We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalo Bill's Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel to your Saves list
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Grandview, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buffalo Bill's Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in the historic Irma! Great room with a view of the main street. Excellant staff, restaurant, and especially the bar! Meet many ppls from all over the world, and especialy the locals, just from sitting on the veranda , of course it helps as I am also a Buffalo Bill impersonator! Great place to stay! Will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    97
    51
    28
    18
See reviews for
64
117
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cotes D'armor, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We thought it would be great to stay in an historical hotel and get some "wild" atmosphere and the public rooms are definitely superb- enormous, full of character , old items etc. However- the 2 bedrooms our party were given were not quite up to scratch. They were in the very centre of the building, a sort of island, so there were no windows except for large skylights. Large rooms; very airy; old bits of knocked about furniture which could do with a good clean and polish. I realise that atmosphere is no.1 but a little tlc doesn't obviate that. The dark brown paintwork was much chipped/scratched; the carpet in our room had 2 bits of Elastoplast from some previous occupants stuck to it- yuk!! Our genuine old double washbasin...well, yes, marble it may be but there was an ENORMOUS crack in one, so that it may well have leaked if water was in it. The other - the plug seemed to have been rammed down the plughole & into the pipe, so it couldn't be filled. To be fair, there was also a decent settee, which is unusual.
When we first entered the hotel to book in, the attitude of the chap with the Stetson behind the desk was REALLY bad- so much so that we spoke to each other quite loudly about it...and he got the "warning" and became more affable. For a large hotel, there was no help with the luggage, despite our 2 American friends being 80 years old.
We paid $162 for room without breakfast. We ate in the restaurant; a good meal and reasonably priced and of course, in an original setting. Our waitress was good- funny, cheerful and helpful. We very much enjoyed Cody and would stay there again...but in a different lodging and probably eating in the Irma. Parking- fairly plentiful

Room Tip: We chose for obvious reasons to stay in the historic part, in a sort of island in the centre , with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed at the Irma several times. It's the kind of hotel that lets you imagine what it was like back in the day. The rooms are clean nice and spacious. Easy to walk around down town, Drift down to the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: To get a quiet room, ask for one away from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Knowing full well that "historic" means old I had some reservations about are stay at the Irma. It is an old building and the smell of cigarettes will about knock you out when you first enter the building if you are not used to it, but it's history and entertaining atmosphere make up for it. You can easily imagine the back part of the inn being a brothel back in Buffalo Bill's day. When we stayed it was visited by many bikers and hunters and lots of locals meet out front for happy hour. The location is prime and the food and staff are very good. You can walk to other fun saloons and restaurants as well as the historic museum, and Sierra Trading Post. Cody is a nice western town and a good stop near Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Irma Hotel was built by Buffalo Bill Cody in the early 1900s and named after his daughter. It's THE historic building in the wonderful Western town of Cody, Wyoming, which is just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone. Our group stayed in two large, comfortable, clean rooms in the "not historic" section and found them to be well furnished and maintaining the Old West character of the whole hotel. The restaurant, which features an original 30-foot cherry wood bar, has a buffet and serves excellent food - we enjoyed the ribs, steak and chicken pot pie (be sure to make reservations). And don't miss the gunfight most nights at 6pm in front of the hotel - hokey, for sure, but great fun and a good fundraiser for several charities. The boutique has absolutely beautiful clothing and jewelry, too.

Room Tip: The "not historic" rooms were less expensive then "historic" but still gave a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Irma while visiting Cody, Wyoming. The property obviously has a lot of history and captures that western flair. Our room was clean and was large enough to accommodate our family of 4, including 2 teenagers. The property is a bit worn and dated but in many ways that added to the charm.

This was definitely a great departure from the normal chain hotel properties and definitely added to our western experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This review is for the restaurant only. We had the prime rib dinner in the main dining room and the historic ambience (game-hunting heads, antlers, old wooden bar) was not to be missed. At 6 pm there is a gunfighter show in the side street which looked to be very popular with the kids. The Irma had a prime rib buffet the night we were there, but you can eat for cheaper by ordering smaller cuts off the menu. They are still plenty big and come with bread, a potato side and unlimited soup and salad. The meat was tender and very flavorful. We were glad we stopped here for dinner - a memorable experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.