We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Cody - what a great B & B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southfork Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southfork Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Southfork Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
797 Southfork Road, Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Cody B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“The best in Cody - what a great B & B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I'm so pleased to add my positive comments to the other reviews. I too was a solo guest and felt like a princess in a large, comfortable castle. I've never been in a B&B with such roomy and clean guest quarters, all charmingly decorated with genuine western treasures (and lots of images of Buffalo Bill, of course). Hosts Brian and Donna Lloyd are special people; they are smart, friendly, relaxed, and as well-attuned to their guests' needs as any B&B hosts I've encountered. Brain, among many other things, is an avid collector of historic photos and fine Indian arts, with which the spaces are pleasingly decorated; Donna works in town. They are both skilled in an amazing number of talents: they even make their own Canadian and regular bacon and sausage, don't turn them down if offered for breakfast!!
The Southfork B&B is easy to find, a scenic 7 mile drive from the edge of Cody. Not listed in the directions, but a good landmark to watch for is the "black horse" mailbox. They have 11 horses, mustangs and other rescues. Though they're not for guests to ride, they are fun and beautiful to watch, even from the dining table. There are also Lucy and Mooch the cats and Bob the dog, so this is a great place to stay for animal lovers who miss their pets (but the animals don't come into the guest quarters).
My bedroom was well-appointed, large, bright, completely quiet at night, just warm enough, and had a full en suite bath with plenty of hot water and all the towels I could use. In addition, the bed had a down pillow-top on it that is THE MOST comfortable thing I've ever slept on, bar none. My room also had an adjoining reading area which led in turn to a great room that I believe is shared among guests.There is internet access, cable TV, fireplace, comfy seating and good reading lamps. I was offered use of their excellent washer and dryer, such a huge convenience for the traveler! The only thing I could have wished for some kind of dresser or chest in my sleeping room for laying out a few of my things and perhaps a bit more space to hang clothes (the little wall unit with the boots on top shown in the photo was quite charming, but it doesn't hold much stuff).
The Lloyds are very familiar with the greater Cody area, and are full of good ideas for things to see and do. Their recommendation for dinner was the Rib and Chop house in Cody; my dinner there was really superb (try the pork chop!!).
Speaking of food, breakfast was a great experience. The food - home-made breakfast meats, fresh fruit, pancakes, juice, and coffee, plus the Lloyds' company and horses to watch out back, was really a pleasure.
Cody and the entire area surrounding it are beautiful, fascinating, full of wildlife, scenery, geology, and history. And that doesn't even count Yellowstone, which is just about 50 miles to the west. I can hardly wait to get back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed at the Southfork Bed & Breakfast in August 2008 while we were traveling through Cody after visiting Yellowstone National Park. This place is a gem!

When we arrived there was a personalize greeting for us on the front door. Brian, our host, met us and immediately made us feel welcome by giving us a tour of the beautiful home. He provided us with a map of Cody and told us the sites that we shouldn't miss. He also provided us with a list of restaurants that he recommended. We took his advice on the #1 pick, Wyoming Rib & Chop, and it was great.

After we returned from a full day exploring Cody, Brian and his wife Donna welcomed us back to Southfork offering refreshments. We spent the evening talking about Cody and the surrounding area. Great conversation!

We stayed mid-week so we were the only ones staying and had the place to ourselves. The B&B is decorated in a western theme with a beautiful fireplace in the center. A TV and computer are available for use and each room has it's own private setting area. The bed was very comfortable, with a down topper!

The breakfast served was great. Fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, french toast made with sourdough bread, bacon, sausage, and they even let us try their homemade antelope summer sausage. The bacon and sausage were homemade, too!

We would certainly recommend the Southfork B&B, and hope we can return ourselves.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

The Southfork is a fantastic Bed and Breakfast. The owner, Brian, is a former chef. His cullinary skills are amazing! He is also very involved in the Cody Chamber of Commerce and the Buffalo Bill Museum. Brian is very knowledgeable about the Cody area. His recommendations were perfect.

We stayed there for only one night on our Grand Tetons/Yellowstone trip. We wished we had stayed longer. Our stay at the Southfork was a highlight of our trip. It was definitely the best accomodations we stayed in.

The accomodations were perfect. Brian's home is a sprawling ranch style house that seems to go forever. We had an entire wing to ourselves! Talk about space and comfort! There was all of the standard ammenities plus free internet use.

Brian could not have been more accomodating. He bent over backwards to make us comfortable. You won't meet a kinder person anywhere.

The Southfork is a beautiful and quiet ranch with a herd of mustangs. The horses are likely descendants of the original horses brought to America by the Spanish in the 1500's!

The leader of the mustang herd is a beautiful white stallion named Chief. He is magnificent. There is also a barn cat named Lucy who stole my wife's heart. Lucy loves to tease the horses by walking along the corral fence and taunting them. She is quite the character!

Brian even let us help feed and groom the horses!

On Brian's recommendation, we went to the Buffalo Bill Museum. It is nicknamed the Smithsonian of the West and with five museums it lives up to that repuatation. It had the finest display of Native American artifacts I have ever seen. There is a very nice museum of western art and the Buffalo Bill museum is fantastic. Make sure you have at least a whole day to see it!

Brian is also a skilled outdoorsman who knows where to fish and hunt in the Cody area.

The Southfork is a fantastic B&B. It was a perfect break from the rather poor accomodations of the national parks. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the Cody area.

  • Liked — Brian, the room, the food, the horses and cat Great Place to Stay!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Southfork B&b is 8 miles outside of Cody, Wyoming. It is a peaceful quiet place with 2 large, comfortable rooms. There are horses on the property, and that adds to the western style charm. The best part is the wonderful breakfast that is prepared by a former professional chef. The breakfast was so large that we didn't have to eat lunch. I recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a quiet, comfortable place to stay and who appreciates good cooking.

  • Liked — the wonderful breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southfork Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southfork Bed and Breakfast

Address: 797 Southfork Road, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southfork Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.