatic. $119 a night is pretty steep compared to rest of country. You must get ice from bar, breakfast not included and restaurants nearby weak at best. Hotel lobby personnel check you in then wait tables in next door restaurant. If Buffalo Bill had not built this it would be fighting to survive. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeline M, Director of Sales at Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am sorry your stay was not as pleasurable as expected.

I do understand the convenience of having an ice machine nearby but the hotel was built in 1902 with an importance to maintaining the historic character of the hotels. Ice machines do detract from this character. Staff are on duty 24 hours and are there to help with these issues.

I can understand the confusion with the lobby staff. The restaurant host or hostess exchange duties as hotel clerks. Often they are in the process of seating diners and then check-in hotel guests. They do not wait tables but may get delayed in the restaurant while seating individuals along with tour groups.

Hopefully, if you are ever in Cody again you will give the Irma another chance to live up to its excellent reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are in Cody why stay any where else. This historic gem of a hotel was here from the start. Buffalo Bill seems to still pace the halls. Yes it is OLD but that is part of the attraction. We stayed in the Bob Rumsey room and had a excellent view of the street. We were not originally booked int this room because of an ERROR on MY part. After speaking to Tim ate the front desk her graciously changed our room all with a smile on his face. The floor boards may creek and the wallpaper and paint may be peeling slightly, but this old gal will always have a place in our hearts and we prefer ambiance to that of plastic modern hotels.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Bob Rumsey room and have seen others but I would highly recommend this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeline M, Director of Sales at Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Its always appreciated to hear from return guests and that all of their stays have been enjoyable.

I will pass on your comments to Tim and keep him smiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I didn't even get the opportunity to stay at this place. The lady I spoke to on the phone to make reservations was so rude I just finally gave up. Really, we were going to book three rooms for two nights. We love to stay at old historic hotels like this one and we were supper excited about this one until I called. I went to school for and worked in the hotel business for 15 years and I have never been talked to like that. The lady I spoke with has no business representing a company on the phone. I booked somewhere else and maybe we will just stop by for a drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trieste
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't take this room ,clean and large but the only window is facing a very close brick wall with another room window!
Parking is difficult - no area reserved for hotel guest -and show disappointed me! No booking by web,staff tired for too many visitors,beef around the same you can have at Longhorns or Outbreak .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent one night in one of the Irma Hotels historic rooms: wow, it is like stepping back in time and expecting to see Wild Bill or Buffalo Bill walk through the corridors.
We occupied room 27, which reminded me a lot of the hotel rooms of Swearinger in the HBO series: Deadwood.
The room was extremely clean and despite furnished with all old style and antique pieces it had all the modern comodities: hair dryer, TV, Alarm clock and coffee maker.
Definitely an experience to do while in Cody!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place feels like an authentic piece of the wild west. Rooms were attractive, clean and functional and in keeping with the historical ambience. We really loved it. The huge dining room has an antique bar that was a gift to Buffalo Bill from Queen Victoria, and usually seems to be filled with Wyoming Cowboys and other locals. The staff and the locals are very gregarious and friendly, and really seem to enjoy sharing the history and tips about local sights with visitors. We stayed 2 nights and ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here for several days. The food was good, and we ended up having interesting conversations with friendly locals at every meal. I'd definitely stay here again if I ever go through Cody again. Also, the Buffalo Bill Museum is fantastic. We spent hours there, and still didn't get to some of the exhibits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.