We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FIND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cody Hotel to your Saves list
The Cody Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Suresnes, France
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
676 helpful votes 676 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We booked 2 basic rooms for an overnight stay, on our way out of Yelloswtone to Mount Rushmore.
This was an extremely good surprise, on the kind of town where you usually find an array of Motel6, Super8 or at best a Best Western. This is a brand new facility, slighty out of town, meaning you have to drive to get some dinner. Although it is a roadside kind of place, it is extremely quiet, and we were not bothered by traffic or the close-by rodeo place.
Check-in attendants tried to talk to customers while answering the phone, and managed a great job.I did not notice any hint of attitude issue, to which some reviewers refer. The Double room was on the top floor, great size with a small balcony. The King room got upgraded to a King Suite with jacuzzi, and a double size balcony. This room was really huge, with a rodeo-ish decor.Saddle light fixtures (not working), rodeo themed carpet, and really onderful Calinornia king bed, meeting the highest standards (same league as Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton). We did not use the kitchen part. Strangely enough, the jacuzzi was located close to the bed, in the room ; must be romantic to some, I suppose. The bathroom was a good size, with a separate toilet and a shower stall -which gets dansgerously slippery with water.
I am always cautious with breakfast included in the room rate. This one was rather a good surprise : hot fare available, fresh fruit salad and fresh berries. Orange juice was basic.
I only wish there were that kind of place in that kinf of towns ...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    149
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
230
294
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The is a lovely medium-sized hotel right across the street from the Cody Rodeo and just a short drive to the wonderful Buffalo Bill Historical Center. The lobby is very nice and the front desk staff helpful. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet, but the young lady at the front desk did suggest a great place to eat that evening, Wyoming's Rib and Chop House, and made reservations for us. After a day at the Historical Center (great!) we returned to take our room. Because I found a "Manager's Special" online we got a very nice room for a reasonable price ($159). The beds were very plush and comfortabe, excellent flat screen TV, large, lovely bathroom with great H20 Spa products, and everything was very clean. We had a frig, and I think there was a microwave. My only complaint was that we didn't have a very good view (looked out on a roof top), but because we got this rate those who paid more probably got the better view.

The Rodeo that evening was fun. The continential breakfast had quite of bit of variety and the items were of good quality (especially the fresh strawberries). There were laundry facilities, but we did not use them.

Wish we could have stayed in Cody more that two days. Neat town! But skip the "street shoot-out"....it's was pretty corny.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Probably the best hotel on our road trip. We took the advice from the hotel and booked two rooms - at the end of a corridor with a door which closed to give private access between the rooms. We enjoyed two nights of space and not queueing for the bathroom.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms and public areas were attractive and well looked after. The breakfast was good but the room was a bit dark - why did we not think to take breakfast up to our balcony.

The hotel is some distance from the town but you can walk to the rodeo (and listen to it from your balcony) and the Old Trail Town - worth a visit. The pool was nice and open 24 hours - we always seem to want to swim when the pool is shut!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at the Cody Hotel last night. We had the king deluxe with a balcony overlooking the mountains. We saw a beautiful sunset and then in the morning had coffee on our balcony. The rooms are very, very nice and spotlessly clean. The lobby is pure luxury with very friendly people working there.. Our breakfast was delicous and everything was very fresh and delicious... No complaints at this place . This was our 3rd night of a 16 night vacation. It was perfect...

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

While on a 10 day road trip The Cody was a very pleasant surprise among some other more average lodgings. Michelle at the front desk was awesome in helping us when asked about dinner, she recommended a fantastic restaurant and even called to make reservations for us! Our room was the perfect size for two adults and the bed was amazing, the very best sleep we had in days!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Our room was beautiful. Breakfast very good...Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cody WY was a pleasant suprise. We could have stayed longer. Buffalo Bill museum very interesting....5 in 1...lost my husband in the Winchester museum, kids loved the natural history and indian.....We all loved the art. To top it off we returned to our beautiful hotel room....The Cody.....Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at The Cody for three nights on our trip to Yellowstone. The hotel seems new and is very well maintained. The beds had nice linens and were very comfortable. The breakfast was okay, fairly standard. There is a workout room, pool and spa. Our room was not that large for two adults and two teenagers, but the truth is we weren't in it that much. There is alot to do around Cody and it makes a nice home base to visit Yellowstone. Do not miss the Buffalo Bill Cody museum. It is an amazing museum for a town the size of Cody. We only spent 4 or 5 hours there and did not see the whole thing. The Nite Rodeo is across from the hotel and is a must see also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 West Yellowstone Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cody
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.